The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Shine Your Icy Crown (Amanda Lovelace)

21WmOOfgSxL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: “make them rue the day they underestimated you.” amanda lovelace, the bestselling & award-winning author of the “women are some kind of magic” poetry series, presents shine your icy crown, the second installment in her new feminist poetry series, “you are your own fairy tale.” this is a...
Continue reading
  195 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Kathryn Purdie (Bone Crier's Dawn), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210308-161920_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Kathryn Purdie , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Katelyn Burns
I love the cover! All the details are amazing. I'm super excited to read this duology. The synopsis is so good!
Wednesday, 31 March 2021 13:05
Tiffany Engler
Can't wait to read these!!
Friday, 09 April 2021 06:48
Simone
The first book felt way so short, I'm glad this story to gets wrapped up in such a satisfying way.
Monday, 12 April 2021 20:08
  466 Hits
  9 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ March 29, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  158 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Alcazar (Amy Ewing)

41ulDlkEy4L._SX330_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing comes the second book in an epic fantasy duology that School Library Journal called “rich and complex.” Perfect for fans of Snow Like Ashes, These Broken Stars, and Magonia! Sera has finally recognized the true power of her Cerulean blood....
Continue reading
  274 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Valley and the Flood (Rebecca Mahoney)

51skdZi1dzL
About This Book: Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back there yet. When her car breaks down in the Nevada desert, the silence of the night is broken by a radio broadcast of a voicemail message from her best friend, Gaby. A message Rose has listened to countless...
Continue reading
  262 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: With Shield and Ink and Bone (Casey L. Bond)

51nd3I47dL
About This Book: The sharpest blades are forged in fury. A hard-earned shield. Days before she is to take her place as a shield maiden, like her mother before her, two deaths alter the course of Liv’s future. One belonged to a witch who called her by name, the other a...
Continue reading
  231 Hits
  0 Comment

Five Tough Tactics for Protesting at School + Win A Copy of Kids On The March: 15 Stories of Speaking Out, Protesting, and Fighting for Justice (Michael Long) ~ (US Only)

KidsONMarch_FinalComp_rgb_H_20210325-205647_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Kids On The March: 15 Stories of Speaking Out, Protesting, and Fighting for Justice   by Michael Long.  Read on for more about Michael and his book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Michael Long ! Michael G. Long  is the author...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Chiara Jucha
Looks like an amazing nonfiction book!
Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:30
Simone
This would be great in my classroom, non-fiction is hard to get them to read but this book looks really fun!
Monday, 12 April 2021 20:07
Danielle Hammelef
The cover matches this important nonfiction book.
Saturday, 17 April 2021 15:38
  452 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: Covet (Tracy Wolff)

41oSv1cZ1gL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: I may have reached my breaking point. As if trying to graduate from a school for supernaturals isn’t stressful enough, my relationship status has gone from complicated to a straight-up dumpster fire. Oh, and the Bloodletter has decided to drop a bomb of epic proportions on us all......
Continue reading
  276 Hits
  0 Comment

Five Books With Magic Users That Will Charm You + Win a Copy of Blood Like Magic (Liselle Sambury) ~ (US Only)

5230577_20210324-213746_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Blood Like Magic  by Liselle Sambury  Read on for more about Liselle and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Liselle Sambury ! Liselle Sambury is a Toronto-based Trinidadian Canadian author. Her brand of writing can be described as “messy Black...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Abigail Lowry
These are some of my favorite books! Can’t wait to read Blood Like Magic!
Friday, 26 March 2021 11:26
Chiara Jucha
Stunning cover art! Looks intriguing !
Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:32
Keia
This cover is gorgeous. I can't wait to read this.
Saturday, 03 April 2021 16:38
  662 Hits
  6 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ March 24, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Promotions Manager)    The Wild Ones Author:  Nafiza Azad Expected publication:  August 3, 2021 From William C. Morris Finalist Nafiza Azad comes...
Continue reading
  219 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Jackaby
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Newly arrived in New Fiddleham, New England, 1892, and in...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And not...
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Riley Oh can't wait to see her sister get initiated...
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Bite-sized facts about forests from around the globe, pointing out...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to the...
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
4.5 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...

Latest Member Reviews

No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
Jackaby
 
4.7
"This book was a pleasant surprise. Jackaby by William Ritter is the first in the series by the same name...."
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
"GUTTER GIRL is a unique YA contemporary romance that follows two main characters, Jace and McKenna. McKenna is an outcast..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
Go the Distance
 
4.0
"Go the Distance by Jen Calonita is the latest installment in Disney’s Twisted Tale series. This time the story focuses..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact ogagaspellcastertemple@gmail.com or WhatsApp +2347059387282 for Urgent effective love..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
Unchosen
 
4.7
"UNCHOSEN by Katharyn Blair is a YA Dystopian novel set in the future after the Crimson, a virus-like curse, turns..."
Take Me Home: Forests of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: FORESTS OF THE WORLD is an approachable nonfiction book that teaches about different kinds of forests, from..."
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
"HURRICANE SUMMER is a sweeping coming-of-age story that captures the difficult and at times dangerous transition to womanhood. Tilla is..."
All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. While..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."