The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Kids Review: Daniela the Pirate and the Witch Philomena (Susanna Isern)

71s7JIVb2oL
About This Book: When Daniela the pirate and her crew start to follow a treasure map, strange things begin to happen to them... Could they be the work of Philomena, the fearful witch from Spooky Island who can't stand laughter and happiness? The third book in the popular Daniela the Pirate...
Continue reading
  149 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: How to Save a Superhero (Ruth Freeman)

81ApnWU0iRS
About This Book: Ten-year-old Addie knows that Superheroes aren't real, and that they certainly don't hide out in retirement communities, but she may just have to change her mind. Addie and her mom never stay in one place too long. They've been up and down and all around the country. When...
Continue reading
  138 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Delusionist (Don Calame)

41tO0l9uWoL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Quinn’s illusions are as good as those in any Vegas act—but can he win a spot at a prestigious magic camp despite an upstaging partner, a cute rival, and a con-artist mentor? Fifteen-year-old Quinn Purcell wants only one thing: to win a coveted spot at the Masters of...
Continue reading
  175 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with D.A. Mucci (Ignatius and the Swords of Nostaw #1)

Ignatius-and-the-Swords-of-Nostaw-Cover
David Mucci 1
Ignatius and the Swords of Nostaw Cover
Ignatius and the Swords of Nostaw Cover
Today we are chatting with D.A. Mucci, author of Ignatius and the Swords of Nostaw #1! Read on for more about D.A. Mucci and his book!   Meet D.A. Mucci! As an Emergency Room physician for nearly 40 years, D.A. Mucci found that the pandemic brought new horrors into the ER....
Continue reading
  281 Hits
  0 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday ~ October 27, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Jan’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer) From Dust, A Flame Author:  Rebecca Podos Expected publication:  February 8, 2022 Rebecca Podos, Lambda Award-winning author of Like Water,...
Continue reading
  151 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Daniel Visits the Pumpkin Patch: Ready-to-Read Pre-Level 1 (Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood) (Maggie Testa)

81BcIHQRZvL
About This Book: A new generation of children love Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, inspired by the classic series Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood! Daniel visits a pumpkin patch in this Pre-Level 1 Ready-to-Read based on the hit PBS show, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood! Daniel Tiger is visiting a pumpkin patch with his family and friends....
Continue reading
  207 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Liar's Room (Dan Poblocki)

71SArmg-5L
About This Book: This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is perfect for fans of Katherine Arden and Victoria Schwab! Simon is a liar. Stella and Alex know this about their new stepbrother, so they aren't bothered by his stories about their new house. Wildwyck, a former schoolhouse for...
Continue reading
  133 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Heartbreak Bakery (A. R. Capetta)

51Aml8dg6aL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Teenage baker Syd sends ripples of heartbreak through Austin’s queer community when a batch of post-being-dumped brownies turns out to be magical—and makes everyone who eats them break up. “What’s done is done.” Unless, of course, it was done by my brownies. Then it’s getting undone. Syd (no...
Continue reading
  175 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with London Shah (Journey to the Heart of the Abyss)(Light the Abyss, 2), Plus Giveaway! ~(US Only)

81Cnfsx6zML
London Shah resized
81Cnfsx6zML
81Cnfsx6zML
Today we are chatting with London Shah, author of Journey to the Heart of the Abyss (Light the Abyss 2) Read on for more about London, her book, and a giveaway!     Meet London Shah! London Shah is a British-born Muslim of Pashtun ethnicity. She has lived in Britain's capital for...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Danielle Hammelef
The cover is haunting and beautiful. This book will be exciting to read.
Sunday, 14 November 2021 13:29
  307 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Nicole MacCarron ( Hazel's Mirror)

HazelsMirror_updated-3
20210123 135015
51OkA1Sr4qL
51OkA1Sr4qL
Today we are chatting with Nicole MacCarron author of Hazel's Mirror ! Read on for more about Nicole and her book!                               Meet Nicole MacCarron!     Nicole MacCarron is an accident-prone Canadian from BC’s Fraser Valley. The accidents started at 8, when she rolled off the top bunk...
Continue reading
  200 Hits
  0 Comment