The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Kneel (Candace Buford)

51-gCVyDcL._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through the story of a promising Black football star in Louisiana. The system is rigged. For guys like Russell Boudreaux, football is the only way out of their small town. As the team’s varsity tight end, Rus has a...
Continue reading
  262 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: FIVER FINDS HOME (Jill Bugbee)

41kz5L2HIiL._SX385_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Meet the world's first blue dwarf giraffe! With five purple spots and half the normal size, Fiver struggles to belong. His journey leads him across the vast savanna plains of Africa to the quaint city of Savannah, Georgia. Along the way, Fiver encounters many exciting adventures, signs and...
Continue reading
  222 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Tragedy of Dane Riley (Kat Spears)

51UpVHG5EcS._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his new family, and the girl next door in this emotional young adult novel from critically-acclaimed author Kat Spears Dane Riley’s grasp on reality is slipping, and he’s not sure that he cares. While his mother has moved on...
Continue reading
  194 Hits
  0 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday ~ June 23, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Olivia’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    Gearbreakers Author:  Zoe Hana Mikuta Expected publication:  June 29, 2021 Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover...
Continue reading
  168 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Tara St. Pierre (Some Kind of Wonderland), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Some-Kind-of-Wonderlan_20210623-054439_1


  Today we're excited to chat with Tara St. Pierre author of Some Kind Of Wonderland.  Read on for more about Tara, her book, plus an giveaway!        Meet  Tara St. Pierre ! Tara St. Pierre has been writing for over two decades, but her muse only sporadically provides...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Andrea Cerda
like the cover and i love wonderlands retelling!
Wednesday, 30 June 2021 15:03
Jeana Kwiecinski
What a gorgeous cover! Can't wait to read this retelling of one of my favorite stories!
Thursday, 01 July 2021 15:17
Emily
This sounds so cute!
Saturday, 10 July 2021 16:01
  798 Hits
  5 Comments

Featured Review: The Cruelest Mercy (Natalie Mae)

41n1TVTqLJL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While Crown Prince Jet navigates the looming threat of war, she's content to simply figure out what the future holds for them. But they're dealt a devastating blow when prince Kasta returns with a shocking claim: he's the true...
Continue reading
  217 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Witchshadow (Susan Dennard), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Witchshado_20210621-202612_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Witchshadow  by Susan Dennard.  Read on for more about Susan and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!          Meet Susan Dennard !   SUSAN DENNARD is the author of the  New York Times  bestselling Witchlands series as well as the Something Strange...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Amanda
So happy to see Iseult on the cover!
Sunday, 27 June 2021 17:54
Andrea Cerda
like the cover and the book looks interesting!
Wednesday, 30 June 2021 15:04
Emily
This cover is so pretty!
Saturday, 10 July 2021 15:55
  412 Hits
  4 Comments

Spotlight on The Tragedy Of Dane Riley (Kat Spears), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5486041_20210622-062017_1



Today we're excited to spotlight The Tragedy of Dane Riley  by Kat Spears.  Read on for more about Kat and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kat Spears ! KAT SPEARS has worked as a bartender, museum director, housekeeper, park ranger, business manager, and painter (not...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Blesseth Jackson
The cover of this book is amazing and it sounds really good!
Monday, 12 July 2021 16:40
Danielle Hammelef
I love this cover and the book sounds amazing.
Wednesday, 14 July 2021 15:25
Davianna Nieto
The cover looks amazing and the synopsis was fantastic!
Saturday, 17 July 2021 14:55
  343 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: Heartbreakers and Fakers (Cameron Lund)

516txgFOpL._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the author of The Best Laid Plans comes another fresh voiced, hilarious rom-com perfect for fans of You Have a Match and The Rest of the Story. Penny Harris just ruined her life. As one of the most popular girls in school, she's used to being invited...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Andrea Cerda
The story sound really interesting, and i like the cover too!
Tuesday, 22 June 2021 04:30
  231 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Cameron Lund (Heartbreakers and Fakers), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5533651_20210621-062009_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Cameron Lund author of Heartbreakers and Fakers.  Read on for more about Cameron, her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Cameron Lund ! Cameron Lund is a young adult author, singer/songwriter, and pizza enthusiast. Originally from the middle of the New...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Andrea Cerda
Book looks really interesting, and i like the cover too!
Tuesday, 22 June 2021 04:31
Delaney
This book is totally my kind of book and the cover is so fun!
Monday, 28 June 2021 12:08
Tiffany Engler
Love this summery cover! Sounds like a fun book
Monday, 12 July 2021 07:36
  385 Hits
  4 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...
Bird Boy
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take flight in this heartwarming story about a boy who...
Love You By Heart
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Acclaimed creator of The Word Collector, Happy Dreamer, Say Something,...
Fa-La-La Llama (Touch-and-Feel Board Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Get ready to deck the halls with these joyful, singing,...
The Oddmire, Book 3: Deepest, Darkest
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The third adventure in the beloved fantasy series full of...
The Oddmire, Book 2: The Unready Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Human-raised brothers Tinn and Cole join forces with Fable, daughter...
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is fading from the Wild Wood. To renew it,...
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
To All the Boys I've Loved Before meets Morgan Matson...
The Last Gate of the Emperor
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Kwame Mbalia and Prince Joel David Makonnen comes an...
Traitors Among Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
World War II may be over. But two sisters are...

Latest Member Reviews

Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."
Made in Korea
 
3.7
"MADE IN KOREA by Sarah Suk is a YA Contemporary that follows Valerie, a young entrepreneur, who’s obsessed with the..."
Mary, Will I Die?
 
3.0
"It started off as a prank among friends five years ago. All they had to do was say Bloody Mary..."
Bee a Good Human: A Pollinators' Guide to a Better Life
 
4.0
"Bee a Good Human: A Pollinator’s Guide to a Better Life is a compilation of artwork from Ali Beckman, or..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
"In her introduction to this book, Ms. Baptiste mentions that every February, for Black History Month, her children would bring..."
Kyle's Little Sister
 
4.0
"Grace is just entering 6th grade, and will be rejoining her older brother Kyle at school, where he is a..."
Willa of Dark Hollow (Willa of the Wood, 2)
 
4.5
"What I Loved: In the first book, I left wanting to see Willa interact more in nature. In this..."
Small Favors
 
4.0
"Amity Falls is a small, quiet, religious town surrounded by forests. Ellerie Downing lives there with her sisters, brother, and..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
4.0
"Rosie Singer knows something is wrong with her mom. She doesn’t comfort her or look at her the way her..."
The Oddmire, Book 1: Changeling
 
5.0
"What I Loved: The Oddmire, Book 1 Changeling delivered a lot of heart and humor in this first installment...."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
"Beginning with a quote from Martin Luther King, Jr. about love, COUNT TO LOVE! is a cute poem that encourages..."
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
"THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER is an adventure-filled graphic novel about Johnny (Kid) Constantine. We start by meeting Kid..."