Featured Review: Down Comes the Night (Allison Saft)

51Yb4R0Q6L._SX327_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

Allison Saft’s Down Comes the Night is a snow-drenched romantic fantasy that keeps you racing through the pages long into the night.

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.

Wren Southerland’s reckless use of magic has cost her everything: she's been dismissed from the Queen’s Guard and separated from her best friend―the girl she loves. So when a letter arrives from a reclusive lord, asking Wren to come to his estate, Colwick Hall, to cure his servant from a mysterious illness, she seizes her chance to redeem herself.

The mansion is crumbling, icy winds haunt the caved-in halls, and her eccentric host forbids her from leaving her room after dark. Worse, Wren’s patient isn’t a servant at all but Hal Cavendish, the infamous Reaper of Vesria and her kingdom’s sworn enemy. Hal also came to Colwick Hall for redemption, but the secrets in the estate may lead to both of their deaths.

With sinister forces at work, Wren and Hal realize they’ll have to join together if they have any hope of saving their kingdoms. But as Wren circles closer to the nefarious truth behind Hal’s illness, they realize they have no escape from the monsters within the mansion. All they have is each other, and a startling desire that could be their downfall.

Love makes monsters of us all

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom, which is frequently at war with the neighboring kingdom, both waging a god/goddess inspired battle. The lines have been drawn throughout their history, and the war seems as though it will never end, albeit there is a short armistice. As soldiers are disappearing, it seems that this may soon come to an end.

On a mission to discover what is happening to the missing soldiers, Wren heals a spy for the other side accidentally allowing him to escape. The queen, her aunt, condemns her as this was her final chance and strips her rank, sending her to the abbey until further notice. Once there, Wren receives a strange letter from another neighboring mountain kingdom who has remained out of the wars waged below. They offer to lend aid to her country if she comes to heal a mysterious sickness plaguing the servants. Although the queen forbids it, Wren takes her chance and travels there.

What she finds when she arrives is unexpected and becomes more twisty around every corner. Wren will have to discover who she is and who she wants to be as she finds a path forward.

What I loved: Although ultimately not unexpected, the mysteries of what was going on really kept the pages turning in this book. The characters were also really intriguing, with much growth and development throughout the story (and bisexual rep). The setting was really fantastic, with all the creepiness and haunted feelings to set the stage. I was really interested in the kingdoms and their histories as well that have led to the present, and I felt that the book balanced the amount of information given with the length and pace of the story really well - we learn just enough to move through the book without any knowledge dumps.

The themes in this book were also thought-provoking. For instance, a major theme is that of strength, how it is defined and how it can be manifested. Wren is not traditionally strong - she has a lot of kindness and mercy for others that leads to difficult situations. She is not always the best soldier, and she cries on occasion. However, this does not make her necessarily weak - her strength is in these same qualities that make her feel out-of-place. There is also a potent theme about war, and the toll that it enacts on the countries involved as seen throughout the book. Other themes about grief, desire for belonging, jealousy, and fear add to these intriguing messages and would be great to discuss in a book club context.

What left me wanting more: The ending felt a little rushed after the heady build-up, and people change on a dime after single events in ways that suited the plot but without the lead-up that seemed warranted. In terms of the romance, I also wanted a bit more. I enjoyed it, but the healing bond is originally blamed, and I think I needed to see more of the substance behind it. Although the length of the book was right for a stand-alone, I think with the complexities of this world and the characters, spreading it out into a duology would have been helpful to take a deeper dive into it all - after the slow and deep beginning, the ending felt a bit too rushed to me. On the other hand, there is always something to be said for stand-alones, so I did appreciate that everything was wrapped up in this book.

Final verdict: Immersive, imaginative, and absorbing, DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is a dark YA fantasy that will captive readers in its unique world. Recommend for fans of THE WINTER DUKE, A GOLDEN FURY, and GILDED CAGE.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: The Castle School (for Troubled G...
Author Chat with Ashley Shuttleworth (A Dark and H...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...

Latest Member Reviews

Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."