Featured Review: A Curse of Roses (Diana Pinguicha)

51-w2MdaQL._SY344_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an epic tale of mystery, magic, and making the impossible choice between love and duty…

With just one touch, bread turns into roses. With just one bite, cheese turns into lilies.

There’s a famine plaguing the land, and Princess Yzabel is wasting food simply by trying to eat. Before she can even swallow, her magic―her curse―has turned her meal into a bouquet. She’s on the verge of starving, which only reminds her that the people of Portugal have been enduring the same pain for years.

If only it were possible to reverse her magic. Then she could turn flowers into food.

Fatyan, a beautiful Enchanted Moura, is the only one who can help. But she is trapped by magical binds. She can teach Yzabel how to control her curse―if Yzabel sets her free with a kiss.

As the King of Portugal’s betrothed, Yzabel would be committing treason, but what good is a king if his country has starved to death?

With just one kiss, Fatyan is set free. And with just one kiss, Yzabel is yearning for more.

She’d sought out Fatyan to help her save the people. Now, loving her could mean Yzabel’s destruction.

A Curse of Roses includes themes, imagery, and content that might be triggering for some readers. Discussions of religious-based self harm, religious-based eating disorders, and religious-based internalized homophobia appear throughout the novel.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of religious piety, miracles and their moral ambiguity, homophobia, and misogyny (internalized as well as external). Yzabel is betrothed to the king of Portugal and lives in the palace with him in the lead up to their wedding. Because of her curse where she turns food into roses, Yzabel eats very little, starving herself so much that she no longer gets her monthly courses.

She has tried self-flagellation and physical pain as methods to keep the curse at bay, but it seems to only be getting worse. When her maid suggests she seeks a Moura, Yzabel takes the chance, hoping that magical Moura will grant her wish of removing the curse. Once she finds the Moura, Fatyan, she explains that a cure is not so simple. However, she promises to help her if Yzabel helps to break her curse - with a kiss. Yzabel is torn about this sacrilegious act, but she ultimately kisses her, feeling things that cause increasing inner turmoil.

What I loved: This is a really intense story with a lot of inner struggle. The beginning is a little scattered, but it begins to really take shape about a third of the way through. The themes are dark but intriguing. There is a lot about acceptance of LGBT individuals and the struggles they face for living their truths. There are also intriguing discussions and symbolism around morality and religion. Yzabel learns from Fatyan that her curse could be viewed differently by different perspectives as well as that the interpretations of religious texts are not as simple as she had thought. The lens through which magic (or miracles) and religion is viewed matters.

What left me wanting more: As many of the struggles are internal, I wanted to hear more of Yzabel's changes and how she comes to terms with herself and her own truths - I think this would have been even better in a first person story to really get immersed into Yzabel's mindset and thoughts. As a small point, the beginning felt a bit scattered, and it was hard to find my footing in the story with different magic, plagues, and so on. This was a small point, as it really firmed up later in the story, and the ending was strong.

Final verdict: Intense and with intriguing themes, A CURSE OF ROSES is a fascinating, dark YA historical fantasy. Recommend for fans of THE GILDED WOLVES, GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE, and BEYOND THE RUBY VEIL.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: We Are Lost and Found (Helene Dun...
Exclusive Trailer Reveal: Those Who Prey (Jennifer...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...

Latest Member Reviews

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."