Featured Review: Golden Boys Beware (Hannah Capin)

41CXtlEUnpL._SX327_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

For the girls who have had enough – Hannah Capin’s Golden Boys Beware, originally published as Foul is Fair, is the bloody, thrilling revenge fantasy that reimagines Lady Macbeth’s story for the modern day.

Jade and her friends Jenny, Mads, and Summer rule their glittering LA circle. Untouchable, they have the kind of power other girls only dream of. Every party is theirs and the world is at their feet. Until the night of Jade's sweet sixteen, when they crash a St. Andrew’s Prep party. The night the golden boys choose Jade as their next target.

They picked the wrong girl.

Sworn to vengeance, Jade transfers to St. Andrew’s. She plots to destroy each boy, one by one. She'll take their power, their lives, and their control of the prep school's hierarchy. And she and her coven have the perfect way in: a boy named Mack, whose ambition could turn deadly.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

GOLDEN BOYS BEWARE is a haunting and riveting Macbeth retelling about trauma, friendship, and revenge. Jade went to a party for her sixteenth birthday as Elle, with her hair dyed platinum blonde and green contact lenses. She was drugged and assaulted by the wealthy St. Andrew's boys. Through her flashbacks and pain, she knows that what she needs most is revenge. With the help of her coven, she will get it.

This was a dark and compelling read that captures the reader with the unique voice and story of vengeance. These golden boys feel invincible and as though they can act with impunity. Jade sees through that, and together with her friends/coven, is determined to make them pay... with their lives. The text flows with a stream-of-consciousness style that pulls the reader in and invests them in Jade's dark and thrilling story.

There are some important themes around personal responsibility, the problems with looking away from something you know is wrong, grief, trauma, assault, legal system issues, friendship, abuse, bullying, and more. These themes really make this a great pick for book clubs or discussion. The retelling/new take on Macbeth is really unique and fascinating and so well done.

With poignant themes and compelling writing, GOLDEN BOYS BEWARE is a unique Macbeth retelling that is sure to stick with readers for a long time. Highly recommend for fans of SADIE, I AM MARGARET MOORE, and THEY'LL NEVER CATCH US.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Guest Post with Author J.C. Geiger (The Great Big ...
Middle Grade Review: Tales of Fearless Girls: Forg...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment