The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Author Chat with Stephanie Elliot, Plus Giveaway!

Author Chat with Stephanie Elliot, Plus Giveaway!



Today we're excited to chat with Stephanie Elliot ,  author of Sad Perfect !  Below  you'll find  more about Stephanie ,  her  book, plus a giveaway !   YABC: What gave you the inspiration to write this book? STEPHANIE ELLIOT: I was inspired to write Sad Perfect after my daughter was...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Amanda Smith
Sounds like a great read!
Friday, 03 February 2017 11:58
Tiffany Engler
Looks like a great book!
Friday, 03 February 2017 15:53
Donia Eskander
This sounds like such a good contemporary book! I want to read this so much and the cover is so pretty.
Friday, 03 February 2017 18:29
  3332 Hits
  11 Comments

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Among the Red Stars by Gwen C. Katz + Giveaway (Intl)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Among the Red Stars by Gwen C. Katz + Giveaway (Intl)


Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for AMONG THE RED STARS by Gwen C. Katz, releasing October 3, 2017 from Harper Teen . Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Gwen: I've always loved hand-drawn illustrated covers, but they're extremely uncommon in YA,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Linda Romer
Among the red stars sounds like a great story. I love the graphic cover. Thank you
Friday, 03 February 2017 18:10
John
The cover is very simple and direct, and I very much enjoyed the synopsis!
Sunday, 05 February 2017 18:33
Irma Jurejevčič
I love the cover. I feel some women power here. I'm very interested in this story.
Tuesday, 07 February 2017 10:33
  4550 Hits
  10 Comments

What's Hot In Kindle Unlimited

What's Hot In Kindle Unlimited
1 Wind Catcher
2 Dragon Kings
3 Born of Water
Emerge3
4 Princess Bride
5 Beyond
7 Threat
8 Configured
9 Beauty
10 Sowing
Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library. Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimi/ted reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we thought...
Continue reading
  6308 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Silver Stars by Michael Grant

Featured Review: Silver Stars by Michael Grant
About this book: For fans of Girl in the Blue Coat, Salt to the Sea, and The Boy at the Top of the Mountain, the second book of New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant’s epic alternate history is a coming-of-age story about three girls who are fiercely fighting their own...
Continue reading
  2556 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett + Giveaway (Intl)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Even the Darkest Stars by Heather Fawcett + Giveaway (Intl)


Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for EVEN THE DARKEST STARS by Heather Fawcett, releasing September 5, 2017 from Balzer+Bray . Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Heather: Hi everyone! I’m happy to be able to share the cover for EVEN THE...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Stephanie Plotkin
The cover is gorgeous!! And the blurb sounds like something right up my alley!! Would love to win this, so thank you sooo sooo muc... Read More
Friday, 03 February 2017 18:30
Erica Chan
You had me at Himalyan fantasy! Great colors for the cover!
Sunday, 05 February 2017 13:30
John
The cover is very simple and direct, and I very much enjoyed the synopsis!
Sunday, 05 February 2017 18:33
  4776 Hits
  15 Comments

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Memory Trees by Kali Wallace + Giveaway (US/Canada)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Memory Trees by Kali Wallace + Giveaway (US/Canada)


Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MEMORY TREES by Kali Wallace, releasing October 10, 2017 from Katherine Tegen Books . Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Kali: Hello, YABC readers! I am so happy to have a chance to share...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
John
The cover is very simple and direct, and I very much enjoyed the synopsis!
Sunday, 05 February 2017 18:33
Anne
Not a fan of the cover but I love the synopsis. Seems like a good book to read!
Monday, 06 February 2017 18:04
Caity Dooley
The cover is nice but could be better and the synopsis is intriguing
Tuesday, 07 February 2017 12:39
  4205 Hits
  14 Comments

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Spotlight, & Giveaway: Frostblood (Elly Blake)

Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Spotlight, & Giveaway: Frostblood (Elly Blake)




    FROSTBLOOD Author:  Elly Blake Pub. Date:  January 10, 2017 Publisher:  Little, Brown Books for Young Readers Pages:  384 Formats:  Hardcover, paperback, eBook, audiobook   Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Tiffany Engler
I'm so excited for this!
Thursday, 02 February 2017 17:38
  2564 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: A Bitter Pill to Swallow by Tiffany Gholar

Featured Review: A Bitter Pill to Swallow by Tiffany Gholar
About this book: On the edge of the Chicago medical district, the Harrison School for Exceptional Youth looks like a castle in a snow globe. Janina has been there since she was ten years old, and now she's fourteen. She feels so safe inside its walls that she's afraid to leave....
Continue reading
  1899 Hits
  0 Comment

Black History Month Reading Guide

Black History Month Reading Guide



Today is the first day of Black History Month, and we've compiled some of our favorite books to help you celebrate all month long!      Read reviews for:  Two Friends and Honey, I Love . And learn more about the poetry of  Maya Angelou   and  Langston Hughes .  ...
Continue reading
  2243 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Scavenger Hunt

YABC Scavenger Hunt
Here at YABC, we are excited to announce our Scavenger Hunt, which will begin this Sunday, February 5th, at NOON EST and will close Sunday, February 19th, at NOON EST.     You might be wondering what this entails, and we're here to give you all of the rules, regulations, and...
Continue reading
  3235 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Women in Sports: 50 Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Illustrated profiles of fifty pioneering female athletes, from the author...
PJ Masks Save Lunchtime!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Catboy, Owlette, and Gekko save a lunchtime birthday party in...
Lala's Words: A Story of Planting Kindness
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely...
Dangerous Play
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A fierce team of girls takes back the night in...
Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...

Latest Member Reviews

Women in Sports: 50 Fearless Athletes Who Played to Win
 
5.0
"WOMEN IN SPORTS is a fantastic and inspiring board book about female athletes. The book begins and ends with powerful..."
PJ Masks Save Lunchtime!
 
3.5
"PJ MASKS SAVE LUNCHTIME! is a cute picture book based on the TV show. Gekko, Catboy, and Owlette are excited..."
Lala's Words: A Story of Planting Kindness
 
3.0
"LALA'S WORDS is the story of a young girl who loves spending time with some plants and speaking to them...."
Dangerous Play
 
4.3
"DANGEROUS PLAY was a challenging read that confronts the problematic treatment of women and girls and the authorities that overlook..."
The Woodlander: The Arrival of Fate
 
4.0
"Leo is set to become the new Woodlander and when she learns that magical creatures exist, her entire world changes..."
Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
"IF YOU MISS ME is a beautiful picture book about loss, love, and grief. Charlie loves to dance, and she..."
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
"LEARNING ABOUT THE GARDEN WITH SLEEPING BEAUTY is an intriguing combination of fairy tale and nonfiction facts about gardens. On..."
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
"SQUIRREL DO BAD is an entertaining graphic novel about the consequences of small actions. The book begins with Wendy the..."
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
4.0
"Myrtle's small English village is like many who seem to suffer from far too many murders, especially for the late..."
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
"Anthony "Ant" Joplin is in his last year of elementary school (where his aunt is principal-- not at all awkward!),..."
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
"DISCOVERING THE UNDERGROUND WITH SNOW WHITE contains the fairy tale of Snow White along with fold open pages that detail..."
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
"After the separation of Pakistan from India, Nek Chand moved from Pakistan to India. Even though he left, he missed..."
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
"BISA'S CARNAVAL is a colorful and delightful celebration of Carnaval and family. Bisa loves Carnaval and is happy to show..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."