Featured Review: Girl On The Verge (Pintip Dunn)

31428017

About This Book:

From the author of The Darkest Lie comes a compelling, provocative story for fans of I Was Here and Vanishing Girls, about a high school senior straddling two worlds, unsure how she fits in either—and the journey of self-discovery that leads her to surprising truths.

In her small Kansas town, at her predominantly white school, Kanchana doesn’t look like anyone else. But at home, her Thai grandmother chides her for being too westernized. Only through the clothing Kan designs in secret can she find a way to fuse both cultures into something distinctly her own.

When her mother agrees to provide a home for a teenage girl named Shelly, Kan sees a chance to prove herself useful. Making Shelly feel comfortable is easy at first—her new friend is eager to please, embraces the family’s Thai traditions, and clearly looks up to Kan. Perhaps too much. Shelly seems to want everything Kanchana has, even the blond, blue-eyed boy she has a crush on. As Kan’s growing discomfort compels her to investigate Shelly’s past, she’s shocked to find how much it intersects with her own—and just how far Shelly will go to belong…

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Melissa Robles Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Terrific YA Thriller That's Bound To Raise Goosebumps

Um, wow. Consider me officially spooked for the rest of the year. How am I supposed to sleep soundly after this??? I swear my hands are still shaking while I type this. This book... gosh, it's like my worst nightmare. However, it is undoubtedly good, so if you enjoy reading thrillers, you might find this one quite enjoyable.

Girl on the Verge captured me from page one as it introduced Kan, the main character. She's a Thai girl born in USA, living in a small town where she's the only one "different". Never feeling as if she belonged in Kansas or even in Thailand (for she was just not Thai enough, according to them), she constantly struggled balancing her two separate lives. What she did know is that she wanted to be a clothes designer because she's actually really good at it. So her story starts off well, a girl trying to discover herself and possibly get the boy she has a crush on finally notice her. That is until her mother allows a recently orphaned girl to stay with them that all hell breaks lose.

I must say, I think I failed to notice when I first read about this book that it was a thriller. I RARELY read thrillers/horror because it all honesty, I get scared pretty easily. So imagine my surprise when after a few chapters of a great main character struggling with self-identity that I knew she was somehow going to overcome and the swooniest boy ever, some things started to get oddly creepy, it the subtlest ways. First, a girl coming on a bit strong for being a stranger. Then immediately acting like your best friend. Then making you be blood sisters, ritual and all... among many other things that screamed DANGER. Yup, you bet goosebumps sprouted all over my arms while reading it.

This is my first book by Pintip Dunn and holy muffins, I cannot deny her great ability to captivate you with her words, her storytelling, and characters. I was so damn scared and disturbed, to the point of feeling nauseous, but for the love of books, I could NOT set the book down. I read it in one sitting and I don't regret the read at all, but I also somehow want to forget it. It insanely brought me a sense of déjà vu and that scares me the most because WHY?? I don't ever EVER want to have a stranger come into my life and try to steal my identity, my life. That is truly my worst nightmare.

Ugh. Anyway, this book will surely stay with me for a long time. I thought it was a dark contemporary read, but never guessed THIS dark. It certainly fooled me when the love interest was introduced (OMG so cute, I loved him!) and I thought it would focus more on them as a couple, but instead this book took me into a twisty, devilish journey that I'm perfectly content for it to always remain fictional, thank you very much.

Final Verdict:

Girl on the Verge had me at the edge of my seat the whole time and while it may not be my usual genre, I certainly was enthranced by the thrilling story inside. Definitely check it out of you like to feel your pulse raised!

Good Points
Had me shaking the whole time so that's good, right?
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This HERE!!*
 
 
Chapter 24 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness
Featured Review: The Waking Land by Callie Bates

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...

Latest Member Reviews

In A Flash
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set in WWII where two Italian sisters survive after being forced into a Japanese internment camp..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
"THE ALPACTORY: READY, PACK, GO! is a cute picture book about preparedness. The book starts with three animals who are..."
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
"I LIKE TO SHARE! is a simple board book about kindness and friendship. The book is told in a few..."
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INFINITY COURTS is a stunning and dazzling YA fantasy about morality, humanity, and the afterlife. Nami is truly excited..."
If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."