Featured Review: Calling My Name by Liara Tamani

calling-my-name

About This Book:

Calling My Name, by debut author Liara Tamani, is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self—ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros. This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and it deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose. Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that deftly captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.

 

*Review Contributed By Jazmen Greene, Staff Reviewer*

Calling My Name 

I can hear the voices of some of the greatest African American writers echoing in the voice of Liara Tamani's debut novel, Calling My Name.

Reading Calling My Name had me reminiscing not only on some of those books I've read, by the aforementioned authors--but reminiscing of my childhood and adolescent years.

I found pieces of my childhood in this story, and it made the story that much more enjoyable.

In this coming-of-age tale, Taja Brown, seemingly struggles with her religious beliefs, and the realities she feels her family, simply doesn't get.

A blend of familial obligations, and realistic situations--Calling My Name was a story, the reader and myself won't soon forget.

With lyrical, poetic, and downright gorgeous writing, Calling My Name was a stellar debut.

Taja Btown is young, and she's just trying to figure life out--outside of what she's already been told. Taja's family, is a church family. The mother and father are apart of the church--and they're faithful to their religion. Taja struggles with committing to what she's committed to her entire life, and always feeling like there's more--more than what's she's been taught.

All the while exploring this, we get to know who Taja is, as she does the same. It was completely realistic and absolutely relatable.

I felt like I got it, because the exploration of ones self is something we all do at some point--and I enjoyed watching Taja do the same.

While religion was a heavy portion of the family's lives--and although it thoroughly dictated who they were and how they moved as a people--I definitely loved the way the parents were painted.

Dedicated, good-hearted people with realistic and non-harsh expectations of their children.

The son, is pretty much a play boy, but he does go off to college and attempts to make something of himself. Taja, eventually does the same. The overall picture is positive and it was wonderful.

Now let's briefly talk about the romance--because well we're all (some) looking for the romance. Or, maybe that's just me?!

Anyway, there is a little bit of romance but it is so realistic some of you may find yourself displeased. There's no slow burn or push and pull. It just kind of happens. Inevitably. Realistically.

It kind of just happens to you, and it was real. So be prepared for that. You won't be swooning but you'll be nodding your head in agreement.

With that aside it is a coming-of-age story--so there's not a lot of action. But it reads so well and so beautifully you won't miss it.

Without being too verbose--this is a solid debut. It was beautifully written and plain 'ol good reading. I'd definitely recommend it, and highly so!

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Love Like Sky (Leslie C ...
Spotlight on Lies That Bind (Anastasia Phoenix, #2...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Red at The Bone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and...
Bid My Soul Farewell (Give the Dark My Love, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that...
There Will Come a Darkness
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand...
Frankly in Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
wo friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go...
Serpent & Dove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and...
American Royals
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if America had a royal family? If you can't...
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book#4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began...
Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns Book, #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the final book in the #1 New York Times...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story that explores the bonds of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
Crown of Dragons
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The normal world is an illusion. Separated from other realms...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Alma knows that if good girls were girls with no questions, she wasn't a good girl. She has SO MANY..."
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."