The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Mindy McGinnis (The Initial Insult), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-_20210222-150835_1



Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!         Introducing Mindy McGinnis , YABC's Author of the...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
  376 Hits
  2 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 22, 2021

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  148 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Baby and Solo (Lisabeth Posthuma) ~ (US Only)

978153621303_20210221-073811_1


   Baby and Solo (US Only) Author: Lisabeth Posthuma Release Date: May 11th, 2021 Publisher: Candlewick Press       About The Book Seventeen-year-old Joel Teague has a new prescription from his therapist—a part-time job—the first step toward the elusive Normal life he’s been so desperate to live ever since The...
Continue reading
  199 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Curse of the Divine (Kim Smejkal)

61G7WgxkkZL
About This Book: Return to the world of inklings, tattoo magic, and evil deities as Celia uncovers the secrets of the ink in order to stop Diavala once and for all. This eagerly anticipated sequel to Ink in the Blood is perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Wicked Saints. Celia...
Continue reading
  176 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Emmie and the Tudor Queen (Natalie Murray)

51QIHUaLh-L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: True love has never been more deadly in this lush sequel to the best-selling Emmie and the Tudor King.For an extraordinary love, Emmie Grace has given up her life in the modern world to move to the sixteenth century and marry the Tudor king she bravely saved from...
Continue reading
  167 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Dragonfly-hc-_20210219-202344_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Dragonfly Girl (Marti Leimbach).  Read on for more about Marti, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Marti Leimbach ! Marti Leimbach  is the author of several novels for adult readers, including the international bestseller  Dying Young , which was made into...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Kiara T.
I love the cover and the book sounds great!
Monday, 22 February 2021 23:36
  240 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Ann Bausum (Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge)!

5337470_20210219-040520_1



  Today we're excited to share an interview hosted by YABC's very own Karen Yingling with Ann Bausum author of Ensnared in the Wolf's Lair: Inside the 1944 Plot to Kill Hitler and the Ghost Children of His Revenge . Read on for more about Ann and her book!    ...
Continue reading
  298 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Curse of Jenny Greene (Mandy O'Dell and Kimberly Loth)

51NAiOMRDzL
About This Book: In the wispy dark of a foggy night, the children come. The children die. Jenny Greenteeth croons to them, her keening call they cannot deny. A ghost witch cloaked in fog hunts the children of Blaylock Bay. She’s been doing it for centuries and she never gives back...
Continue reading
  212 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Rena Barron (Reaper Of Souls), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5246034_20210218-170703_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Rena Barron author of Reaper Of Souls.  Read on for more about Rena, her book, plus an giveaway!          Meet Rena Barron ! Rena Barron grew up in small-town Alabama, where stories of magic and adventure sparked her imagination. After penning...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:52
Tiffany Engler
I love this cover! Can't wait to read it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 07:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:09
  240 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Diane Zahler (Daughter of the White Rose), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978082344607_20210218-164012_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Diane Zahler author of         Daugher of the White Rose. Read on for more about Diane and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Diane Zahler ! Diane Zahler is the author of over ten books for young readers,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 18 February 2021 16:56
Tabitha Stephenson
I love this cover! I hope the trend of illustrated covers never ends. The plot sounds fantastic as well and I can't wait to dive i... Read More
Thursday, 18 February 2021 22:42
Amanda
A medieval setting and girl- power? What's not to love? Adore the cover!
Friday, 19 February 2021 18:08
  297 Hits
  4 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."