Diversify Your Shelves--"Summer of Discovery"

Diversify Your Shelves--"Summer of Discovery"
Summer of Discovery
contributed by Lilliam Rivera
 

Various tables were lined up against the wall of the auditorium, divided into sections. Interested in the arts? You might want to work in a community-run theater. Lawyer? Perhaps, a summer job in a law firm. I was fourteen years old and I was about to select my first summer job. I was finally going to get out of my South Bronx apartment. I couldn’t wait.  

            One table caught my eye. The sign read Flower Fifth Avenue Hospital. It was the name of the hospital my father worked at. I could work with Papi! How awesome would that be? Visions of us commuting together came to mind. Maybe we can have lunch. I was at that age that my father was kind of everything to me. 

            Papi was born and raised in Puerto Rico, in the coastal town of Guayama. Always a runner, there are newspaper articles of him winning races barefoot. He lived with his mother and father in a small wooden home with seven siblings. Like many before him, he came to New York to avoid the excruciating hard labor on the island’s sugar plantations. Instead, what he found in New York was factory work. Papi knew enough that he needed a union job, something more stable. He found one in Flower Fifth Avenue Hospital.

            My father worked as a nurses’ aid. I didn’t actually know what that meant but I knew he wasn’t a nurse or a doctor. He was something under that, like a helper. The patients were children and young adults with profound neurological impairments.  

            On those first few days on the job, our schedules never did coincide. He had a later shift. But there would be a couple of hours when we would see each other. And when we did, I noticed something different. What is it like to see your father show affection to a stranger? Or, witness others order him to do things? 

            In my family, Papi was the man of the house. He made the final decisions. The first time you meet him, he probably wouldn’t smile or even meet your eye. What might be construed as standoffish is really shy. He is also a poet. Papi still recites poetry at church functions. Always impeccably dressed, he’s the type of man that everyone seeks out for advice. But at the hospital he was simply one of the many people of color tending to other people’s children. 

            Something about that summer shifted for me. Papi know longer was someone unattainable, almost god-like. I could admit this now that back then I was embarrassed about his job. Angry even, for those around him that didn’t realize what a big deal he was.

            In my young adult novel, The Education of Margot Sanchez, readers are introduced to Margot, a spoiled fifteen-year old Princesa who is forced to work at her father’s supermarket after stealing a credit card. She attends a prestigious prep school and will do anything to fit in—steal, lie, deny her own truth. During the course of a summer, Margot will not only pay off her debt but she will finally learn that she doesn’t need to hide behind pretty masks to be accepted. The novel also explores how the Bronx is being gentrified and the desperate acts found behind addiction.

            There is a pivotal moment in the novel when Margot really sees her mother and father for the first time. They are no longer these one-dimensional people disciplining her but flawed humans with unrealized dreams and insecurities. She finally opens her eyes and discovers her family is messy, misguided, but still full of love. 

            Margot Sanchez is not about my life but the summer I spent with my father did inspire the novel. Like Margot, we both reconstructed what family meant to each other. That summer I saw the world through a more realist light. My relationship with my father continues to shift and changes as we both grow older.  

 

*This post originally appeared at Diversity in YAand has been 

brought to you thanks to our partner, Cindy Pon!*

 

 

 Lilliam Rivera is the author of the young adult novel, The Education of Margot Sanchez (Simon & Schuster, February 2017) and was named a "2017 Face to Watch" by the Los Angeles Times.Her work has appeared in Los Angeles TimesUSA Today, and Latina, among others. Lilliam lives in Los Angeles.
 
 

Cindy Pon is the author of Silver Phoenix (Greenwillow, 2009), which was named one of the Top Ten Fantasy and Science Fiction Books for Youth by the American Library Association’s Booklist, and one of 2009′s best Fantasy, Science Fiction and Horror by VOYA. Her most recent novel, Serpentine (Month9Books, 2015), is a Junior Library Guild Selection and received starred reviews from School Library Journal and VOYA. The sequel, Sacrifice, releases this September. WANT, a near-future thriller set in Taipei, will be published by Simon Pulse in summer 2017. She is the co-founder of Diversity in YA with Malinda Lo and on the advisory board of We Need Diverse Books. Cindy is also a Chinese brush painting student of over a decade. Learn more about her books and art http://cindypon.com.

Spotlight on Proof Of Lies (Diana Rodriguez Wallac...
Author Of The Week: Chat with Wendy Higgins (The G...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A haunted tower, an evil ghost, a monster spawned from...
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
What better way to encourage a little one to sleep...
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
The Bad Guys are back for the monstrously funny 9th...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sweet treats and friendship mix-ups abound in this story about...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From award-winning Carolyn Mackler, the story of Willa, who has...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This book is about the Stonewall Riots, a series of...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Emily is flying with her parents to China to...
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Bria has made some poor choices concerning friends and social media back home in Chicago, so her parents have decided..."
 
4.5
"The story: Hot on the heels of the event of Super Humans (Book One), we get inside..."
The Haunted
 
3.7
"THE HAUNTED is a really fascinating YA horror that follows Hendricks, a teenage girl, after she moves into a haunted..."
Babies Can Sleep Anywhere
 
4.0
"BABIES CAN SLEEP ANYWHERE is a cute rhyming book about sleep. The book goes through where animals sleep (e.g. puppy..."
The Bad Guys in The Big Bad Wolf (The Bad Guys, #9)
 
4.5
"This episode of THE BAD GUYS has the crew planning for a way to stop the aliens and help the..."
 
4.0
"Willa has struggled with a sensory processing disorder her whole life, but with supportive parents and some occupational therapy, she..."
 
4.0
"June 28th marks the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in Greenwich Village, New York City, so it's great to..."
 
4.0
"Emily and her parents go to China to bring home the little girl they are adopting. Emily isn't crazy about..."
My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."