The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

What's New in YA--June 7, 2016

What's New in YA--June 7, 2016



























Are you wondering what's new in YA  today? Check out these wonderful  new  releases!     College freshman Liv is more than just a fangirl: The Starveil movies are her life… So, when her favorite character, Captain Matt Spartan, is killed off at the end of the last movie, Liv Just....
Continue reading
  2749 Hits
  0 Comment

June Book Haul!

June Book Haul!

The first of our summer Book Haul videos is up. We received some exciting titles this month, especially if you're a fan of YA! Check out our haul and tell us which titles you want for your TBR in the comments below:  
  1458 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Doreen by Ilana Manaster

Featured Review: Doreen by Ilana Manaster
  About this book: A modern makeover of The Picture of Dorian Gray When Doreen Gray walks in the vaulted doorway of elite Chandler Academy, she is a sad, disastrous mess of acne, frizzy hair, and low self-esteem. Heidi Whelan, social-climber turned queen bee, takes one look and knows she has...
Continue reading
  1369 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Chat with Julie Eshbaugh (Ivory and Bone), Plus Giveaway!

Author Of The Week: Chat with Julie Eshbaugh (Ivory and Bone), Plus Giveaway!
Julie Eshbaugh
Ivory and Bone Cover
Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!     Introducing Julie Eshbaugh ,  YABC's Author of the Week!!...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kathleen Pasqualini
I love the cover. It's so unique and bold. I'd ask Julie, where did you get the idea to do this take on P&P?
Friday, 10 June 2016 17:34
Kara S
I don't have any questions; my mind is focused on the gratitude for this feature and giveaway! Sincerely, Kara S
Saturday, 11 June 2016 12:52
stephanie bondlow
Do you think moving several times to diverse locations has helped with creativity? I , too, have moved around a lot growing up.... Read More
Saturday, 18 June 2016 09:07
  2971 Hits
  17 Comments

The Librarian's Corner--June 6, 2016

The Librarian's Corner--June 6, 2016







Vacation Books! This month I'm featuring some fantastic books to recommend to your students, colleagues, friends or even complete strangers! All of the books feature romance, summer, and some kind of vacation. These books make great vacation reads - get a copy from your local library (and treat it with care!),...
Continue reading
  1996 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Return of the Continuums by Jennifer Brody + Giveaway (US/Can)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Return of the Continuums by Jennifer Brody + Giveaway (US/Can)


Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for RETURN OF THE CONTINUUMS by Jennifer Brody, releasing November 1, 2016 from Turner Publishing. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jennifer:   Hi, YABC! I’m beyond THRILLED to share the brilliant cover for the second...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Michelle Grondine
OBSESSED WITH THE ROTC COVER JENN! Love the backstory and bravo to Turner Pub and artist Maddie Cothren! Even more obsessed with t... Read More
Tuesday, 07 June 2016 02:09
Susan T.
The cover is really unique and the colours remind me of antique maps. I like how all the areas/elements are represented in the cir... Read More
Thursday, 16 June 2016 13:11
Linda Romer
The continuums books sound great ♡ The cover is also fantastic. Thank you
Friday, 17 June 2016 22:05
  3635 Hits
  13 Comments

Featured Review: Wandmaker by Ed Masessa

Featured Review: Wandmaker by Ed Masessa
About this book: Magic is real -- and it runs in the family -- in this charming fantasy adventure about a boy who must balance his magical education with the demands of big-brotherhood, perfect for fans of Jenny Nimmo and Angie Sage. Henry Leach the Eighth doesn't know it yet, but...
Continue reading
  2760 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Smoke by Dan Vyleta (US Only)

Giveaway: Smoke by Dan Vyleta (US Only)

  Smoke by Dan Vyleta Release Date: May 24, 2016 Publisher: Doubleday   About the Book England. A century ago, give or take a few years.   An England where people who are wicked in thought or deed are marked by the Smoke that pours forth from their bodies, a sign...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kara S
I've been looking forward to reading this book for a while based on reviews I've read -- great cover, but I think much greater rea... Read More
Saturday, 04 June 2016 02:08
BookFanatic
The cover on this book is beautiful but the synopsis is even more eye catching to me. I love how its historical but with a fantasy... Read More
Sunday, 05 June 2016 20:59
Clarissa
The cover is very nice. The art looks perfect for this book. It sounds amazing!
Thursday, 16 June 2016 00:45
  2164 Hits
  11 Comments

Giveaway: Risuko by David Kudler (US Only)

Giveaway: Risuko by David Kudler (US Only)

Risuko: A Kunoichi Tale by David Kudler Release Date: June 15, 2016   About the Book Can one girl win a war? My name is Kano Murasaki, but most people call me Risuko. Squirrel. I am from Serenity Province, though I was not born there. My nation has been at war...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Brooke
I LOVE the cover and synopsis. This was put on my TBR the first time I heard of it. *crosses fingers*
Saturday, 04 June 2016 03:07
David Kudler
Best of luck!
Saturday, 04 June 2016 11:54
BookFanatic
I can tell if i saw this book in the store I would end up just buying it because of the cover without even reading the synopsis ye... Read More
Sunday, 05 June 2016 20:55
  3232 Hits
  9 Comments

Giveaway: The Oldest Soul - Animus by Tiffany Fitzhenry (US / Canada / UK / Australia)

Giveaway: The Oldest Soul - Animus by Tiffany Fitzhenry (US / Canada / UK / Australia)

The  Oldest Soul – Animus (Book 1) by Tiffany FitzHenry Release Date: November 1st 2015 Publisher: Hierarchy Publishing ISBN-10: 1944216006  ISBN-13: 78-1944216009  Genre: Fantasy / Distopia / Romance Age Range: 15 and up About the Book Eve has no idea she's the oldest soul on earth, with a pre-wired connection to...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
KittyPride
Fascinating, like counting the rings on a tree to see how old it is, finding our soul age!
Friday, 03 June 2016 13:07
Katie
The cover is different then I had expected after reading the synopsis. Overall, it is a neat cover.
Friday, 03 June 2016 21:21
Lily Ruan
I found the synopsis extremely interesting and I can't wait to see how the cover ties into the story
Saturday, 11 June 2016 23:30
  3655 Hits
  8 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
We stand in a tight cluster, high above the lake....

Latest Member Reviews

Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."
Santa Mouse
 
4.5
"SANTA MOUSE is a cute rhyme about a mouse who did not have a name but does have a special..."
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Reader
 
5.0
"I devoured The Reader by M.K. Harkins. There’s no other way to describe it. I read it in one sitting..."
Silly Lullaby (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"Boynton is a hit with toddlers, and this is another charming book that makes it easy to see why. SILLY..."
Frankly in Love
 
5.0
"FRANKLY IN LOVE is a surprisingly deep and heartfelt read. Although it is described as a rom-com, this is not..."
American Royals
 
4.7
"What if at the end of America’s Revolutionary War, George Washington was offered a crown and what if he said..."
Nikki Tesla and the Ferret-Proof Death Ray
 
4.5
"Nikki Tesla is an espionage novel for pre-teens. It’s exciting, engaging, and utterly unique. Nikki Tesla is a..."
Take the Mic: Fictional Stories of Everyday Resistance
 
4.0
"This is the type of book I’d like to see included in school curriculums. The stories are like wide open..."
Penny and Her Sled
 
4.5
"PENNY AND HER SLED is a chapter book for early readers that follows a mouse named Penny. Penny has been..."