The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Namesake (Adrienne Young)

51UR2wI7R7L._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Filled with action, emotion, and lyrical writing, New York Times bestselling author Adrienne Young returns with Namesake, the final book in the captivating Fable duology. Trader. Fighter. Survivor. With the Marigold ship free of her father, Fable and its crew were set to start over. That freedom is...
Continue reading
  285 Hits
  0 Comment

Top 5 Things To Love About Chicago! + Win a Copy of The Losers at the Center of the Galaxy (Mary Winn Heider) ~ (US Only)

The-Loser_20210316-162323_1



Today we're excited to spotlight The Losers at the Center of the Galaxy  by Mary Winn Heider.  Read on for more about Mary and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Mary Winn Heider ! A graduate of the Vermont College of Fine Arts Writing for...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 14:33
Melanie Bracco
Sounds really good, and love the cover!
Friday, 02 April 2021 19:04
Chiara Jucha
This looks funny!
Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:28
  523 Hits
  4 Comments

Author Chat with Mark Crilley (My Last Summer With Cass), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5510244_20210316-152955_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Mark Crilley author of My Last Summer With Cass.  Read on for more about Mark, his book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Mark Crilley ! Mark Crilley  is the author and illustrator of more than forty books, including several acclaimed graphic...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading.
Tuesday, 16 March 2021 14:45
Danielle Hammelef
Mark is a local author for me and is so talented. I love his work! The cover is beautiful and this sounds fun to read.
Saturday, 10 April 2021 13:54
Simone
A graphic novel is such a good way to tell a story, it's the best parts of reading and watching a movie at the same time.
Monday, 12 April 2021 20:05
  517 Hits
  4 Comments

Featured Review: That Way Madness Lies (Dahlia Adler)

51qEUW8L77L._SX327_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In  That Way Madness Lies , fifteen acclaimed YA writers put their modern spin on William Shakespeare’s celebrated classics! West Side Story. 10 Things I Hate About You. Kiss Me, Kate.  Contemporary audiences have always craved reimaginings of Shakespeare’s most beloved works. Now, some of today’s best writers...
Continue reading
  283 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Bloom (Nicola Skinner), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

bloo_20210315-165436_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Bloom  by Nicola Skinner.  Read on for more about Nicola and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Nicola Skinner !     Nicola Skinner worked as a copywriter and journalist before turning to novels. BLOOM is her first book for children....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Chiara Jucha
Gorgeous cover art!
Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:25
Debra Branigan
The cover is beautiful and the synopsis sounds like a great read.
Thursday, 08 April 2021 21:05
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is a work of art! This book is going to be so much fun to read and promises to be unlike anything else I've read.
Saturday, 10 April 2021 13:55
  610 Hits
  4 Comments

Author Chat with John Peragine (Max and the Spice Thieves), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US/Can Only)

MATS_20210315-154518_1




  Today we're excited to chat with John Peragine  Read on for more about John, his book, plus a giveaway!           Meet John Peragine !  John Peragine is an author of over fourteen books.  The Secrets of the Twilight Djinn  series was written as a bedtime story for...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 15 March 2021 13:03
Chiara Jucha
I think my students would enjoy this!
Saturday, 03 April 2021 13:27
Debra Branigan
The cover is fantastic and will attract your young readers to what sounds like a really adventurous read. Best wishes.
Saturday, 03 April 2021 15:48
  538 Hits
  5 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ March 15, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  197 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Stone Fever: Erebus Tales, Book 1 by Norman Westhoff + Giveaway (US Only)

21-SF-e-bk-final-header



We're so excited to celebrate the new cover for  Stone Fever (Erebus Tales #1) by Norman Westoff, which released 11/30/2020 from Iguana Books! Hello YABC! I’m Norman Westhoff, author of the Erebus Tales series. Stone Fever, the first book, was previously self-published in 2016, with a cover not too different from...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Debra Branigan
I find this a fascinating synopsis and I like the cover! Thanks for sharing.
Thursday, 01 April 2021 14:48
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is interesting and the premise sounds intriguing and unique.
Saturday, 10 April 2021 13:56
Dan Denman
I like the cover art. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.
Tuesday, 13 April 2021 15:35
  399 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: Sweet & Bitter Magic (Adrienne Tooley)

41kHpQA2BVL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery of Thorns and Girls of Paper and Fire, a witch cursed to never love meets a girl hiding her own dangerous magic, and the two strike a dangerous bargain to save their queendom. Tamsin is the most powerful...
Continue reading
  296 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: City of Spells (Alexandra Christo)

51JpzCwm0FL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA fantasy, Into the Crooked Place, finds the world on the brink of war and four unlikely allies facing sacrifices they had never imagined. After the loss of Wesley and the horrifying reveal that Zekia is helping the Kingpin...
Continue reading
  198 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after classes...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off meets Nick and Nora’s Infinite...
The People We Choose
 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
When 17-year-old Calliope meets her new neighbor Max, their...
Hurricane Summer
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this sweeping debut, Asha Bromfield takes readers to...
Slingshot
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
An exciting debut contemporary young adult novel perfect for...
The Keeper of Night
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
Death is her destiny. Half...
The Girls are Never Gone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Conjuring meets Sadie when seventeen-year-old podcaster Dare takes an...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."