Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Cover Reveal: Falls the Shadow by Stefanie Gaither + Giveaway (US/Canada)

 

We're back from our holiday vacation with a new cover reveal, YABCers!

Today we're celebrating the cover for FALLS THE SHADOW by Stefanie Gaither, releasing September 16, 2014 from Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers. Before we get to the cover, here's a message from Stefanie:

 

Hello YABC! I'm SO excited to be here for the exclusive cover reveal of my book, FALLS THE SHADOW! 
 
I've been trying reeeally hard to come up with some sort of witty and brilliant introduction to do said cover justice, but all I keep coming back to is: Wow! This is happening! This book cover has my name on it! WHAT. WHAT IS HAPPENING AHHHH
 
Ahem. But seriously, my first thought when I opened the email containing it was simply: "Whoa.” I think it's positively striking, and I adore the boldness of it, the colors, etc... My agent rightly used the word “intense” to describe it, and “intense” is such a perfect adjective to describe the story inside, too, so I’m thrilled that this cover captures that so well. I can't wait to see the physical jacket, either; I imagine it's going to be even more striking once the letters and such have some shiny effects on them (I do love shiny things). 
 
Anyway, I hope you love this cover as much as I do!
 
~ Stefanie
 

 

 

Intense? Sweet! Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

b2ap3_thumbnail_FallsTheShadow_CVRfinal.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Stefanie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

 

FALLS THE SHADOW

by Stefanie Gaither
Release date: September 16, 2014
Publisher: Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers
 

About the book

 

When Cate Benson was a kid, her sister, Violet, died. Two hours after the funeral, Cate’s family picked up Violet’s replacement. Like nothing had happened. Because Cate’s parents are among those who decided to give their children a sort of immortality—by cloning them at birth—which means this new Violet has the same face. The same perfect smile. She even has all of the same memories as the girl she replaced.

She also might have murdered the most popular girl in school. 

At least, that’s what the paparazzi and the anti-cloning protestors want everyone to think: that clones are violent, unpredictable monsters. Cate is used to hearing all that. She’s used to defending her sister, too. But now Violet has vanished, and when Cate sets out to find her, she ends up in the line of fire instead. Because Cate is getting dangerously close to secrets that will rock the foundation of everything she thought was true.

Debut author Stefanie Gaither takes readers on a nail-biting ride through a future that looks frighteningly similar to our own time and asks: how far are you willing to go to keep your family together?

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_sgaither_author_photo_20131230-164507_1.jpgAbout the Author

After co-owning and managing a coffee shop for several years while simultaneously earning her B.A. in English, Stefanie Gaither left the small business world behind to focus on her author career instead. Now, in addition to penning YA novels, she also works part-time as a copywriter for an advertising agency. She lives in North Carolina with her husband and an incredibly spoiled Shih Tzu. You can visit her online at www.stefaniegaither.com.

Twitter | FacebookGoodreadsPinterestTumblr


 

Giveaway Details

  • One US/Canada winner will receive a signed ARC when they become available. 

 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover?

 

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: Trust Me, I'm Lying by Mary Elizabet...
YA Authors as YAs: The Ingrid Jonach Edition + Giv...

Related Posts

 

Comments 54

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Becky on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:07

Amazing cover!

0
Amazing cover!
Guest - Shallee (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:19

THIS IS SO AWESOME! Yay, Stefanie, I love it!

0
THIS IS SO AWESOME! Yay, Stefanie, I love it!
Emily Dolhansky (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:51

Beautiful cover, can't wait to read this.

0
Beautiful cover, can't wait to read this. :)
Guest - Leah Rae Miller on Monday, 30 December 2013 12:58

GORGEOUS!!!!!

0
GORGEOUS!!!!!
Guest - Leah Rae Miller on Monday, 30 December 2013 13:36

For those wondering, here's the Goodreads page for this fantastic book!: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17559487-falls-the-shadow

Not sure why it's not in the post.

0
For those wondering, here's the Goodreads page for this fantastic book!: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/17559487-falls-the-shadow Not sure why it's not in the post.
Joshua David Bellin (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 14:37

Love the cover--the reverse-shadow scream is awesome!

0
Love the cover--the reverse-shadow scream is awesome!
Sandra Lam (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 17:26

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

0
I really like the silhouette of the two faces!
Sandra Lam (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 17:34

I really like the silhouette of the two faces!

0
I really like the silhouette of the two faces!
Guest - Tammy on Monday, 30 December 2013 18:36

I like the double face and the 3D lettering.

0
I like the double face and the 3D lettering.
Vivien (website) on Monday, 30 December 2013 21:24

I really like the complexity!

0
I really like the complexity!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."