Featured Review: Clap When You Land (Elizabeth Acevedo)

52516332._SX318_SY475_

About This Book:

In a novel-in-verse that brims with grief and love, National Book Award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo writes about the devastation of loss, the difficulty of forgiveness, and the bittersweet bonds that shape our lives.

Camino Rios lives for the summers when her father visits her in the Dominican Republic. But this time, on the day when his plane is supposed to land, Camino arrives at the airport to see crowds of crying people…

In New York City, Yahaira Rios is called to the principal’s office, where her mother is waiting to tell her that her father, her hero, has died in a plane crash.

Separated by distance—and Papi’s secrets—the two girls are forced to face a new reality in which their father is dead and their lives are forever altered.

And then, when it seems like they’ve lost everything of their father, they learn of each other. 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Nanouk Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

Clap When You Land is a novel-in-verse written by National Book Award-winning and New York Times-bestselling author Elizabeth Acevedo. It is a story of loss, family and the difficulty of forgiveness. The only other YA novel-in-verse I’ve ever read is One by Sarah Crossan, so I was super excited to read this book. And boy - it delivered more than what I expected!

Camino Rios, from the Dominican Republic, arrives at the airport, only to hear that the plane with her father she was expecting, crashed. Her father was flying back from the States for the summer. In New York, Yahaira Rios is called into the principal's office where she hears her father died in the plane crash. What neither of the girls know, is that they have the same father. A father that had a lot of secrets and is forever silenced.

Now that her father is dead, Camino is scared. She’s scared of her future and scared of El Cero, the pimp who’s been eyeing her ever since her father died. She wants to escape, but then Yahaira shows up and turns her life upside down. Both mad at each other and mad at ‘Papi’, they get to know each other. I love how Acevedo describes the girls and their evolving relationship. As a reader, you feel like you already know both girls, while they don’t even know of each other. But their relationship grows fast. Because, even though they only have known each other for a few days, they are bound by their father and his secrets.

The fact that the novel is written in verse, was something I had to get used to for about five pages. But because Acevedo is so talented, it didn’t feel like the story needed more or less words. All it needed were the exact poetic words that Acevedo used so carefully. You can feel the story has a lot of soul, a lot of warmth. As a reader, you know right away, how important it was for the author to tell this story, based on the actual plane crash of flight AA587 killing almost 300 Dominicans in 2001. It wasn’t covered enough by the media, yet Acevedo found a story to tell - an exceptional story.

I was amazed by how real both girls felt. Their cultures were researched thoroughly and I think she portrayed both girls with just the right of words. And above all, I was amazed by how Acevedo lets the girls grow over the story. As they learn more and more about their father, who turns out, wasn’t the hero they thought he was, they progress as persons. They are shaped by a loss they both experience so deeply. Even though they’ve never met, they feel the same kind of loss.

I was blown away by the story. For me, it isn't a book that you can read in a single read. I think you might want to read this book over the course of a week or so, to really let it sink in. You need to think about it, and then get back into the story. This story is really a one-of-a-kind kinda story. The kind of story you do not come across very often. And I just love that.
Good Points
- amazing writing style
- emotional story
 
 
 
*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*
Author Chat with Won-pyung Sohn (Almond), Plus Giv...
It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Half-Orphan’s Handbo...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."