The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Mindy McGinnis (The Initial Insult), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210222-150835_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Mindy McGinnis , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read another book by Mindy!
Thursday, 04 March 2021 18:20
  634 Hits
  8 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 22, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  227 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Baby and Solo (Lisabeth Posthuma) ~ (US Only)

978153621303_20210221-073811_1


   Baby and Solo (US Only) Author: Lisabeth Posthuma Release Date: May 11th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Seventeen-year-old Joel Teague has a new prescription from his therapist—a part-time job—the first step toward the elusive Normal life he’s been so desperate to live ever since The...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Danielle Hammelef
I like the cover. This book sounds intriguing and unique. I will enjoy the trip back in time.
Sunday, 14 March 2021 11:06
Jana Leah
I like the cover - bright & grabs your attention. The story sounds fun.
Monday, 15 March 2021 13:00
  509 Hits
  2 Comments

Featured Review: Curse of the Divine (Kim Smejkal)

61G7WgxkkZL
About This Book: Return to the world of inklings, tattoo magic, and evil deities as Celia uncovers the secrets of the ink in order to stop Diavala once and for all. This eagerly anticipated sequel to Ink in the Blood is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Wicked Saints. Celia...
Continue reading
  255 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Emmie and the Tudor Queen (Natalie Murray)

51QIHUaLh-L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: True love has never been more deadly in this lush sequel to the best-selling Emmie and the Tudor King.For an extraordinary love, Emmie Grace has given up her life in the modern world to move to the sixteenth century and marry the Tudor king she bravely saved from...
Continue reading
  204 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Dragonfly-hc-_20210219-202344_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach).  Read on for more about Marti, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Marti Leimbach ! Marti Leimbach  is the author of several novels for adult readers, including the international bestseller  Dying Young , which was made into...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds great!
Monday, 22 February 2021 23:36
Debra Branigan
The cover is great and the thriller of a story sounds like an excellent read. Thanks for sharing.
Saturday, 06 March 2021 20:23
Danielle Hammelef
I love the detail on the cover. This book will keep me reading way past my bedtime.
Sunday, 14 March 2021 11:04
  408 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with Ann Bausum (Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge)!

5337470_20210219-040520_1



  Today we're excited to share an interview hosted by YABC's very own Karen Yingling with Ann Bausum author of Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge . Read on for more about Ann and her book!    ...
Continue reading
  384 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Curse of Jenny Greene (Mandy O'Dell and Kimberly Loth)

51NAiOMRDzL
About This Book: In the wispy dark of a foggy night, the children come. The children die. Jenny Greenteeth croons to them, her keening call they cannot deny. A ghost witch cloaked in fog hunts the children of Blaylock Bay. She’s been doing it for centuries and she never gives back...
Continue reading
  246 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Rena Barron (Reaper Of Souls), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5246034_20210218-170703_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Rena Barron author of Reaper Of Souls.  Read on for more about Rena, her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Rena Barron ! Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama, where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:52
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 07:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:09
  477 Hits
  5 Comments

Author Chat with Diane Zahler (Daughter of the White Rose), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978082344607_20210218-164012_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Diane Zahler author of         Daugher of the White Rose. Read on for more about Diane and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Diane Zahler ! Diane Zahler is the author of over ten books for young readers,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:56
Tabitha Stephenson
I love this cover! I hope the trend of illustrated covers never ends. The plot sounds fantastic as well and I can't wait to dive i... Read More
Thursday, 18 February 2021 22:42
Amanda
A medieval setting and girl- power? What's not to love? Adore the cover!
Friday, 19 February 2021 18:08
  593 Hits
  8 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This hilarious story of a pangolin with an identity crisis...
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When Sam can’t sleep, he decides to ask all the...
Welcome to California
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to California! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this...
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join Jasmine and Jamie as they travel back in time...
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's a busy day at the fire station! Chldren can...
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Let's find out which toys Rosa and her friends are...
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Travel by land, sea, and air in this bright and...
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Florida! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts to...
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrated author and illustrator Henry Cole returns with a page-turning...
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This jovial frolic through the city and woods celebrates ingenuity...
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kiva Meridan has spent the last ten years fighting...
The Sacrifice of One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Who would want to execute my brother? ...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the same...

Latest Member Reviews

Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
"THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has..."
Zoom: Dinosaur Adventure
 
4.5
"ZOOM: DINOSAUR ADVENTURE takes the reader on a journey to the time of the dinosaurs. Jamie and Jasmine are going..."
Let's Pretend Fire Station
 
5.0
"LET'S PRETEND FIRE STATION is a delightful peek-through board book about firefighters. The book features pictures of children, firetrucks, and..."
Rosa Loves Dinosaurs / A Rosa Le Encantan Los Dinosaurios
 
3.5
"ROSA LOVES DINOSAURS/ A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS DINOSAURIOS is a fun bilingual board book about a love of dinosaurs...."
Things That Go (I Can Learn)
 
5.0
"THINGS THAT GO is a delightful lift-the-flap and peek-through exploration of vehicles. In three sets of pages with flaps, die-cuts,..."
Welcome to Florida
 
4.3
"WELCOME TO FLORIDA is a fun touristy picture book about the state of Florida. The book goes through some of..."
Indivisible
 
5.0
"INDIVISIBLE is a heartfelt and riveting YA contemporary about family, feeling different, and immigration in the US. Mateo is a..."
My Last Summer with Cass
 
5.0
"“A good friendship is like a work of art.” Megan and Cass have been friends forever. Their..."
The Lightbringer: Through the Elder Stone
 
5.0
"The Lightbringer plays on that classic trope of light vs dark, but in a fresh way with unheard of magical..."
Eva Evergreen, Semi-Magical Witch
 
5.0
"Eva Evergreen is a young witch about to embark on her Novice Quest. As the daughter of one of the..."
Homer on the Case
 
4.5
"HOMER ON THE CASE is a delightful middle grade mystery, featuring unlikely detectives. Homer, a homing pigeon, and Lulu, a..."
The Thingity-Jig
 
5.0
"THE THINGITY-JIG is a fun picture book read about invention and friendship. Although all his friends are asleep, Bear feels..."
The Prison Healer (The Prison Healer, #1)
 
5.0
"THE PRISON HEALER is a stunning and captivating YA fantasy read. This book takes place in a prison, Zalindov, which..."
 
5.0
"There were so many things I really liked about this book. The case of the missing girls was obviously the..."
Bridge of Souls (City of Ghosts #3)
 
4.0
"What worked: This is a satisfying conclusion to City of Ghosts series. Engaging characters, fast-paced plot, and spooky magic woven..."
This is Your World
 
5.0
"THIS IS YOUR WORLD is a lovely picture book that introduces the world and the importance of taking care of..."