Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

Diversify Your Shelves with WNDB

 

Column by Karen Sandler

I’m so delighted to have the opportunity to blog here on YABC. There isn’t much I love more than talking about books, and in particular talking about diversity and inclusiveness in kidlit. And since my favorite genre is science fiction, that inspired my first three diverse choices for my debut post.

I grew up during the “Space Age” of the 1960’s and 1970’s, when the first satellites were launched into orbit and the first manned missions took place. My dad worked for an aerospace company, and brought us to work a few times to show off the satellites he was working on. We also spent part of a summer in Cocoa Beach, and I got to watch three satellite launches from the beach that was steps away from our apartment. Here’s a picture of a launch from those days. 

 

 

So it’s not surprising that I read a ton of science fiction as a kid. Of course, back then, nearly all science fiction was written by/for/about white men, so I read plenty of white male authors. Now I make sure to seek out diversity in my SF reading, and the three books I’m highlighting are great examples of stories with inclusiveness in their characters and themes.

Those of you who avoid science fiction because of its techiness, worry not. All three of these books go much deeper into characterization than tech, providing even the most science-averse a satisfying read. These are my personal recommendations, and I hope you’ll check them out. 

Killer of Enemies

 

Abenaki author Joseph Bruchac frequently features Native Americans in his books. In Killer of Enemies, Lozen is an Apache girl struggling to survive in a post­apocalyptic world in which “the Cloud” has destroyed all tech. Without technology to keep them confined, the genetically engineered monsters created by “the Ones” have escaped. Lozen must fight and destroy the monsters because if she doesn’t, the Ones will kill her kidnapped family.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

  •  1.) The Apache culture woven into the story.

  •  2.)Its mind­blowing monsters, each one more terrifying than the last.

  •  3.) Lozen is a kick­ass diverse heroine who can not only take care of herself, but protects those wo cannot do the same.

  •  4.)There are depths and layers of characterization and story.

Add to the above, a high-­action story and edge of your seat thrills, and Killer of Enemies is a book that’s impossible to put down until you’ve reached the last page. page1image21456 page1image21616

 

The Lost Girl

 

I happened across Sangu Mandanna’s The Lost Girl on one of those “best of” lists of science fiction books earlier this year. What a find it was. The main character, Eva, is an illegal creation called an echo, whose only purpose is to be ready to take the place of a “real human” if they die. In Eva’s case, she’s been created as a perfect twin of Amarra, a teenage Indian girl who lives in Bangalore. When Amarra dies in a car crash, Eva has to leave everything she’s ever known to step into Amarra’s shoes and live the other girl’s life.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

1.) It has a strong, fully fleshed­ out diverse main character who is uniquely herself, even as she has to pretend she’s someone else.

2.) Its intriguing premise is fascinating and frightening all at once—a world in which body doubles are created with the sole purpose of becoming someone else.

3.) It has an edgy, suspenseful plot in which Eva teeters between being someone’s beloved daughter and being discovered as an echo and destroyed.

4.) A complex and believable future society that could be right around the corner.
 

Add to the above, characters who seem to be on Eva’s side but maybe aren’t and a twisty story, and you’ll be reading The Lost Girl late into the night. 

 

 

The Summer Prince

 

The setting of Alaya Dawn Johnson’s The Summer Prince, is Brazil, in another post­apocalyptic future. The society is woman­centered, where in spring every five years the Summer Prince is chosen. He spends the summer as the center of attention, the one person everyone wants to see and be seen with. Then come September, the Summer Prince is ritually sacrificed. The female main character, June, focuses all her energy on staging elaborate art projects until she meets the newest Summer Prince, Enki. Enki soon has June questioning everything she’s been taught about her family and society.

 

Why you’ll love this book:

1.) The setting, Palmares Três, is lavishly described, from the queen’s quarters on the top to the algae­farm slums at the bottom.

2.)There’s a twist on the ubiquitous YA love triangle: Both June and her male friend, Gil, have fallen in love with the doomed Summer Prince, Enki.

3.)The society is intricate and complex.

4.)There are no pat answers at the end, but it’s a satisfying read nonetheless.

Add to the above complicated characters that enthrall and occasionally horrify in equal measure, and you will be turning pages as quick as you can. 

 

Karen Sandler is the author of nineteen novels for adults, as well as TANKBORN, AWAKENING, and REBELLION, a YA science fiction trilogy from Lee & Low/Tu Books. Just a few felines short of being a full­fledged Cat Lady, she loves chocolate, horses, and folk dancing. She is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books.  page2image22360

 

page2image22520page2image22680

 

Live Chat with Ally Carter
Giveaway: The Originals - Resurrection by Julie Pl...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."