The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Waiting on Wednesday ~ November 25, 2020

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Kim’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    The Ballad of Ami Miles Author:  Kristy Dallas Alley Expected publication:  December 1, 2020 A teen girl on a...
Continue reading
  224 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Kaja Blackley (Maggie MacCormack and the Witches' Wheel)!

Maggie-frontcover_300dpi-cmyk



  Today we're excited to chat with Kaja Blackley author of Maggie MacCormack and the Witches' Wheel. Read on for more about Kaja and his book!       Meet Kaja Blackley !   Kaja Blackley, born in Canada, spent many of his formative years in New York City — an...
Continue reading
  379 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Lynn Wallace (The Supernatural Reasons Why I Love You) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Cover-Design-S_20201121-233437_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Lynn Wallace author of The Supernatural Reasons Why I Love You. Read on for more about Lynn and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Lynn Wallace ! Lynn Wallace is a born-and-raised Texan. She graduated from Baylor University with a Bachelor...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 23 November 2020 12:20
  313 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Julia Ember (Ruinsong), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_unnamed-1


A picture containing drawing, guitar

Description automatically generated

Welcome to our weekly special feature post,  Author Of The Week !! Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release! We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!       Introducing  Julia Ember , YABC's Author of the Week!...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Monday, 23 November 2020 11:40
Shilo Quetchenbach
This looks amazing! Can't wait to read it!
Tuesday, 24 November 2020 11:34
Amanda
I can't wait to read this! It's been on my TBR for quite a while. LOVE the purple cover!
Friday, 27 November 2020 18:51
  358 Hits
  6 Comments

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ November 23, 2020

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads



Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  228 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Clown in a Cornfield (Adam Cesare)

41rwzJm-amL
About This Book: In Adam Cesare’s terrifying young adult debut, Quinn Maybrook finds herself caught in a battle between old and new, tradition and progress—that just may cost her life. Quinn Maybrook and her father have moved to tiny, boring Kettle Springs, to find a fresh start. But what they don’t...
Continue reading
  345 Hits
  0 Comment

Movie Teaser: Chaos Walking (Patrick Ness)


  This first book in the Chaos Walking trilogy is now a major motion picture starring Daisy Ridley and Tom Holland, directed by Doug Liman (director of  The Bourne Identity  and  Edge of Tomorrow ), written for the screen by Patrick Ness and Christopher Ford, and produced by Doug Davison, Allison...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Amanda
Chaos Walking is one of my all time favorite series! I'm happy I discovered the books years ago, but I love seeing other people in... Read More
Sunday, 22 November 2020 18:31
  309 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: Avatar the Last Airbender: The Shadow of Kyoshi (F. C. Yee)

516-YnacpGL._SX330_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The epic, can’t-miss follow-up to the New York Times bestselling Avatar, The Last Airbender:The Rise of Kyoshi Kyoshi’s place as the true Avatar has finally been cemented—but at a heavy cost. With her mentors gone, Kyoshi voyages across the Four Nations, struggling to keep the peace. But while...
Continue reading
  239 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: These Violent Delights (Chloe Gong)

51VCpet7EvL
About This Book: Perfect for fans of The Last Magician and Descendant of the Crane, this heart-stopping debut is an imaginative Romeo and Juliet retelling set in 1920s Shanghai, with rival gangs and a monster in the depths of the Huangpu River. The year is 1926, and Shanghai hums to the...
Continue reading
  298 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Gavriel Savit (The Way Back) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

The-Way-Back_cove_20201115-052513_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Gavriel Savit author of The Way Back. Read on for more about Gavriel and his book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Gavriel Savit ! Gavriel Savit is a New York Times Bestselling author. His award-winning writing has been shortlisted for the National...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Thursday, 19 November 2020 12:08
Simone
Jewish rep in fantasy is so rare, I LOVE the concept of this. Even after looking at the cover multiple times, I didn't see the han... Read More
Monday, 23 November 2020 12:22
Amanda
The cover is absolutely stunning and eye- catching. This book is on my "must read" list for winter!
Monday, 23 November 2020 18:38
  374 Hits
  4 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Based on Portuguese legend, this #OwnVoices historical fantasy is an...
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From beloved children's author and illustrator Tony Ross, comes a...
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As her grandmother's health declines, a young girl begins to...
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
San Solano, Texas, is a quaint town known for...
Sing Like No One's Listening
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a talented young singer...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface,...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every summer, they say goodbye. Dorit goes to Tel Aviv...
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this illustrated guide, discover fascinating and unusual information about...
Special Delivery
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovely book to share with children in an expecting...
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Fight like a magical girl in this paperback original contemporary...

Latest Member Reviews

Golden Curse (The True Story of Rapunzel)
 
5.0
"This beautiful story is highly enjoyable. The writing flows easily, and the characters feel relatable. The main conflict was interesting..."
The Raven and the Dove
 
4.0
"An intriguing tale of forbidden love as two young lovers fight to stay together. Well written and entertaining. ..."
The Devil's Apprentice
 
4.5
"This was actually a pretty interesting story. At first I really wasn't sure how it was going to go so..."
A Curse of Roses
 
3.7
"A CURSE OF ROSES is an intriguing YA historical fantasy based on a Portuguese legend. The book tackles themes of..."
Speechless
 
4.7
"this story is amazing! i have a project for honors english 10, and this is a great story to chose..."
I Don't Want to Wash my Hands!
 
3.0
"I DON'T WANT TO WASH MY HANDS is a picture book about the need for frequent hand washing. The little..."
Dance Like a Leaf
 
5.0
"DANCE LIKE A LEAF is a beautiful book about grief and loss of a loved one. A young girl loves..."
The Bitterwine Oath
 
3.3
"THE BITTERWINE OATH is a YA fantasy and light horror read. Nat is the descendent of the girl who put..."
Heart Sister
 
4.8
"The story: When Emmitt’s twin sister Minnie dies in a tragic accident, it cripples not only him..."
Incredible Animals
 
5.0
"INCREDIBLE ANIMALS is a fascinating collection of animals by special skills, including clever camouflage, devoted parents (such as penguins), and..."
Special Delivery
 
4.0
"SPECIAL DELIVERY is a delightfully silly picture book. A little duck is eagerly awaiting the delivery of her baby brother...."
Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
"EYELIKE STICKERS: TRAINS is an unbelievably cool collection of stickers. These 400 stickers include many photographs of trains, as well..."
 
4.3
"If your expecting the same type of books that you’ve been reading in this series, you’d be wrong. This whole..."
The Kinder Poison
 
5.0
"From start to finish I absolutely adored this story. The opening scene was so much fun to read while Zahru..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
"HEIRESS APPARENTLY is a YA rom-com with deep themes that make it such an engaging and captivating read. Gemma is..."
The Good Girls
 
4.0
"THE GOOD GIRLS is an enthralling read. The book begins after the disappearance and seeming murder of the police chief's..."
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
"Maeve finds a pack of tarot cards while cleaning out a closet at her school. What starts off as curiosity,..."
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
"DANGEROUS SECRETS: THE STORY OF IDUNA AND AGNARR is a great MG/YA fantasy romance. Based on Frozen, this book tells..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.0
"When Ellie is completely humiliated by her best friend an crush, she decides the best way to escape her jeering..."
Mastery of Earth (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 3)
 
5.0
"Oh the feels this book gave me. Davi's officially back but still not really? His memories are all over the..."