Featured Review: Crown of Bones (A. K. Wilder)

51mEpcKHYpL._SX331_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

Raise. Your. Phantom.

In a world on the brink of the next Great Dying, no amount of training can prepare us for what is to come...

A young heir will raise the most powerful phantom in all of Baiseen.
A dangerous High Savant will do anything to control the nine realms.
A mysterious and deadly Mar race will steal children into the sea.
And a handsome guide with far too many secrets will make me fall in love.

My name is Ash. A lowly scribe meant to observe and record. And yet I think I’m destined to surprise us all.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

CROWN OF BONES is a thrilling and intricately woven YA fantasy. The book primarily follows Ash and Marcus with interludes from other characters throughout. In this world, people's fortunes are read upon their birth, and they are given one of three fates: a savant, a non-savant, or to be given to the sea. Although the third has been banned in their realm, it still happens in the others. Ash is a non-savant, but she works where savants are trained. Savants have the ability to raise a phantom that is an extension of themselves. After training, they can master control, working with their phantom, and gain magical type abilities. Different phantoms have different abilities, and this defines their roles in society. As a result, there is a lot of prejudice against non-savants, such as Ash.

Marcus is Ash's BFF, and importantly, he is the heir to their realm. He has been unable to raise his phantom and is running out of time. If he does not raise it soon, then he may never be able to do so and train it. He finally does so in the nick of time, but they still must race to the training realm before the doors are closed for the season. Although advised against it, Marcus takes Ash as his recorder, as well as a healer and other select members for the journey. The journey will be more perilous and fraught than they ever could have imagined.

What I loved: I was completely caught up in this world and all its magic. Ash and Marcus were both compelling characters, and others that we meet along the way (Kaylin) are equally as intriguing. The world is built so fantastically with storylines woven together to make a truly epic fantasy. Although we learn so much about this world and its magic, there are still so many questions left to be answered that I am beyond eager for the next book.

There are some intriguing themes in the book, such as those of destiny/fate, power and politics, and social class disparity. There is also some romance here and there, and I loved the addition - I am really curious to see how the relationships will develop. I am also particularly intrigued by the black robes that cast the bones to read fates, and I hope we get to learn more about this in future books. There are so very many questions I have about Kaylin, and I also can't wait to hear more. I am completely hooked on this world!

Final verdict: Compelling, captivating, and fantastic, CROWN OF BONES is an epic read that transports the reader to a world of destiny, danger, and the unexpected. Highly recommend for fans of THE GOLDEN COMPASS, BRING ME THEIR HEARTS, and/or HAVEN.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Waiting on Wednesday ~ January 6, 2021
Featured Review: The Quantum Weirdness of the Almo...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Rose Mile on Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:19


Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i am from canada, the only reason why i am on this site is to thank this powerful spell caster called DR. Odion and you can improve your relationship success by contacting him through these details (wisdomspiritualtemple@gmail.com Or call +2348136482342) This powerful spell caster did me a huge favor by helping me get my lover back to me within the speed of light and since then my relationship has been perfect.

any problem of yours.He is specialized in the following:

(1)Spell for protection from danger
(2)Spell for magic
(3)Spell for same sex love
(4)Spell for healing
(5)Spell for invisibility
(6)Spell for riches and fame
(7)Spell to get a good job
(8)Spell for strong love and relationship
(9)Spell to bring your ex back
(10)speII for Lottery
This man has great powers and is incredibly generous.You can contact him on
(wisdomspiritualtemple@gmail.com)

0
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i am from canada, the only reason why i am on this site is to thank this powerful spell caster called DR. Odion and you can improve your relationship success by contacting him through these details (wisdomspiritualtemple@gmail.com Or call +2348136482342) This powerful spell caster did me a huge favor by helping me get my lover back to me within the speed of light and since then my relationship has been perfect. any problem of yours.He is specialized in the following: (1)Spell for protection from danger (2)Spell for magic (3)Spell for same sex love (4)Spell for healing (5)Spell for invisibility (6)Spell for riches and fame (7)Spell to get a good job (8)Spell for strong love and relationship (9)Spell to bring your ex back (10)speII for Lottery This man has great powers and is incredibly generous.You can contact him on (wisdomspiritualtemple@gmail.com)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...

Latest Member Reviews

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."