Featured Review: Glass Kingdom (M Lynn)

42422634._SY475_

About This Book:

A hidden princess is an obedient princess. On the shores of Madra, tradition is law. For Princess Helena Rhodipus, this means wearing masks to hide from common eyes. For the people, it means bowing down to a king who cares little for them. Wanting to rid herself of the rules holding her back, Helena escapes into the city, unrecognizable without her mask. She only wants a taste of life outside her walls before returning to the only place she’s known, but she hadn’t counted on him.The boy who makes her forget about her brothers’ worries or her father’s wrath. What if Dell is the freedom she’s been searching for her entire life? As she begins to believe it’s possible to be both princess and normal girl, the kingdom she loves is thrown into chaos, and her once-solid family shatters, proving they’d been made of glass all along. Dell Tenyson has nothing. The unclaimed son of a dead merchant, he sleeps in the barn behind his step-mother’s grand house. The life suits him. He only wants to get through each day and make it to the next. Injured in a street fight, Dell wakes to find himself embroiled in a world of spies and plotting with an unknown girl right in the center of it. He doesn’t know who she is or where she’s come from, but Dell vows to do whatever is necessary to protect her. Even if that means fighting in the halls of the palace or blowing apart the castle walls. Saving princes or battling raging fires. A coup is coming to Madra, a battle for the kingdom’s very soul. Maybe winning doesn’t mean saving the crown, but only surviving its fall. Inspired by the Cinderella story, this is the fairytale as you've never seen it before. Glass Kingdom is book one in a duology that is part of the Fantasy and Fairytales series.

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Stephanie Augustine Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would have if I wasn't working while trying to read it). There were so many fantastic things about it. First, I didn't know it was tied so closely to the Rapunzel series which made me happy. While it isn't the full reason I love this book, it is one of my favorite things when authors connect series. All of the cameo's make me happy and I'm super glad that we got Edmund in this book. The story itself was so unique and fantastic. The gender swap Cinderella story worked so well. Even though it's a retelling this story really stands out on its own. There were so many amazing aspects and new ideas she brought into it. Since everything flowed so well, the pacing was fantastic. I just always wanted to keep reading. And then the ending. Oh, that ending. I just couldn't deal with it. I may still be recovering.

Personally, I usually find either the story or the characters mainly stand out to me. Even when they both work together, I can say that I enjoyed one a little more than the other. With this book, I don't know if I could decide whether the story or the characters were better for me. Each character was perfect for this story. I loved Helena so much. There were some instances where it should have seemed hard for me to relate to her but I felt so attached to her. Especially when certain events happened to hear, I was crushed! Dell's character was great as well. It honestly was perfect the way she swapped the characters from the traditional setting. There was so much I really enjoyed about his character. The dual point of view was a fantastic way to write this book to get as much as possible from both characters.

Final Thoughts
Overall, Glass Kingdom by M. Lynn was absolutely fantastic. With a very unique gender swapping retelling of Cinderella there were so many aspects that just worked. I loved the story and all of the twists that were introduced. It was great to see cameos from the Rapunzel's story and I'm excited to see how the next book will continue. Helena and Dell were the perfect characters for this story and I love them both. This is a book I highly recommend for anyone, especially if you are a fan of retellings and fantasy.

**NOTE: You do not need to read the first three books in the series to read this one but it is something I highly encourage to get the best experience**

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spotlight on Dan Unmasked (Chris Negron), Guest Po...
Spotlight on The Mall (Megan McCafferty), Guest Po...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"