The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

How It All Began: Review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone

How It All Began: Review of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone
*Contributed my Melissa Robles*   My love for Harry Potter began in the most magical moment a kid could ever have during an ordinary Elementary school day: movie time. I remember when my teacher, Ms. Borrero, dragged the TV VCR on wheels and said we were watching Harry Potter and the...
Continue reading
  1572 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Ignite (Resistance #3) by Tracy Lawson

Featured Review: Ignite (Resistance #3) by Tracy Lawson
    About The Book:    The Greatest Risk Is To Take No Risk At All. Nationwide food shortages have sparked civil unrest, and the Office of Civilian Safety and Defense’s hold on the people is slipping. The Resistance’s efforts to hasten the OCSD’s demise have resulted in disaster, with Tommy...
Continue reading
  1290 Hits
  0 Comment

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads

Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten Books We Enjoyed That Have Under 2000 Ratings On Goodreads
  Welcome to Young Adult Book Central's Top Ten Tuesday post! Each Tuesday we will be hosting a different theme or topic  involving all  things bookish!!! The Top Ten Tuesday post was originally created at The Broke and The Bookish so visit there site for all the fun details about this awesome meme!!...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Tammy VanScoy
Unhooked and One Paris Summer are two I really want to read. Love the OPS cover.
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 13:54
  1503 Hits
  1 Comment

Spotlight on Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally, Plus Giveaway!!

Spotlight on Defending Taylor by Miranda Kenneally, Plus Giveaway!!


    Today we're spotlighting Miranda Kenneally's novel, Defending Taylor! Read on for more about Miranda, her novel, and an excerpt from Defending Taylor!     Meet Miranda Kenneally!   Growing up in Tennessee, MIRANDA KENNEALLY dreamed of becoming an Atlanta Brave, a country singer (cliché!), or a UN interpreter. Instead she...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rebecca Moore
My favorite sport is baseball, and it looks like you have a book out about softball!
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 20:06
  1236 Hits
  1 Comment

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter

Through the Pensieve: YABC & the Month of Harry Potter
This month will be one devoted to our love of Harry Potter!  We will be featuring everything from book recommendations and gift guides to book reviews and love letters to characters. But what's more, we will be taking a trip back through the pensieve to rediscover the magic of this boy...
Continue reading
  1259 Hits
  0 Comment

What's New in YA--July 5, 2016

What's New in YA--July 5, 2016




Are you wondering what's new in YA  today? Check out these wonderful  new  releases!     In  Ink and Bone ,  New York Times  bestselling author Rachel Caine introduced a world where knowledge is power, and power corrupts absolutely. Now, she continues the story of those who dare to defy the...
Continue reading
  1434 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery

Featured Review: The Memory Book by Lara Avery
About this book:   They tell me that my memory will never be the same, that I'll start forgetting things. At first just a little, and then a lot. So I'm writing to remember. Sammie McCoy is a girl with a plan: graduate at the top of her class and get...
Continue reading
  3470 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Of The Week: Chat with Adriana Mather (How To Hang A Witch)

Author Of The Week: Chat with Adriana Mather (How To Hang  A Witch)
Adriana Mather
27405351
How to Hang a Witch
  Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!     Introducing  Adriana Mather ,  YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
shelby
This article makes me 100 times more interested in this book, it seems like an amazing read!
Tuesday, 05 July 2016 23:28
Kara S
I can't think of any questions -- only what a delectable guilty pleasure this story will be when I read it! Many thanks, Kara S... Read More
Sunday, 10 July 2016 07:03
Dianna G.
I love the cover of this book! Very spooky and interesting. Question - have you ever visited Williamsburg, VA? There was a fascin... Read More
Monday, 11 July 2016 18:04
  5134 Hits
  10 Comments

Diversify Your Shelves--"How the Worst Natural Disaster in the US Changed Chinese-American History"

Diversify Your Shelves--"How the Worst Natural Disaster in the US Changed Chinese-American History"



How the Worst Natural Disaster in the US Changed Chinese American History   By Stacey Lee   If it weren’t for the San Francisco Earthquake of 1906, Chinatown as we know it would not exist, and neither would I. Though I am not from Chinatown, many of us Chinese Americans who...
Continue reading
  1305 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride

Featured Review: A Million Times Goodnight by Kristina McBride
  About This Book:    A teen Sliding Doors. One choice creates parallel dual narratives in this romantic contemporary mystery-thriller perfect for fans of Just Like Fate and Pivot Point. One Night. Two Paths. Infinite Danger. On the night of the big Spring Break party, Hadley "borrows" her boyfriend Ben's car...
Continue reading
  1193 Hits
  0 Comment