Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

Celebrating National Dog Day with Richard Torrey!

TOO COOL TO BRAG. TORREY’S MY DOG, BOB, INTRODUCES KIDS TO A DIFFERENT WAY TO BE GREAT

 

Quiet dignity is vastly underrated, but it’s a quality shared by those who are truly fortunate to have learned one of the best kept secrets of self-esteem -- that true success isn’t bragging about what you do, but being content to be proud of what you do well. Bob, the uniquely talented four-legged protagonist of Richard Torrey’s new book, My Dog, Bob, doesn’t show off – even though he does know how to cook a gourmet meal and drive a car – he just happily goes along enjoying himself and giving pleasure to those around him.

 

When confronted by a neighbor intent on showing off the skills learned by her classically trained poodle, Truffles, Bob quietly watches Truffles catch, sit, fetch and speak on command, and then quietly apologizes to his owner, Jeff; then they return home together so Bob can cook Jeff’s favorite food for dinner.

Inspired by a real dog, Bob, who Richard Torrey’s father-in-law, Jack had owned, this picture book is a tribute by Torrey to them both. “My father-in-law, Jack, is a remarkable man, but also very humble,” explains Torrey. He’s extremely talented both in his work as an estimator for a large construction company, and in his hobbies ranging from building furniture, canoes, and a cannon; to designing stained-glass windows. He’s also had a heart attack, cancer and a nearly fatal 20 foot fall onto a steel barge, but I’ve never heard him complain.”

 

 My Dog, Bob draws on themes covered in many of Torrey’s books, including in his recently published picture book, Ally-Saurus & the first day of school, which has received starred reviews from Kirkusand Publishers Weekly. The beliefs he shares are, “Don’t try to be someone you are not. Be yourself, and be proud of it. Understand that not everyone is going to like you. That’s okay. Don’t take it as a sign you need to change or act differently. Just try to be the best you can be.”

 

Good lessons to share with the kids we love – and to remember to tell ourselves!

 

Richard Torrey, is the author/illustrator of fifteen books and illustrator of dozens more. He first made a name for himself as a cartoonist for King Features and Creators Syndicate with comic strips Hartland and PETE AND CLETE published internationally. Inspired to pursue illustration after meeting Peanuts creator Charles Schultz at a pro-hockey game when Torrey was in elementary school, Torrey went on to have his own top-selling line of greeting cards at Recycled Paper Greetings and illustrating for syndicates and a broad range of magazines including The National, Inside Sports, Kids City, and Highlights. The son of Hockey Hall-of-Famer Bill Torrey, Richard has also published kids’ sports books, and he teaches cartooning and manga art at The Art League of Long Island.

# # #

MY DOG, BOB| Written & Illustrated by Richard Torrey| Published by Holiday House| Pub. Date: September 2015| Price: $16.95| Ages: 4-8| Hardcover/ISBN: 978-0-8234-3386-5

 

Giveaway: Maze Runner: The Scorch Trials (US Only)
Author Trisha Leigh's TOP 5 OTPs

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."