Featured Review: For the Wolf (Hannah Whitten)

5167hJQwiEL._SX330_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

FOR THE WOLF is a captivating fantasy read that sweeps the reader away to the Wilderwood. Redarys (Red) is the Second Daughter born to the queen of Valleyda, and this means that she is destined for the Wolf of the Wilderwood. It is said that if the sacrifice is right, the Five Kings will be released. The Order, who leads the worship of the Five Kings and prepares for their return, will make sure the sacrifice happens as planned upon the appearance of a mark between the ages of 19 and 20. There has not been a Second Daughter in a century or so, and there are high hopes for Red's destiny.

Her twin sister, Neverah (Neve), is the First Daughter and destined to rule. Neve desperately wants to keep Red with her, but Red knows that her fate is in the woods. With something growing inside her, she is afraid for those around her if she does not go. When she enters the woods, she finds that she is not to be a sacrifice to the Wolf, as was generally accepted to be true. The Wolf is actually a man, and he is not the villain he was portrayed to be. As Red grows to understand him, the Wilderwood, and the seed growing inside her, she will have difficult choices to make.

On the outside, Neve likewise has choices to make, as there is dissent in the Order and plans afoot to actively free the Kings instead of waiting for the sacrifice to work. With themes of sisterhood, religion, survival, the power of choice, the transformation of history, and magic, this book is an atmospheric journey to another world.

I found the themes of the book to be really intriguing and thought-provoking, as we navigate the unexpected world of the Wilderwood alongside Red. It is equal parts horrifying and wondrous, a living thing with its own demands and desires. I found this to be a character driven fantasy, as we get to know both Red and Neve through the story with Neve's stories told in interludes. Their flaws and faults propel the story forward, as they each try to learn about the Wilderwood in the context of the people who surround them.

The world-building was really fascinating, with a world that felt like a dark fairytale. Imaginative and lush, this book captured it all in lyrical prose. This story moves slowly but steadily, towards an end that was unexpected and thrilling. Although this is part of a series, this ending felt satisfying enough that I was happy to have read it now. It did have a bit of a lead-in to the next book, and I will definitely be interested in picking it up!

Although this is labeled as an adult book, Red and her twin are just about to turn 20 when it begins, and the content would be appropriate for an older YA reader. This book definitely has crossover potential to appeal to many audiences.

Atmospheric, magical, and enchanting, FOR THE WOLF is a lush fantasy read that consumes the reader. Recommend for fans of WINTERSONG, THE BEAR AND THE NIGHTINGALE, and WHITE STAG.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: The Box in the Woods (Maureen Joh...
Giveaway: A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-F...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
RENEE: I was ten years old then, and my sister...
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
2,700 stickers for every mood! ...
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ready, set, off we go! ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jolina can't take Claudine's bullying any longer! The taunts and...
Leaving England
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometime around now an unnamed virus has laid London and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A female-run society. An ambitious girl driven to become its’...
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Courtney Gould’s thrilling YA debut The Dead and the Dark...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the realm of Ryuu within the snow...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Jackie planned for every situation on her solo road-trip...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
John Green meets Laurie Halse Anderson in this award-winning, "haunting,"...
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Blood, sweat, and death. Welcome...
Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Capture his heart. Steal his crown. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Before the undead attacked, Hazel's life was simple: look out...

Latest Member Reviews

Signs of Survival A Memoir of the Holocaust
 
4.7
"What worked: This haunting memoir is about two young sisters who helped each other survive the Holocaust. Herta is deaf..."
So. Many. Feelings Stickers: 2,700 Stickers for Every Mood
 
5.0
"SO. MANY. FEELINGS STICKERS is a fantastic and fun collection of stickers around emotions. With 2,700 stickers, it is difficult..."
Hi-Five Farm!
 
5.0
"HI-FIVE FARM! is an adorable board book adventure with opposites and hi-fives aplenty. The book features many barnyard animals offering..."
 
4.0
"Jolina and her family have moved from Manila to the small island of Isla Pag-Ibig. After the death of her..."
The Dead and the Dark
 
5.0
"THE DEAD AND THE DARK is a deliciously creepy paranormal thriller/horror. Logan lives with her two fathers, who co-host a..."
Fearless
 
3.0
"Monica Garcia is thrilled to get an understudy role on Broadway. At 12, this is the first time she will..."
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
5.0
"I've been looking forward to this nonfiction book since at least 2009, when The Rock and the River came out,..."
The Great Destroyers
 
3.3
"THE GREAT DESTROYERS is an intriguing alternate history that brings robot fighting into the Cold War. Jo is a teenager..."
Paradise on Fire
 
4.0
"Addy lives in the Bronx with her grandmother, Bibi, who has moved from Nigeria to care for her after the..."
Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."