Cover Reveal: Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell + Giveaway (US Only)

Cover Reveal: Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell + Giveaway (US Only)

 

 

It's double cover reveal week, YABCers!

Today we're celebrating the cover for SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS by Bethany Crandell, releasing April 1, 2014 from Running Press Kids. Before we get to the cover, here's a message from Bethany:

 

Hey YABC. Thanks for letting me hijack the site to show off the cover for SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS! 
 
I gotta tell you, designing the right cover for this book wasn’t easy. With a ruthless main character and unpredictable supporting cast, SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS breaks the rules of your typical contemporary read, which is why it was so important we come up with a concept that properly reflected that vision. Thankfully, the geniuses over at Running Press came up with an idea (based on a pivotal scene from the book) that captures the raw, unapologetic tone of the story, while still lending to its humor and heartfelt sincerity. 
 
Some days having a one-of-a-kind cover can feel a little risky…but mostly it just feels exciting. Breaking the rules is so much fun! 
 
Hope you like it…
 
-Bethany Crandell (SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS, Running Press)

 

 

Oh, I think we will. Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_Short-Bus-Cover.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Bethany's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

SUMMER ON THE SHORT BUS

by Bethany Crandell
Release date: April 1, 2014
ISBN: 0762449519
 

About the book

Seventeen-year-old Cricket Montgomery was born with a silver spoon in her mouth 
(though Tiffany Platinum would have been preferred). So when her father rips her from her cashmere comfort zone and ships her off to work at a rural Michigan summer camp, she is less than thrilled. Adding to her horror is the arrival of two short buses and the realization that she will be a counselor to teens with special needs.
 
What puzzles Cricket more than just a world without Vuitton bags and four-star dining, is why these “strange-faced” kids are so happy, despite their obvious differences. But between being force fed a hearty dose of reality (by a very cute co-counselor) and organizing the end-of-summer talent show, Cricket might be able to survive this summer one wheelchair spoke at a time.
 
 
 

Our Thoughts

So, at first you think this is going to be a fun summer romp, right? And then you see the wheelchair, and you know, somehow, some way, Bethany Crandell is going to hit you right in the feels. 

I love the colors, the whimsical feel, and the added textures making it look like a collage. Well done, Running Press!
 
And as a girl who lives in Michigan, I'm excited to read about Cricket's summer there. It's a pretty transformative place. ;-)
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_crandell.jpgAbout the Author

Bethany lives in San Diego with her husband, two kiddos, (one of whom is differently-abled) and a chocolate lab who has no regard for personal space. She thinks that laughter is the best medicine, that avocados make the world go round, and that Jake Ryan is going to show up at her door any minute now….

 

 

 

Giveaway Details

  • One US winner will receive a signed ARC when they become available. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover?

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 
Cover Reveal: Some Fine Day by Kat Ross + Giveaway...
Cover Reveal: Behind the Scenes by Dahlia Adler + ...

Related Posts

 

Comments 44

Already Registered? Login Here
Lynanne Carroll (website) on Tuesday, 17 December 2013 12:51

Sometimes my computer doesn't capitalize things properly...and I don't catch the error(s) before they get posted :/.

Summer on the Short Bus!!! Woot

0
Sometimes my computer doesn't capitalize things properly...and I don't catch the error(s) before they get posted :/. Summer on the Short Bus!!! Woot :D
Lynanne Carroll (website) on Tuesday, 17 December 2013 12:38

Sometimes my computer doesn't capitalize things properly...and I don't catch the error(s) before they get posted :/.

Summer on the Short Bus!!! Woot

0
Sometimes my computer doesn't capitalize things properly...and I don't catch the error(s) before they get posted :/. Summer on the Short Bus!!! Woot :D
Crystal (website) on Thursday, 26 December 2013 16:42

I love the cover! It looks so cute & fun! I can't wait to get my hands on this book!!!

0
I love the cover! It looks so cute & fun! I can't wait to get my hands on this book!!!
Guest - Sunnymay on Friday, 27 December 2013 12:23

Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell's cover hints at the wheelchair bound kids that will people this book along with summer activities in swimsuits and sandals.

0
Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell's cover hints at the wheelchair bound kids that will people this book along with summer activities in swimsuits and sandals.
Guest - Sunnymay on Friday, 27 December 2013 12:23

Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell's cover hints at the wheelchair bound kids that will people this book along with summer activities in swimsuits and sandals.

0
Summer on the Short Bus by Bethany Crandell's cover hints at the wheelchair bound kids that will people this book along with summer activities in swimsuits and sandals.
Guest - Natasha on Sunday, 29 December 2013 17:20

I love it!
Thanks for the chance to win!

0
I love it! Thanks for the chance to win!
Ashly (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:03

the cover is cute, if i didn't read what the book is about, I would think its a book for kids. like summer camp and the kids go there on a short bus.

0
the cover is cute, if i didn't read what the book is about, I would think its a book for kids. like summer camp and the kids go there on a short bus.
Guest - Ashly (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:04

the cover is cute, if i didn't read what the book is about, I would think its a book for kids. like summer camp and the kids go there on a short bus.

0
the cover is cute, if i didn't read what the book is about, I would think its a book for kids. like summer camp and the kids go there on a short bus.
Ashly Hilliard (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:18

my comment, i wasn't signed in

0
my comment, i wasn't signed in
Ashly Hilliard (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:18

my comment, i wasn't signed in

0
my comment, i wasn't signed in

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."