The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Black River Falls by Jeff Hirsch

Featured Review: Black River Falls by Jeff Hirsch
About this book:   Seventeen-year-old Cardinal has escaped the virus that ravaged his town, leaving its victims alive but without their memories. He chooses to remain in the quarantined zone, caring for a group of orphaned kids in a mountain camp with the help of the former brutal school bully, now...
Continue reading
  1921 Hits
  0 Comment

Story Starters: The Other Side

Story Starters: The Other Side

Hello, and welcome to the second week of our July Story Starters posts! Each week we will be bringing you something to inspire your writing!  Here's how our STORY STARTER CHALLENGE will work:  -For the first three weeks of the month, we will be posting a writing prompt. -Feel inspired by...
Continue reading
  569 Hits
  0 Comment

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Color Blind by Sheila Sobel + Giveaway (US/Canada)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Color Blind by Sheila Sobel + Giveaway (US/Canada)


Hi, YABCers! Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for COLOR BLIND by Sheila Sobel, releasing October 1, 2016 from Merit Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Sheila : Hello YABC community! Welcome to the exclusive cover reveal for COLOR BLIND! I'm so excited...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Jia Xuan
The cover is beautiful, a little mysterious and brooding, like there's something darker underneath. The synopsis shows that the st... Read More
Sunday, 10 July 2016 03:06
Kara S
This plot sounds so unique, but it has key elements that always draw my interest (e.g. mysteries in the past). I am all in for th... Read More
Sunday, 10 July 2016 06:53
Dianna G.
I've never been to NOLA, and I'm interested in reading this book since that's the setting. The cover has a vague sense of darknes... Read More
Monday, 11 July 2016 17:56
  3298 Hits
  13 Comments

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter ~ Gifts for Ravenclaw!!

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter ~ Gifts for Ravenclaw!!

    This month will be one devoted to our love of Harry Potter!  We will be featuring everything from book recommendations and gift guides to book reviews and love letters to characters. But what's more, we will be taking a trip back through the pensieve to rediscover the magic of...
Continue reading
  1155 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno

Featured Review: The Lost & Found by Katrina Leno
    About The Book:    A charming and imaginative new YA novel about getting lost before you can be found, for fans of Adi Alsaid’s Let’s Get Lost and Margo Rabb’s Kissing in America. LOST Frannie and Louis met online when they were both little and have been pen pals...
Continue reading
  1881 Hits
  0 Comment

Infographic: The Number Seven in Harry Potter

Infographic: The Number Seven in Harry Potter

The number seven is an important part of the Harry Potter series, and it extends beyond just the number of books...      
  1498 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Feathers (The Tales Trilogy #2) by Rose Mannering, Plus Interview & Giveaway!

Spotlight on Feathers (The Tales Trilogy #2) by Rose Mannering, Plus Interview & Giveaway!


    Today we're spotlighting Rose Mannering's novel, Feathers (The Tales Trilogy #2) !   Read on for more about Rose, her novel, a excerpt, plus a giveaway!     Meet Rose Mannering !   Rose Manneringis an English writer and international author of picture books and young adult fiction. Although...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Dianna G.
Your bio mentions that you have struggled with dyslexia. What was helpful to you in overcoming that difficulty in your reading/wri... Read More
Monday, 11 July 2016 17:59
Linda Romer
Hello Rose, The Tales Trilogy sounds great ♡ I would love to read these books. Thank you
Wednesday, 13 July 2016 08:07
Susan T.
If you could have a superpower would it be to fly or something else? I would choose to be able to breathe underwater like a mermai... Read More
Sunday, 17 July 2016 19:09
  2375 Hits
  7 Comments

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter ~ 5 Books To Read If You're Slytherin!!

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter ~ 5 Books To Read If You're Slytherin!!
  This month will be one devoted to our love of Harry Potter!  We will be featuring everything from book recommendations and gift guides to book reviews and love letters to characters. But what's more, we will be taking a trip back through the pensieve to rediscover the magic of this...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Tammy VanScoy
I read A Madness so Discreet and I have The Abyss Surrounds Us coming. Love this post. Need to see the other houses done. I'm R... Read More
Wednesday, 13 July 2016 11:13
  1561 Hits
  1 Comment

Throwback Thursday: Harry Potter Studio Tour

Throwback Thursday: Harry Potter Studio Tour








*Contributed by Amy Oliver, Staff Reviewer*   One of the things I love most about the Harry Potter fandom is that it keeps growing, changing, and evolving. After seven amazing books, came eight incredible movies. Just a few years after the movies ended, Hogsmeade opened at The Wizarding World of Harry...
Continue reading
  1347 Hits
  0 Comment

Press Release: Battlefield Earth

Press Release: Battlefield Earth






This is a sponsored blog; while the views expressed here were genuinely mine, consideration was paid to me by GALAXY PRESS, INC. to review this product. The time has come for the  re-release of Battlefield Earth ! Many people are talking about this book, and excitement is running high.  For those...
Continue reading
  1920 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...

Latest Member Reviews

The Okay Witch
 
4.0
"Moth lives in Founder's Bluff on the east coast, and her town has an annual celebration that celebrations the founders,..."
Cub
Cub
 
5.0
"Cindy finds that middle school in the early 1970s is fairly stressful-- all the cool girls are wearing elephant bells..."
The Ghost in Apartment 2R
 
5.0
"Danny's family lives in a two bedroom apartment in Brooklyn. The family has struggled financially, with his filmmaker father doing..."
The Babysitters Coven
 
3.3
"What worked: This is a quirky, humorous at times paranormal novel where a babysitter's club is really a code name..."
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
"There was a recent Jeopardy! champion who apparently got himself up to speed on many areas of knowledge by reading..."
Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."