The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

August 2019 Book Haul

yabc-august-book-haul

The YABC office was flooded with amazing new books last month. Soooo many. Seriously. Don't believe us? Check it out for yourself. Fair warning: you're going to be adding a lot of titles to your wishlist!  
  254 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ August 5th, 2019

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads




Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  203 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Dragon's Awakening (Sean Fletcher)

dragon-s-awakening-9-1507745576
About This Book: Kaylee looked at her hands. No, not hands. Claws. She had claws.   “What am I?”   “You’re a freak. An abomination. You never should have existed.”   For Kaylee Richards, starting high school is hard enough. Growing dragon scales and blasting her date with lightning just makes...
Continue reading
  269 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Under The Moon: A Catwoman Tale (Lauren Myracle)

38452822._SX318_
About This Book: When fifteen-year-old Selina Kyle, aka the future Catwoman, becomes homeless, she must confront questions of who she is and who she will become. She rejects human cruelty, but sometimes it seems as though brute force is the only way to "win." And if Selina is to survive on...
Continue reading
  250 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Fairest Son (H.S.J. Williams)

40542019._SY475_
About This Book: The Fair and Foul courts of the fey folk have long yearned for one to bring them together in peace, but hopes are dashed when the fairest prince and the prophecy concerning him are laid to ruin. Burdened with shame and sorrow, the prince flees to the cold...
Continue reading
  233 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Susan Forest (Bursts Of Fire), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway!

Bursts-of-Fire---Susan-Forest---Final-Approved--RGB



  Today we're excited to chat with Susan Forest author of Bursts Of Fire.  Read on for more about Susan and her book, plus an excerpt and an giveaway!          Meet Susan Forest ! Susan Forest grew up in a family of mountaineers and skiers, and she loves...
Continue reading
  396 Hits
  0 Comment

Teen Titans Raven: Author Video + Giveaway! (US/CAN)





  Today we're excited to spotlight Teen Titans Raven by Kami Garcia and illustrated by Gabriel Picola. Read on for more about Kami and her book, plus a video & giveaway!    ABOUT THE BOOK:   Teen Titans Raven Written by: Kami Garcia Illustrated by: Gabriel Picolo Release Date: July 2nd,...
Continue reading
  404 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New in YA - 7/31/19

b2ap3_large_whats-new-logo




A future chieftain Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime. A fugitive prince When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to...
Continue reading
  284 Hits
  0 Comment

Author of the Week plus Giveaway! (International)


This week's Author of the Week is actually a pair of authors who are cowriting one of the hottest contemporary series of the summer! Meet Ann Maree Craven and Michelle MacQueen, check out their latest release, and then be sure to enter to win!   ABOUT THE BOOK: Addison: Secrets have...
Continue reading
  500 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Win a Complete “Keeper of the Lost Cities” Book Series!

Keeper-Graphic



Looking for a new fantasy series to fall in love with this summer? Join the  Keeper of the Lost Cities  Series Readalong! Simon Kids and author Shannon Messenger are hosting an online readalong, reading one book from the series each week for seven weeks, this June to July! The Keeper of...
Continue reading
  141 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."