Featured Review: Emerge: The Heir (Immortals of Indriell Book 4) by Melissa A. Craven!

51CAoyHX2cL

About This Book:

The last Immortal Queen of Indriell has named her heir. The title means nothing to Allie Carmichael. Nothing but more drama and attention she never asked for. Allie loves her newly discovered royal grandparents, but she just wants to finish her senior year of college and start her first job. Not step forward as the princess of a long dead nation she knows precious little about. At twenty-one, she considers herself an adult and has finally found the normal life she’s always craved. As normal as it gets for a young Immortal legacy—prophecy or not. For years, Allie and Aidan have gone their separate ways, doing the college thing and just living their lives. Apart. It was his choice to sever their ties. A sacrifice to give her the time she needed to come to terms with her bond with his brother, Darius. A sacrifice she’s come to believe was necessary for all of them. But when Allie discovers that Aidan hasn’t been in school all this time—and his family hasn’t heard from him in more than a year, she struggles to contain her rage and the powerful judgment that burns within her. Protecting Aidan, even from himself, fuels her every breath. She would do anything for him. Even step forward as the heir. The Mortal Instruments meets Red Queen in the Immortals of Indriell, a series of dark, paranormal fantasy tales. If you enjoy high-stakes action, strong female leads and the usual suspects: Vampires, werewolves and shifters, then you'll love Melissa A. Craven’s page-turning series.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Michelle Lynn, Staff Reviewer*

So much fun!

A shining star in a great series.

The story:
Picking up years after the last time we saw Allie and Aidan, their lives are very different. They haven't seen each other since Aidan left for Germany. Allie still hurts from his abandonment but she has Darius, Aidan's brother and her other half. She should be moving on. Just when she begins to think she is, she finds out Aidan is missing and that she has a bigger role to play than she thought. 
What I loved: Just about everything. This is by far the best in the series which is strange because Allie and Aidan are at odds for most of it. But her platonic relationship is truly special to watch and I really enjoyed seeing that develop without Aidan there to cause conflict. 
The cast of characters we've come to know is just as lovable as always. I really loved getting to know her grandparents - the ancient queen and scholar. And the sisterly bond with Livia that has developed is really a strong point. 
The story in this series has always been good, but it's been the characters that keep you glued to the page and that is especially true with the Heir.

What was just okay:
I suggest reading this right after the previous book or else the beginning takes a bit to get into. It's such a complicated world that it's hard to straighten everything out right away if it's not fresh in your mind. 
I spent most of the book hating Aidan, but I think I was supposed to in order to really feel his struggle - which I did. 

Final Verdict:
A fantastic story with characters who reach right out of the story to grab you and never let go. This is not a book I'll soon forget. I can't wait for the next one.

*Find More Info On This Book HERE*

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 24th, 2018
Giveaway: The Odds Series (US & Canada)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."