35721194

About This Book:

Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants just one thing: to go somewhere—anywhere—else. Her home is a floundering spaceship that offers few prospects, having been orbiting an ice-encased Earth for two hundred years. When a private ship hires her as a governess, Stella jumps at the chance. The captain of the Rochester, nineteen-year-old Hugo Fairfax, is notorious throughout the fleet for being a moody recluse and a drunk. But with Stella he’s kind.

But the Rochester harbors secrets: Stella is certain someone is trying to kill Hugo, and the more she discovers, the more questions she has about his role in a conspiracy threatening the fleet. 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Kim Baccellia Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Seventeen-year-old Stella Ainsley wants to leave the poverty of her spaceship behind. So she applies for a governess job on another ship. When she's hired, she loves the luxury of the ship Rochester and is drawn to the nineteen-year-old captain Hugo. But there's secrets on board this ship. Dark ones. Ones that might involve Hugo himself.

What worked: Omg, I totally LOVED this retelling of Jane Eyre set in outer space. Stella is one of many orphans living on the Stalwart that is rumored to be on it's last legs. The real story though starts once she's on the Rochester. There's hints of a paranormal presence on board, but the reality is much worse. The mystery adds tension and readers will be glued to their seats, wondering what the dark secret is.

The chemistry between the brooding Hugo and Stella doesn't ignite until later on in the book. Stella doesn't quite know what to think of the young captain. It doesn't help that there are rumors of what happened to his parents. Stella finds herself drawn to him though. I found this relationship similar to Jane Eyre and even a little like Wuthering Heights. (Though this one doesn't end as tragically!)

Another plus has to be the world building. Each ship is it's own world. The Rochester is almost a luxury ship. The Liberty has streets with the names of past American presidents. I loved the technology and even the twists on a virus that is created to cull the populations in Outer Space. Rumor has it that Earth is going through another ice age. There's a little The 100 going on in this book too.

Kuddos also for having a very satisfying ending that doesn't leave readers frustrated. A perfect conclusion.

Captivating twist of Jane Eyre in the stars, this book will transport you to the far reaches of space with a timeless romance. Perfect for fans of Beth Revis. This story will not disappoint.

Good Points
1. Engaging retelling of Jane Eyre set in outer space
2. Brooding hero with Gothic feels
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*