Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

 

Column by Karen Sandler

I’m so delighted to have the opportunity to blog here on YABC. There isn’t much I love more than talking about books, and in particular talking about diversity and inclusiveness in kidlit. And since my favorite genre is science fiction, that inspired my first three diverse choices for my debut post.

I grew up during the “Space Age” of the 1960’s and 1970’s, when the first satellites were launched into orbit and the first manned missions took place. My dad worked for an aerospace company, and brought us to work a few times to show off the satellites he was working on. We also spent part of a summer in Cocoa Beach, and I got to watch three satellite launches from the beach that was steps away from our apartment. Here’s a picture of a launch from those days. 

 

 

So it’s not surprising that I read a ton of science fiction as a kid. Of course, back then, nearly all science fiction was written by/for/about white men, so I read plenty of white male authors. Now I make sure to seek out diversity in my SF reading, and the three books I’m highlighting are great examples of stories with inclusiveness in their characters and themes.

Those of you who avoid science fiction because of its techiness, worry not. All three of these books go much deeper into characterization than tech, providing even the most science-averse a satisfying read. These are my personal recommendations, and I hope you’ll check them out. 

Killer of Enemies

 

Abenaki author Joseph Bruchac frequently features Native Americans in his books. In Killer of Enemies, Lozen is an Apache girl struggling to survive in a post­apocalyptic world in which “the Cloud” has destroyed all tech. Without technology to keep them confined, the genetically engineered monsters created by “the Ones” have escaped. Lozen must fight and destroy the monsters because if she doesn’t, the Ones will kill her kidnapped family.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

  •  1.) The Apache culture woven into the story.

  •  2.)Its mind­blowing monsters, each one more terrifying than the last.

  •  3.) Lozen is a kick­ass diverse heroine who can not only take care of herself, but protects those wo cannot do the same.

  •  4.)There are depths and layers of characterization and story.

Add to the above, a high-­action story and edge of your seat thrills, and Killer of Enemies is a book that’s impossible to put down until you’ve reached the last page. page1image21456 page1image21616

 

The Lost Girl

 

I happened across Sangu Mandanna’s The Lost Girl on one of those “best of” lists of science fiction books earlier this year. What a find it was. The main character, Eva, is an illegal creation called an echo, whose only purpose is to be ready to take the place of a “real human” if they die. In Eva’s case, she’s been created as a perfect twin of Amarra, a teenage Indian girl who lives in Bangalore. When Amarra dies in a car crash, Eva has to leave everything she’s ever known to step into Amarra’s shoes and live the other girl’s life.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

1.) It has a strong, fully fleshed­ out diverse main character who is uniquely herself, even as she has to pretend she’s someone else.

2.) Its intriguing premise is fascinating and frightening all at once—a world in which body doubles are created with the sole purpose of becoming someone else.

3.) It has an edgy, suspenseful plot in which Eva teeters between being someone’s beloved daughter and being discovered as an echo and destroyed.

4.) A complex and believable future society that could be right around the corner.
 

Add to the above, characters who seem to be on Eva’s side but maybe aren’t and a twisty story, and you’ll be reading The Lost Girl late into the night. 

 

 

The Summer Prince

 

The setting of Alaya Dawn Johnson’s The Summer Prince, is Brazil, in another post­apocalyptic future. The society is woman­centered, where in spring every five years the Summer Prince is chosen. He spends the summer as the center of attention, the one person everyone wants to see and be seen with. Then come September, the Summer Prince is ritually sacrificed. The female main character, June, focuses all her energy on staging elaborate art projects until she meets the newest Summer Prince, Enki. Enki soon has June questioning everything she’s been taught about her family and society.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

1.) The setting, Palmares Três, is lavishly described, from the queen’s quarters on the top to the algae­farm slums at the bottom.

2.)There’s a twist on the ubiquitous YA love triangle: Both June and her male friend, Gil, have fallen in love with the doomed Summer Prince, Enki.

3.)The society is intricate and complex.

4.)There are no pat answers at the end, but it’s a satisfying read nonetheless.

Add to the above complicated characters that enthrall and occasionally horrify in equal measure, and you will be turning pages as quick as you can. 

 

Karen Sandler is the author of nineteen novels for adults, as well as TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION, a YA science fiction trilogy from Lee & Low/Tu Books. Just a few felines short of being a full­fledged Cat Lady, she loves chocolate, horses, and folk dancing. She is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books.  page2image22360

 

page2image22520page2image22680

 

Live Chat with Ally Carter
Giveaway: The Originals - Resurrection by Julie Pl...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"