Featured Review: Finley and The Foster Brother (Anna Catherine Field)

44164573

About This Book:

When a social worker and a truancy officer show up at Finley Rhodes' cottage in Ocean Grove she knows her life is about to change forever.

She just didn't realize how much.

At sixteen, she'd grown up fast, having the responsibility of taking care of her mentally ill mother, holding down a job to pay the bills and dropping out of school to do both. When her case manager tells her she's being placed in foster care, Finley never expected her new  home to be in the exclusive gated community and she certainly never thought she'd attend The Academy, a school for the privileged and elite. But the biggest surprise comes from down the hall.

Her new foster brother, Chase Powell.

Chase Powell grew up in the shadow of his famous model mother, living a life of fame and excess. After a dangerous accident Chase is sent to live with his grandmother in Ocean Grove, where he settles into a life of normalcy and routine.

Until Finley moves in.

Late night talks, a game of truth, and revelations about their fears bring these two closer together, but it’s not like they can ever be more than friends and even if they could, does Finely worries that her whole life can be taken from her once again. What’s the point of falling in love?

Finley and the Foster Brother is a standalone novel from Love in Ocean Grove, a series of books about swoony, first-time love and toe-curling kisses for readers of all ages.

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Michelle Lynn Staff Reviewer*

 

 

A sweet read.

A heartwarming tale of first love.

The Story:
Finley hasn't had it easy. Her mentally ill mother can't care for her in a way a mother should, forcing Finley to drop out of school to support them. When a truancy officer shows up at her home, life as she knows it will never be the same. Her mom needs help, but in order for her to get that help Finley has to go into the foster system, moving across town to live in a mcmansion with a stern older lady and her too-handsome and too-off limits grandson.
What follows is a sweet story of two people who need each other more than either of them realized.

What I loved:
There's something very endearing about these two and everything they go through for each other. As soon as Finley moves in, they fall into an easy friendship, pretending it's that of brother and sister - supporting each other at sporting events, riding to school in the same car, and eating dinner together every night. It's very normal in a way neither kid has ever experienced before. They're both learning how to be a family after their parents let them down.
Chase is just as sweet as can be, always looking out for Finley and keeping her true reason for being there a secret. There's little not to like about these two.

What was just okay:
There isn't a ton of drama. Everything is resolved very easily after it happens. Even Chase's old model fling showing up is nothing more than a cursory appearance that means nothing. I loved this story and wanted more. I wanted to feel as if the characters would have done anything for each other, that they had this passionate love rather than a like.

Final Verdict:
A story that will appeal to all fans of YA romance with great characters and an easy, engaging writing style. My only question when I finished this was 'when can I get the next book?".

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

 

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Weight of a Soul by ...
Giveaway: HEARTS MADE FOR BREAKING (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When spring arrives, baby animals come out to play with...
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The delightful follow-up to When Dimple Met Rishi and There’s...
The Child of Chaos
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This is what fantasy fiction should be." --Piers Anthony, New...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."