Featured Review: All the Tides of Fate (Adalyn Grace)

51kCIcVYu9L._SX321_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

Through blood and sacrifice, Amora Montara has conquered a rebellion and taken her rightful place as queen of Visidia. Now, with the islands in turmoil and the people questioning her authority, Amora cannot allow anyone to see her weaknesses.

No one can know about the curse in her bloodline. No one can know that she’s lost her magic. No one can know the truth about the boy who holds the missing half of her soul.

To save herself and Visidia, Amora embarks on a desperate quest for a mythical artifact that could fix everything―but it comes at a terrible cost. As she tries to balance her loyalty to her people, her crew, and the desires of her heart, Amora will soon discover that the power to rule might destroy her.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

ALL THE TIDES OF FATE picks up Amora's story a season or two after the previous book ended. She is now ruling Visidia, grieving her father's death, and trying to forge ahead as best she can. Amora has lost a part of her soul, her magic, and her father in the events of the last book, and here, she is trying to become the best queen that she could be. When she hears from a villain that there may be a way to restore her magic and undo the things that have happened, Amora is willing to seize the chance and follow the threads to adventure and danger.

She cloaks this journey within one that her advisors have recommended - trying to find a spouse and sire an heir. As she travels to the islands within her borders, Amora finds that she still has more to learn about ruling and about the needs of her kingdom. While she travels with her closest friends, Amora's grief and fears keep her apart, not allowing her to share her burdens and sorrows. Keeping these secrets could have dangerous consequences.

What I loved: The world-building in this series really blows the reader away with well-crafted cultures, magic, and mythology. Visidia and its people really come to life on the pages, and I love the way that magic, mermaids, and gods are woven throughout the story. In terms of the characters, the fall-out from the first book felt very real. Amora is struggling, deeply, and her isolation is self-imposed but also a protective mechanism after the trials of the first book. Her grief over her soul/magic and her father are tangible and ever-present, and this felt so genuine. Her character continues to grow through these and other experiences, as well as through interactions with her friends.

We should all hope to have such friends - what a fantastic group of characters. I loved every word I read about each of them, and I would have loved to read a book on them all. They are all so whole and real and with their own stories to tell. I was fascinated by the whole main group, and I grew to love them all through the telling. In terms of the romance, it was a backseat to the themes of politics, morality of power, and grief, but every drop of it we saw was potent. I definitely loved them as a couple and to see how the dynamics and relationship shifted with the challenges placed before them.

In addition to defining herself, Amora must also define the way she wants her country to be run and its future. These weighty decisions are quite thought-provoking, and a major theme is lying, forgiveness, and the path forward from such. The rulers of Visidia have lied to the people for generations, and although she cannot change the past, Amora has major decisions to make about the way she will move the country forward and the truths that the people deserve. These discussions and the way that these ideas and themes evolve throughout the story - from the smaller scale of friends to the larger scale of the country - were really thought-provoking.

On another note, the plot is well wrapped-up, and it did not feel rushed. This was the ending that Amora and her story deserved (even if I may not be ready to leave this fantastic world yet).

Final verdict: With intricate world-building, intriguing themes, and fantastic characters, ALL THE TIDES OF FATE is a satisfying and thought-provoking conclusion to a strong YA fantasy duology. Highly recommend for fans of FABLE, DANCE OF THIEVES, and TO KILL A KINGDOM.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Author Chat with Gita Trelease (Everything That Bu...
Giveaway: Monsters Among Us (Monica Rodden) ~ (US ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...

Latest Member Reviews

Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."