The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza - Day 1

12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza - Day 1









Welcome to YABC's first annual 12 Days of Christmas Giveaway Extravaganza! We're featuring some of the hottest titles of the year--perfect for the book lover on your holiday list!--with exciting prize packs every day for the first twelve days of December. Each giveaway will run for seven days. Giveaways are US...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Renee Rousseau
Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella is my favorite if I have to choose!
Tuesday, 01 December 2015 14:24
Candice Zablan
I'm most excited to read Illuminae. It seems so interesting and I love science fiction!
Tuesday, 01 December 2015 14:30
Michelle Ross
I'm most excited to read All the Bright Places!
Tuesday, 01 December 2015 16:28
  8263 Hits
  38 Comments

Author Guest Post with Cornelia Funke

Author Guest Post with Cornelia Funke
b2ap3_thumbnail_the-golden-yarn.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_cornelia-funke.jpg
  When I wrote my first book about MirrorWorld I thought it would be one journey. I should have known better! I thought the same about Inkworld – to find myself still writing that story six years later. To realize that these two worlds are indeed the same, just 500 years...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Sarah Romer
The folklore that inspired book three originated in Russian and Ukrainian tales with stories of Baba Yaga.
Sunday, 06 December 2015 19:04
Sky
The folklore was based off of Baba Yaga!
Sunday, 06 December 2015 23:57
Megan Elaine Schuyler
Russian
Saturday, 12 December 2015 16:57
  6296 Hits
  12 Comments

What's New in YA--December 1, 2015

What's New in YA--December 1, 2015
b2ap3_thumbnail_the-golden-yarn.jpg
    Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!      For fans of Simone Elkeles and Courtney Summers, this haunting debut novel is about two teenagers battling their inner demons as they fall in love for the first time. When Marion Taylor, the...
Continue reading
  5797 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Guest Post with J.R. Stewart

Author Guest Post with J.R. Stewart
page1image21968
page1image22128
page1image22288
b2ap3_thumbnail_nirvana.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_jr-stewart.jpg
    Hello YABCers! It’s a pleasure to “meet” you.   Last week, my publisher sent me an email inquiring if I would write a guest post for YA Books Central and promote my new YA/dystopian book, Nirvana .   One problem: I hate promoting stuff so I’m going to get...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kara S
This book sounds really clever, and this post by the author was totally charming. I'd read it regardless, but the cover is indeed... Read More
Friday, 11 December 2015 15:07
yara
it looks green!
Saturday, 19 December 2015 14:58
Linda Romer
Green ♡ what an amazing cover! Thank you
Sunday, 20 December 2015 08:02
  6587 Hits
  17 Comments

Author Chat with Lauren Morrill

Author Chat with Lauren Morrill
b2ap3_thumbnail_lauren-morrill.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_the-trouble-with-destiny.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_joanne_20151130-165434_1.jpg
Contributed by Joanne Mumley       Greetings, YABC! Today we are pleased to welcome Lauren Morrill, author of The Trouble With Destiny . Lauren was kind enough to answer a few questions about her book!         Meet Lauren.       Lauren Morrill is the author of...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Lizet huerta
An elle king song would be my choice
Thursday, 10 December 2015 19:06
shelby
karaoke go to: early 2000's pop!
Wednesday, 23 December 2015 17:17
Stacy
I like late 90's/early 2000's pop, like NSync and Britney Spears.
Sunday, 27 December 2015 16:35
  6383 Hits
  16 Comments

What's New in YA--November 24, 2015

What's New in YA--November 24, 2015
  Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!        Like any other Saturday night, Gabby Perez and her best friend, Maria, are out dancing. But this isn’t just another night. When a mysterious stranger warns Gabby their drinks have been drugged, she...
Continue reading
  2660 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer

Author Guest Post with Brigid Kemmerer
b2ap3_thumbnail_brigid-k-author.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_thicker-than-water.jpg
  Contributed by Brigid Kemmerer    I’m going to come right out and say it: I love people. I really do. I love meeting people, talking to people, learning about people. I love families. Kids. Grown­ups. Single people, married people, red people, blue people—wait. I’m turning into Dr. Seuss. You know...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Susan T.
Anne Marie Lassiter
Sunday, 29 November 2015 14:55
Sarah
Anne Marie Lassiter
Tuesday, 08 December 2015 16:02
Linda Romer
Anne Marie Lassiter ♡ Thank you
Friday, 18 December 2015 08:36
  6923 Hits
  10 Comments

THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 - Drive Through Movie Review

THE HUNGER GAMES: MOCKINGJAY PART 2 - Drive Through Movie Review

******NO SPOILERS********* Can you believe that it all comes to an end this weekend? We at the YABC offices are feeling all sorts of emotions over this one.  The Nerd Riders got to see a sneak peek and are here to give you their review.  Who is your favorite HUNGER GAMES...
Continue reading
  2285 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Author Chat with Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
b2ap3_thumbnail_illuminae-authors.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_illuminae-image.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_illuminae-cover.jpg
  Contributed by Angela Blount    Greetings, YABC! Today we are pleased to welcome Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, authors of Illuminae (The Illuminae Files_01) . Their book presents a unique YA science fiction experience through an eclectic collection of literary mediums. Amie and Jay were kind enough to answer a few...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Adria Cioabla
I adore the look of this book and everything about it looks beautiful . Plus the story seems kick ass. What is worse than ... Read More
Friday, 04 December 2015 14:05
  7349 Hits
  3 Comments

Love Letters to Literature #4

Love Letters to Literature #4
b2ap3_thumbnail_roald-dahl-quote.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_elizabeth-drake_20151117-155523_1.jpg

  Contributed by Elizabeth Drake      Dear Roald Dahl, I grew up in a time before computers, before ebooks, and before Amazon delivery. The nearest bookstore was a four hour drive away.  I didn’t have much money and I didn’t have many friends.  What I did have was a tiny school library...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Beverly
What a beautiful tribute to Roald Dahl. Well deserved.
Wednesday, 18 November 2015 11:56
  2067 Hits
  1 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."