The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Thorn by Intisar Khanani + Giveaway (US/Intl)

Thorn_cover-snap-final-header



Hi, YABCers! Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Thorn by Intisar Khanani, releasing March 24, 2020 from Harper Teen! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC! I am so excited to share Thorn's  new cover with you! Thorn, and its cover,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Candice Gigous
The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.... Read More
Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:58
Dan Denman
I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.
Friday, 02 August 2019 10:11
Madeline Tebo
The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!
Friday, 02 August 2019 10:48
  668 Hits
  7 Comments

Author Chat with Chad Alan Gibbs (Two Like Me and You), Plus Giveaway!

4413245_20190708-154354_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Chad Alan Gibbs author of Two Like Me and You.  Read on for more about Chad and his book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Chad Alan Gibbs ! Chad Alan Gibbs lives in Auburn, Alabama with his wife, two sons, two...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Dan Denman
I like the arrangement on the book cover. This sounds like a fun story with two good storylines going on.
Friday, 02 August 2019 10:17
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is cute and fun. This sounds hilarious and charming.
Saturday, 03 August 2019 18:06
Debra Branigan
The cover is sweet and this sounds like a delightful read. Best wishes on your novel.
Monday, 05 August 2019 18:50
  455 Hits
  4 Comments

Author Of The Week: Chat with Rory Power (Wilder Girls), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!       Introducing Rory Power , YABC's Author of the Week!!...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read this book!
Tuesday, 09 July 2019 09:10
vanessa
I really love this cover! I'm excited to read this book.
Tuesday, 09 July 2019 16:29
Candice Gigous
The cover is eye-catching. The synopsis is captivating. Sounds like a thrilling read!
Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:54
  733 Hits
  6 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ July 8th, 2019

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads






Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  315 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Girl Gone Viral (Arvin Ahmadi)

41485133
About This Book: For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire worlds from scratch: Mars craters, shimmering lakes, any virtual experience her heart desires. But she can't code her dad back into her life. When he disappeared after her tenth birthday, leaving only a cryptic note, Opal tried desperately...
Continue reading
  423 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: This Time Will Be Different (Misa Sugiura)

36220348._SX318_
About This Book: Katsuyamas never quit—but seventeen-year-old CJ doesn’t even know where to start. She’s never lived up to her mom’s type A ambition, and she’s perfectly happy just helping her aunt, Hannah, at their family’s flower shop. She doesn’t buy into Hannah’s romantic ideas about flowers and their hidden meanings,...
Continue reading
  386 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Shock Of Fate (D.L. Armillei)

44088699._SY475_
About This Book: One ordinary teenager. One extraordinary mission. And a destiny she never expected. Like every other teenager on Providence Island, fifteen-year-old Vanessa Cross is so ready to party her summer away—until her father disappears. And rumors fly that he’s a traitor. Plucked from her ordinary life to journey to...
Continue reading
  407 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Shadow Realms (Kelly Carrero)

43368889._SY475_
About This Book: In order to defeat a monster, one must become a monster. Vampires live amongst us, feeding off the innocent and succumbing to the demons controlling their desires. I tried to pretend they didn’t exist—until the government kidnapped my fifteen-year-old turd of a little brother because he holds the...
Continue reading
  478 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Erin Bowman (Immunity), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway!

33282104._SY475_



  Today we're excited to chat with Erin Bowman author of Immunity.  Read on for more about Erin and her book, plus an excerpt and an giveaway!          Meet Erin Bowman ! Erin Bowman used to tell stories visually as a web designer. Now a full-time writer, she...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Dianna G.
This series sounds so good! It's on my wishlist. Love that mysterious cover.
Monday, 08 July 2019 10:37
Candice Gigous
The cover is very cool. The synopsis makes me want to read more. This duology is going on my to-read list.
Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:55
  737 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting On Wednesday ~ July 3rd, 2019

unnamed




Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at   Breaking the Spine   and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.                 *Lillian's Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)   Sword and Pen (Rachel Caine)     Author: Rachael Caine Expected...
Continue reading
  389 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."