Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB--November 2, 2015

Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB--November 2, 2015

 

Contributed by Karen Sandler 

 

 

 

History can be a hard sell for teens (and many adults). Kids ask, “Why do I have to learn this stuff? It happened a long time ago.” They don’t feel a connection between themselves and what they read in history books. The kind of historical fiction that is required reading in high school classrooms doesn’t help matters, and often leaves teens glassy­eyed and even less inclined to look into the past.

But there are plenty of great teen and middle grade novels out there that are both rich with historical details and captivating to young readers. The three I’ve chosen are all exceptional diverse picks. They all provide an entertaining and thoughtful read, with characters teens can connect with. These three books are my personal recommendations, and I hope you’ll check them out. 

 

 

 

Mildred D. Taylor is an award­winning icon of children’s literature. Her classic novel, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry, won the Newbery Medal in 1977. The 40th anniversary of the book’s release will be celebrated in January 2016 with a beautiful new cover. Roll of Thunder is one of a series of books about the Logan family and is set in southern Mississippi during the depression when Blacks were at the mercy of white vigilantes.

Roll of Thunder is told from the point of view of 9­year­old Cassie Logan, who lives in a three room house on land her family owns and farms. They have to walk to school in the mud because the school bus is for whites only. They’re given school books that are worn and damaged rejects from the white students. When they can, they steer clear of whites entirely since those encounters can be frightening or even deadly.

Why you’ll love this book:

  •   It gives a frank, non­sugar­coated view of the South for Blacks. No romanticizing here.

  •   The characters are complex and real. Taylor doesn’t fall into tropes for either the Black or

    white characters.

  •   The rich detail of the setting, encompassing all the senses, thoroughly pull the reader into

    the book and the era the story depicts.

  •   While it’s a difficult read at times with the injustices that the Logans experience, it makes

    Roll of Thunder an excellent pick for a window or mirror book, reflecting the ways the world has changed as well as the ways it has remained the same.

If you want to tempt a teen to explore history with a compelling read, Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry is a great pick. Even better, there are several other books in the series as well to keep reading about the Logan family. 

 

 

 

 

Under a Painted Sky is the newest of the three books on my list, but the time period of the story is farthest in the past—1849. This debut novel by Stacey Lee packs adventure, romance, history, and humor in a fun, fast­paced story.

After a tragic accident dashes Samantha’s dreams of being a professional musician—already a long shot for a Chinese girl in the 1840s—she becomes a wanted person and must escape with Annamae, a runaway slave. Samantha and Annamae disguise themselves as boys, renaming themselves Sammy and Andy as they take to the Oregon Trail, bound for California. Along the way, they cross paths with a band of young cowboys, and while it’s safer to travel with others more experienced in the wilderness, Samantha and Annamae risk discovery by the boys even as they dodge the law coming after them.

Why you’ll love this book:

  •   Plenty of authenticity in the details of traveling the Oregon Trail

  •   Wonderful chemistry between Annamae and Samantha as the bond between them

    develops

  •   The dangers of the undiscovered wilderness keep the story on a razor’s edge

  •   There’s a nice love story between Samantha and her cowboy, even as she plays the part

    of a boy

    A great combination of adventure, romance, and true friendship, Under a Painted Sky will paint a vivid and entertaining picture of the Oregon Trail and the California Gold Rush. A sure winner for reluctant readers of history. 

 

 

 

My Name is Not Easy’s author, Debby Dahl Edwardson, is not Iñupiaq as her character Luke is, and she makes that clear in her bio. She’s writing the experience of others, including her husband (she based Luke’s experience on her husband’s). It’s a compelling read, and both the characters’ experience and the stark setting seem authentic, but I can only speak as an outsider to that indigenous community.

The book takes place in the 1960s, when Iñupiaq in Alaska had no options close to home for furthering their education after grammar school. It was customary to fly children down into the lower 48, hundreds of miles away to Catholic boarding schools. While Luke is as much the main character as any of the several who tell their stories, the experience in the cold desolation that is Sacred Heart school is interwoven of various threads. There are no definitive representations of good and evil in the authority figures Luke and the others encounter. There is good and bad and shades in between, a lot of loneliness and grief, isolation and displacement. Just like Roll of Thunder, this book can be hard to take at times, but despite the heartbreak along the way, the ending satisfies.

Why you’ll love this book:

  •   Utterly fascinating characters. Three dimensional, complex, surprising

  •   Beautiful prose, a strong sense of place and time

  •   A revelation of a part of our history you might not have known—that until 1976, when

    Alaska was required to build and staff high schools even in small rural villages, children were sent away from their homes and forced to live far away from their families to receive secondary education

    My Name Isn’t Easy is one of those books that will stick with you, as if you’d experienced that desolation and loneliness yourself in the course of reading it. Highly recommended for anyone who thinks history should be left in the past. The book’s immediacy will pull you in. 

 

 

Karen Sandler is the author of nineteen novels for adults, as well as TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION, a YA science fiction trilogy from Lee & Low/Tu Books. Just a few felines short of being a full­fledged Cat Lady, she loves chocolate, horses, and folk dancing. She is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books.  

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_DiverseBooks.jpg

 

How to Be Brave--E. Katherine Kottaras Guest Post
YABC November Book Haul

Related Posts

 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
Elizabeth Drake, Staff Reviewer (website) on Monday, 02 November 2015 19:37

Adding Under a Painted Sky to my TBR list!

0
Adding Under a Painted Sky to my TBR list!
Guest - yazzie abby (website) on Tuesday, 03 November 2015 00:50

This is my Second visit to this blog. We are starting a new initiative in the same niche as this blog. Your blog provided us with important information to work with. You have done a fantastic job.

0
This is my Second visit to this blog. We are starting a new initiative in the same niche as this blog. Your blog provided us with important information to work with. You have done a fantastic job.
peter on Monday, 27 May 2019 14:51

would you rather questions adult
Everyone wants to talk about their interests. Most of these questions are to find out what kind of thing your crush is in to. You can discuss other issues to find interesting experiences and approaches.

0
[url=https://kssignmedia.blogspot.com/2019/04/truth-or-dare-question-to-play.html]would you rather questions adult[/url] Everyone wants to talk about their interests. Most of these questions are to find out what kind of thing your crush is in to. You can discuss other issues to find interesting experiences and approaches.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."