The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Giveaway: FIERCE HEROINES: Inspiring Female Characters in Pop Culture (Rosie Knight) ~ US Only

Fierce Heroines: Inspiring Female Characters in Pop Culture (US Only) by: Rosie Knight Release Date: September 4th, 2020 Publisher: Running Press Kids       About the Book: This inclusive and diverse anthology gathers seventy-five empowering heroines—perfect for pop culture fans of all ages. Whether it's anime, movies, video games, comics,...
Continue reading
  311 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Jill Criswell (Kingdom of Ice and Bone), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

45163041



  Today we're excited to chat with Jill Criswell, author of Kingdom Of Ice and Bone. Read on for more about Jill and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet  Jill Criswell ! JILL CRISWELL is a writer of young adult historical fantasy. Born and raised in the swamps...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Andrea Cerda
Love the cover and the book looks aweeesoomee!!!
Thursday, 17 September 2020 13:02
  337 Hits
  1 Comment

Book Haul - September 2020

YABC-Sept-2020-book-haul

The Book Haul is here, YABCers! It's been a long time since our last one because most publishers are sending e-books at the moment. You'll notice we have a lot less books in this one too, for the same reason. But that just makes it easier to pick some favorites from...
Continue reading
Tags:
  276 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Legendborn (Legendborn #1) (Tracy Deonn)

50892338
About This Book: Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic. After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree...
Continue reading
  290 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Tiffany D. Jackson (Grown), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978006284035_20200914-143033_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Tiffany D. Jackson, author of Grown. Read on for more about Tiffany and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet  Tiffany D. Jackson !       Tiffany D. Jackson  is the critically acclaimed author of  Allegedly, Monday’s Not Coming,  and  Let...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, love the cover!
Tuesday, 15 September 2020 11:22
Madeline Tebo
I really liked Jackson's book Allegedly, can't wait to read this one!
Sunday, 20 September 2020 16:02
Keia
I love this cover!
Sunday, 20 September 2020 22:58
  393 Hits
  4 Comments

Author Chat with Daniel Kraus (They Threw Us Away), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

51553197._SX318_20200915-173228_1




  Today we're excited to chat with Daniel Kraus, author of They Threw Us Away. Read on for more about Daniel and his book, plus a giveaway!       Meet  Daniel Kraus !        DANIEL KRAUS is a New York Times bestselling author. With Guillermo del Toro, he...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Love the cover! I am super excited for this one, great concept!
Tuesday, 15 September 2020 14:36
Madeline Tebo
This sounds unlike anything I have read before, really looking forward to this one!
Sunday, 20 September 2020 16:06
  243 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ September 16, 2020

b2ap3_large_unnamed



Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    Rural Voices: 15 Authors Challenge Assumptions About Small-Town America (Nora Shalaway Carpenter) Editor:   Nora Shalaway Carpenter Expected publication:...
Continue reading
  159 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Furia (Yamile Saied Méndez)

49150990
About This Book: A powerful, #ownvoices contemporary YA for fans of The Poet X and I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter set in Argentina, about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams. In Rosario, Argentina, Camila Hassan lives a...
Continue reading
  192 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 14, 2020

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads





Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  193 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Fall 2020 Plus GIVEAWAY!! ~ Round 2 ~ (US Only)

BuzzWorthy-Books
































Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!       From #1  New York Times  bestselling authors Cassandra Clare and Wesley Chu comes the second book in the Eldest Curses series and a thrilling new adventure...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Lynn Pallaske
I will never get tired of the Shadowhunter World, I'm so excited for the gorgeous Shadow and Bone Special Edition, and All Eyes On... Read More
Saturday, 12 September 2020 00:53
Abigail Lowry
I'm really excited about 6 of these already, but the others look awesome too!
Sunday, 13 September 2020 12:18
Zachary Snyder
Books look great! Can't wait to read them!
Tuesday, 15 September 2020 10:53
  472 Hits
  9 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Children will love exploring the different textures in this playful...
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On the night before Christmas, all over the house, not...
Belinda Fellgate: HellCat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary teen fantasy about an inept 14-year-old girl who...
Breathless
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Jennifer Niven, the #1 New York Times bestselling author...
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Shipped halfway around the world to spend the summer...
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A broken world. An overwhelming evil. ...
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lira and Reyker have lost everything. Including each other....
Sword of the Seven Sins
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Eva Marteinn never wanted to be a killer. Raised...
Things That Should Stay Buried
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must...
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda goes to Italy...
Horrid
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of You Must Not Miss comes...
Tsalix Silverthorn and the Scepter of Destiny
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The latest phenomenal work from New York Times Bestselling author...
The Adventures of Bubba Jones (#4): Time Traveling Through Grand Canyon National Park
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth book of this award-winning national park series,...
The Companion
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The other orphans say Margot is lucky. Lucky to...
Sanctuary
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's 2032, and in this near-future America, all citizens...
Teen Titans: Beast Boy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Author Kami Garcia (Beautiful Creatures) and artist Gabriel Picolo,...

Latest Member Reviews

Fisher- Price Fun in the Jungle: Explore, Touch, and Feel
 
4.5
"FUN IN THE JUNGLE is an adorable board book great for infants and young toddlers who are exploring the world..."
Glitter Globes: The Night Before Christmas
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT BEFORE CHRISTMAS modifies the original poem to be more modern and easily understood by young children. The classic..."
Twisting Minds
 
4.8
"The story: At seventeen, Claire Harper’s life has taken a turn for the worse – her mother..."
Breathless
 
4.0
"BREATHLESS is a book about change, secrets, and the aftermath. Claudine (Claude) is about to graduate high school, and she..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"This is the book I didn’t know I needed! Fae’s Prisoner by M. Lynn & Melissa A. Craven is the..."
Skyhunter (Skyhunter, #1)
 
5.0
"SKYHUNTER is an enthralling and lush YA fantasy. Lu really paints the story with her words, and this new novel..."
The Library of Lost Things
 
5.0
"I wasn't sure what to expect with The Library of Lost Things, but I know I didn't anticipate a book..."
Fae's Prisoner (Crimes of the Fae)
 
5.0
"After reading Queens of the Fae, I had such mixed feelings about Griffin... but now I love him! This book..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra, a teenager from the 2160s, is put into cryogenic stasis fulling expecting to wake up on another planet one..."
Just Shelby
 
N/A
"ARCs available for review @XpressoBookTours: http://xpressobooktours.com/2020/09/10/review-opportunity-just-shelby-by-brooklyn-james/?fbclid=IwAR2v9c-b9Z0YagynLTaMCNt-c-WW6nmWYZbuVBZYFoGNADs5c-DD6YayMGU"
Kingdom of Ice and Bone (The Frozen Sun Saga, #2)
 
4.0
"KINGDOM OF ICE AND BONE picks up where the first book left off. Lira and Reyker are separated and each..."
How It All Blew Up
 
5.0
"HOW IT ALL BLEW UP is an absolutely riveting coming-out story. Amir Azadi is an Iranian American who has always..."
Music for Tigers
 
3.7
"A vividly descriptive Middle-Grade work with an ecological focus--enriched by elements of music, friendship, and atypical neurology. When her..."
The Magic Misfits: The Fourth Suit (The Magic Misfits, #4)
 
5.0
"THE FOURTH SUIT is a fantastically magical finale. Ridley begins with a inventor's fair which she is entering with the..."
Duck and Penguin Do Not Like Sleepovers
 
4.0
"DUCK AND PENGUIN DO NOT LIKE SLEEPOVERS is an overall cute book about two stuffed animals whose owners are BFFs..."
Fussy Flamingo
 
4.5
"FUSSY FLAMINGO is an adorable fictional tale about a flamingo named Lola that doesn't want to eat shrimp. Instead, her..."
The Shadow Mission (The Athena Protocol, #2)
 
4.3
"THE SHADOW MISSION is an even better sequel to THE ATHENA PROTOCOL with lots of action and spy-related danger. In..."
Horrid
 
4.3
"HORRID is an intensely creepy story that follows Jane and her mother, Ruth. Jane's father has just died and after..."
The Train Your Brain Mind Exercise: 156 Puzzles for a Superior Mind
 
3.0
"The book sets expectations a bit high by touting the claim of unique puzzles for all skill levels, with a..."
Color Outside the Lines
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: The stories vary in genre, time period, and the makeup of the couples, but many of them..."