The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON - Drive Through Movie Review

AVENGERS: AGE OF ULTRON - Drive Through Movie Review

********** NO SPOILERS**********   The Nerd Riders are at it again! This time they give you their review of one of the biggest comic book films in Hollywood history.  Which Avenger would you want to be?
  2770 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New in YA

What's New in YA
  Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       Readers of I Am Number Four, The Maze Runner, and Legend will love this sophisticated adventure series by the cocreator of the groundbreaking television show Twin Peaks, with its unique combination of mystery,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Emily Savant, Staff Reviewer
Trouble From the Start by Rachel Hawthorne comes out today! A cute YA novel reminiscent of the Simone Elkeles' Perfect Chemistry s... Read More
Tuesday, 28 April 2015 14:45
Kayla King, Staff Reviewer
Thank you, Emily! I just added it to the list!
Tuesday, 28 April 2015 17:26
  4476 Hits
  4 Comments

April 2015 Book Haul!

April 2015 Book Haul!

Hey YABCers!  Our office was innundated with fabulous kidlit, middle grade, and YA books this month! (Including an audio book and a graphic novel.) Check out our book haul below and tell us which books look the most interesting to you!   
Tags:
Recent comment in this post
ryan Bartlett
Last Year's Mistake and Eden West both look amazing. They are on my must read lists.
Tuesday, 21 April 2015 19:30
  3439 Hits
  1 Comment

What's New in YA

What's New in YA
  Are you wondering what's new in YA today? Check out these wonderful new releases!       From the acclaimed author of How to Love comes another stunning contemporary novel, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen.   Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart...
Continue reading
  4243 Hits
  0 Comment

MTV Movie Awards Recap

MTV Movie Awards Recap








Last night was a big night for YA book-to-movie adaptations at the MTV Movie Awards! Check out how many categories we won: MOVIE OF THE YEAR:    BEST KISS:   BREAKTHROUGH PERFORMANCE: Dylan O'Brien The Maze Runner BEST FEMALE PERFORMANCE:   BEST HERO: Dylan O'Brien The Maze Runner   BEST ON-SCREEN...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Emily Savant, Staff Reviewer
So last night was the first night in forever that I didn't watch the Movie Awards, AND OF COURSE it would be the night that Dylan ... Read More
Monday, 13 April 2015 13:14
  2621 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Top 5 with Fonda Lee

Author Top 5 with Fonda Lee












Today we welcome Fonda Lee to YABC!  Fonda’s newly released book ZEROBOXER (Flux/Llewellyn) is high-action science fiction novel that releases this week. Since all authors want their books to find the right readers, Fonda has compiled this handy quiz to help you determine if you are the sort of person who...
Continue reading
  9447 Hits
  0 Comment

Diversify Your Shelves With WNDB!

Diversify Your Shelves With WNDB!
b2ap3_thumbnail_pointe.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_theo-huxtable.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_promise-of-shadows-justina-ireland.jpg

b2ap3_thumbnail_charm-and-strange.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_0123.jpg
b2ap3_thumbnail_maurene-goo.jpg
Columnist: Maurene Goo   It’s very exciting to write the debut post for this new series of diversity recs for YABC! As a member of We Need Diverse Books and as a YA author who started this entire journey because I wanted to see books that reflected something close to my...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager
I need ALL of these books!
Monday, 06 April 2015 11:21
  9136 Hits
  1 Comment

YABC Book Haul - March 2015

YABC Book Haul - March 2015

We are super excited! The March 2015 YABC Book Haul is here! Over 100 books of pure awesomeness.  This month, Clint from the Nerd Riders is hosting along with his special guest, Loki. What are your favorite titles in this month's YABC Book Haul? Let us know in the comments below.
Recent comment in this post
Mark Luetkemeyer
May I register?
Monday, 23 March 2015 01:41
  4579 Hits
  1 Comment

INSURGENT - Drive Through Movie Review

INSURGENT - Drive Through Movie Review

*****NO SPOILERS***** Yay! It's another #YAMovieDay and this one is HUGE! YA lovers all over the world have been eagerly awaiting the big screen arrival of INSURGENT. Does it live up to the hype? Here's what the Nerd Riders think.  QUESTION: You are Divergent, but only in two Factions. What two...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
CJ Redwine, Site and Staff Manager
I would choose the faction that had BEEF.
Friday, 20 March 2015 12:51
Clint Redwine
You'll need to stand in line for 20 minutes.
Friday, 20 March 2015 14:00
  4371 Hits
  2 Comments

An Ember in the Ashes - Character Trailer and Giveaway!

An Ember in the Ashes - Character Trailer and Giveaway!

On April 28th, AN EMBER IN THE ASHES will hit the shelves of your local bookstore. The staff at YABC are super excited about this story! Here's a peek at the synopsis:   I WILL TELL YOU THE SAME THING I TELL EVERY SLAVE.   THE RESISTANCE HAS TRIED TO PENETRATE...
Continue reading
  11728 Hits
  2 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...

Latest Member Reviews

Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."