Featured Review: For the Wolf (Hannah Whitten)

5167hJQwiEL._SX330_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the Second Daughter born to the queen of Valleyda, and this means that she is destined for the Wolf of the Wilderwood. It is said that if the sacrifice is right, the Five Kings will be released. The Order, who leads the worship of the Five Kings and prepares for their return, will make sure the sacrifice happens as planned upon the appearance of a mark between the ages of 19 and 20. There has not been a Second Daughter in a century or so, and there are high hopes for Red's destiny.

Her twin sister, Neverah (Neve), is the First Daughter and destined to rule. Neve desperately wants to keep Red with her, but Red knows that her fate is in the woods. With something growing inside her, she is afraid for those around her if she does not go. When she enters the woods, she finds that she is not to be a sacrifice to the Wolf, as was generally accepted to be true. The Wolf is actually a man, and he is not the villain he was portrayed to be. As Red grows to understand him, the Wilderwood, and the seed growing inside her, she will have difficult choices to make.

On the outside, Neve likewise has choices to make, as there is dissent in the Order and plans afoot to actively free the Kings instead of waiting for the sacrifice to work. With themes of sisterhood, religion, survival, the power of choice, the transformation of history, and magic, this book is an atmospheric journey to another world.

I found the themes of the book to be really intriguing and thought-provoking, as we navigate the unexpected world of the Wilderwood alongside Red. It is equal parts horrifying and wondrous, a living thing with its own demands and desires. I found this to be a character driven fantasy, as we get to know both Red and Neve through the story with Neve's stories told in interludes. Their flaws and faults propel the story forward, as they each try to learn about the Wilderwood in the context of the people who surround them.

The world-building was really fascinating, with a world that felt like a dark fairytale. Imaginative and lush, this book captured it all in lyrical prose. This story moves slowly but steadily, towards an end that was unexpected and thrilling. Although this is part of a series, this ending felt satisfying enough that I was happy to have read it now. It did have a bit of a lead-in to the next book, and I will definitely be interested in picking it up!

Although this is labeled as an adult book, Red and her twin are just about to turn 20 when it begins, and the content would be appropriate for an older YA reader. This book definitely has crossover potential to appeal to many audiences.

Atmospheric, magical, and enchanting, FOR THE WOLF is a lush fantasy read that consumes the reader. Recommend for fans of WINTERSONG, THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE, and WHITE STAG.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: The Box in the Woods (Maureen Joh...
Giveaway: A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-F...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...

Latest Member Reviews

Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
4.0
"Bee a Good Human: A Pollinator’s Guide to a Better Life is a compilation of artwork from Ali Beckman, or..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
"In her introduction to this book, Ms. Baptiste mentions that every February, for Black History Month, her children would bring..."
Kyle's Little Sister
 
4.0
"Grace is just entering 6th grade, and will be rejoining her older brother Kyle at school, where he is a..."
Willa of Dark Hollow (Willa of the Wood, 2)
 
4.5
"What I Loved: In the first book, I left wanting to see Willa interact more in nature. In this..."
Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
4.0
"Rosie Singer knows something is wrong with her mom. She doesn’t comfort her or look at her the way her..."
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
"What I Loved: The Oddmire, Book 1 Changeling delivered a lot of heart and humor in this first installment...."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"Beginning with a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr. about love, COUNT TO LOVE! is a cute poem that encourages..."
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
"THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER is an adventure-filled graphic novel about Johnny (Kid) Constantine. We start by meeting Kid..."
The Cup and the Prince
 
4.8
"I always love stories that flip gender roles. I feel like there is a character for every type of personality..."
 
3.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Thanks to my brother being big into Dungeons & Dragons, I have some familiarity with tabletop gaming..."
Bird Boy
 
4.5
"BIRD BOY is a sweet picture book about being yourself and embracing your differences. Nico is the new kid in..."