The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: The Subject's Aim (P.R. Castle)

35200325
About This Book: Escaping captivity doesn't make you free Subject B and her sister, Subject A, have spent their entire lives inside a secret lab, the victims of cruel experiments by the Professor. Subject A is given the power to read minds and Subject B the ability to melt into liquid...
Continue reading
  244 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Straight On Till Morning (Liz Braswell) ~ (US Only)

43982864
Straight On Till Morning (US Only) by: Liz Braswell Release Date: February 4th, 2020 Publisher: Disney Books   About the Book: What if Wendy first traveled to Neverland… with Captain Hook? Sixteen-year-old Wendy Darling's life is not what she imagined it would be. The doldrums of an empty house after her...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Brittany Colpitts
I absolutely love Peter Pan , so I can't wait to read this
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:58
Victoria Scott
I love reading new takes on classic stories! Thank you for sharing!
Sunday, 16 February 2020 20:12
Lily M.
I just love retellings... Read More
Tuesday, 18 February 2020 03:16
  611 Hits
  11 Comments

Author Chat with Lani Forbes (The Seventh Sun), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

48088682



  Today we're excited to chat with Lani Forbes author of The Seventh Sun. Read on for more about Lani and her book, plus an giveaway.         Meet Lani Forbes!       DJANGO WEXLER graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kristy
This is supposed to be about Lani Forbes, but you have a biography for Django Wexler.
Wednesday, 12 February 2020 11:24
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover!! Again, believe that you may have the wrong info on the author
Sunday, 16 February 2020 09:17
Brittany Colpitts
You have the wrong bio in the article!
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:57
  518 Hits
  10 Comments

Featured Review: Ink In The Blood (Kim Smejkal)

43261156
About This Book: A lush, dark YA fantasy debut that weaves together tattoo magic, faith, and eccentric theater in a world where lies are currency and ink is a weapon, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake. Celia Sand and her best friend, Anya Burtoni, are inklings for the...
Continue reading
  234 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Selected (Barb Han), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

50403551._SY475_


50403551._SY475_
Today we're excited to spotlight Selected  by Barb Han.  Read on for more about Barb and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Barb Han!        Barb Han is a USA TODAY, Publisher's Weekly, and Amazon Bestselling Author. Reviewers have called her books "heartfelt" and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Brittany Colpitts
Gosh this is GORGEOUS. Absolutely on my list now.
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:56
Lauren
What a stunning cover! Very interested in learning more about New Maine and this prep school.
Wednesday, 19 February 2020 11:03
Debra Branigan
The cover is outstanding. I am very interested in this book which sounds fanatastic. Thanks for sharing, Best wishes to the author... Read More
Sunday, 23 February 2020 18:06
  536 Hits
  6 Comments

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Paris on Repeat by Amy Bearce + Giveaway (US Only)

YABC-cover-reveal-blue

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Paris on Repeat by Amy Bearce, releasing 7/14/2020! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC!  I’m thrilled to be here today to reveal my cover.  My name is Amy Bearce, and my upcoming book is...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Brittany Colpitts
I'm a sucker for blue covers
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:55
Debra Branigan
Nice cover! I love the storyline and believe it will be a lot of fun to read. Thank you for sharing and best wishes to the author ... Read More
Sunday, 23 February 2020 18:00
Alex Colpitts
Sweet cover! Love the synopsis
Thursday, 27 February 2020 18:40
  862 Hits
  5 Comments

Featured Review: Freaky in Fresno (Laurie Boyle Crompton)

46390547
About This Book: Ricki has one goal: save the Starlight Drive-in movie theater from going dark forever. Okay, make that two goals … she may also want a first kiss from her cinema-rescuing partner and major crush, Jake. Lana definitely has only one goal: grow her online makeup channel to keep...
Continue reading
  363 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Wardens Of Eternity (Courtney Allison Moulton), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4444190_20200209-214842_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Wardens Of Eternity  by Courtney Allison Moulton.  Read on for more about Courtney and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Courtney Allison Moulton!       Courtney Moulton is the author of WARDENS OF ETERNITY (January 21, 2020; HarperCollins/Blink), as well...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Lauren
The cover immediately makes the think of Egypt, but I was really intriguied when I saw that Nazi Germany was going to be involved ... Read More
Tuesday, 11 February 2020 09:15
Brittany Colpitts
Super interesting concept. I love that the cover doesn't give too much away
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:53
Linda Leonard
Awesome blades and Egyptian elements aways make for a good adventure.
Friday, 21 February 2020 12:29
  481 Hits
  7 Comments

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2020 Plus GIVEAWAY!! ~ (US Only)

BuzzWorthy-Books







47869933
48376031











40950392
43261156
42649708
46283265

47590411
Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!       From the creator of the hit TV series  The Bold Type  comes an empowering and heartfelt novel about a future female president's senior year of high...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
Girl, Serpent, Thorn!!!
Monday, 10 February 2020 16:08
Colleen Burns
Cracked Up To Be
Monday, 10 February 2020 16:41
Dianna G.
I want to read Malice, Don't Read The Comments, and Every Other Weekend. Another book I'd like to see on this list -- What I Wan... Read More
Monday, 10 February 2020 20:20
  1177 Hits
  18 Comments

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Evelyn Skye (Cloak Of Night), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

unnamed-1


Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Evelyn Skye , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover!
Monday, 10 February 2020 16:05
Brittany Colpitts
This one was already on my upcoming anticipated releases list ... Read More
Sunday, 16 February 2020 10:53
Lily M.
Can't wait for this sequel, excited!!!
Tuesday, 18 February 2020 03:46
  648 Hits
  10 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...

Latest Member Reviews

When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
"An imaginative story with a unique world. The Story: Sable is a witch who harbors..."
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
"ELYSIUM GIRLS is an engaging YA historical fantasy/dystopian. In the 1930s, an area of Oklahoma suddenly got cut off from..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"apologize if this is a long review but I have a lot to say. Going into this book, I went..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
"I LOVE YOU, DADDY is a sweet book for fathers to share with their young readers. Featuring springy pastels, Peter..."
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
"MORNING, SUNSHINE! is an informative journey through nature and poetry. Each spread features a haiku on the left page and..."
I, Cosmo
 
4.0
"Cosmo is the "big brother" of Max and his young sister Emmaline, and is now 13 years old. He still..."
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation (Charlie Thorne #1)
 
5.0
"Charlie is a twelve year old intellectual prodigy who has uncaring, manipulative parents whom she has escaped by enrolling in..."
Golden Arm
 
5.0
"Lazarus Weathers lives in the Jet City trailer park in Seattle with his mother and half brother, Antonio. He has..."
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
"EMBER QUEEN is a great conclusion to the Ash Princess trilogy. Picking up right where book 2 left off, Theo..."
Otter: What Pet Is Best?
 
5.0
"'Otter: What Pet Is Best?' by Sam Garton introduces Otter to a variety of pets that he might want, but..."
I Want to Be a Pilot
 
5.0
"'I Want to Be a Pilot' by Laura Driscoll, pictures by Catalina Echeverri, takes readers on a journey through an..."
All Aboard! The Airport Train
 
4.5
"'All Aboard! The Airport Train' by Nichole Mara, illustrated by Andrew Kolb, is a neat, lift-the-flap book that turns into..."
Kissing Lessons
 
5.0
"'Kissing Lessons' by Sophie Jordan is a well-written, entertaining story about a variety of main characters, including Hayden Vargas, Nolan..."