The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Kids Review: Always Everly (Nate Wragg)

81OVll8ZbBS
About this Book: A little evergreen tree learns that self-acceptance and being yourself never goes out of season in this irresistible picture book that’s perfect for fans of Jory John and Pete Oswald’s The Cool Bean and Michael Hall’s Red. One spring, a pine tree named Everly sprouts in the woods...
Continue reading
  207 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: The Robber Girl (Franny Billingsley)

81DPBYzQrL
About This Book: Part literary mystery, part magical tour de force—an incantatory novel of fierce beauty, lyricism, and originality from a National Book Award Finalist A brilliant puzzle of a book from the author of Chime and The Folk Keeper plunges us into the vulnerable psyche of one of the most...
Continue reading
  202 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Lies My Memory Told Me (Sacha Wunsch)

51A2WaAn-PL._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the thrilling voice of Sacha Wunsch comes a heart-stopping psychological mystery in a world where memories can be shared—and one girl can’t trust any of them. Enhanced Memory changed everything. By sharing someone else’s memory, you can experience anything and everything with no risk at all: learn...
Continue reading
  193 Hits
  0 Comment

Sneak Peak Excerpt: Fragments: Journeys from Isolation to Connection (Maura Pierlot), plus Giveaway! (~International)

FRAG-USE
Maura portrait at desk
FRAG USE
FRAG USE
Today we get a sneak peak at an excerpt from Fragments   by Maura Pierlot! Read on for more about Maura, her book, and a giveaway!     Meet Maura Pierlot! Maura Pierlot is an award-winning author and playwright who hails from New York, but has called Canberra, Australia home since...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Irma Jurejevčič
I love the cover, it suits the title of the book. And the synopsys is very captivating.
Wednesday, 24 November 2021 15:07
Danielle Hammelef
The cover matches the synopsis well. This book sounds intriguing.
Friday, 26 November 2021 13:09
  317 Hits
  2 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ November 1, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads


Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  190 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Death of Jane Lawrence (Caitlin Starling)

41mRwHy0-DS
About This Book: Practical, unassuming Jane Shoringfield has done the calculations, and decided that the most secure path forward is this: a husband, in a marriage of convenience, who will allow her to remain independent and occupied with meaningful work. Her first choice, the dashing but reclusive doctor Augustine Lawrence, agrees...
Continue reading
  210 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Olwen Finds Her Wings (Nora Surojegin)

913xjK4r3zL
About This Book: Olwen the baby owl isn't happy. Sitting on her branch is boring. What else can little owls do? Olwen longs to be just like hare, squirrel and bear but no matter how hard she tries she can't hop, scamper or roar. That's not what owls do. But the...
Continue reading
  146 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Hannah and the Hobgoblins (Deborah Hunt)

71W0kpbtWeL
About this Book:  When Aunt Agatha sends Hannah a book about the Connemara Witches strange things begin to happen. Hannah has no idea that she comes from a family of witches but on her 12th birthday, she is shocked to learn that she is a Grand Witch and must go to...
Continue reading
  276 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: The Children's Moon (Jim LaMarche)

710lxhrmmEL
About This Book: There once was a time when the sun alone ruled the day, the moon graced the night, and little children were sent to bed before sunset. Then early one dawn, the moon heard sounds of children laughing, and she yearned to see them by daylight. "Certainly not!" snapped...
Continue reading
  159 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Final Season (Tim Green)

81heCBwQPYS
About This Book: F rom New York Times bestselling author and former NFL player Tim Green comes a gripping, deeply personal standalone football novel about a star middle school quarterback faced with a life-changing decision after his dad is diagnosed with ALS. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! With two all-star...
Continue reading
  184 Hits
  0 Comment