The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Among the Beasts and Briars (Ashley Poston)

51y7KoZld2L
About this Book: Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns with a dark, lush fairy tale–inspired fantasy for fans of Sara Raasch and Susan Dennard. Cerys is safe in the Kingdom of Aloriya. Here there are no droughts, disease, or famine, and peace is everlasting. It has been this...
Continue reading
  82 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Nova Ren Suma (Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Author Chat with Nova Ren Suma (Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)



  Today we're excited to chat with Nova Ren Suma author of Foreshadow. Read on for more about Nova Ren Suma & Emily X.R. Pan and the book, plus a giveaway!       Meet  Nova Ren Suma ! Nova Ren Suma  is the author of the #1  New York Times...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Monday, 26 October 2020 12:16
  97 Hits
  1 Comment

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 26, 2020

b2ap3_large_Current-Reads





Hello YABC'ers! Welcome to the weekly post by the Staff at YA Books Central called Current Reads Monday! We love everything bookish and just wanted to share with our readers what books we are currently reading and obsessing about! So check out what books the YABC Staff are currently reading below...
Continue reading
  99 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Foreshadow: Stories to Celebrate the Magic of Reading and Writing YA (Nova Ren Suma & Emily X. R. Pan)

51CLQSlC-RL._SX332_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Thirteen Short Stories from Bold New YA Voices & Writing Advice from YA Icons Created by New York Times bestselling authors Emily X. R. Pan and Nova Ren Suma, Foreshadow is so much more than a short story collection. A trove of unforgettable fiction makes up the beating...
Continue reading
  181 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: In the Study with the Wrench (Diana Peterfreund)

51vBFzLl5kL
About This Book: In the aftermath of Headmaster Boddy’s murder, Blackbrook Academy has been thrown into complete disarray. Half the student body hasn’t bothered to return to campus—but those who have include Orchid, Vaughn, Scarlett, Peacock, Plum, and Mustard, now warily referred to by the other students as the Murder Crew....
Continue reading
  208 Hits
  0 Comment

Guest Post & Giveaway: BeTWEEN The Bookends ~ (US Only)

Website_header_layout


~Guest Post ~   **Provided by Jillian Robinson from BeTWEEN The Bookends**   I've learned lots of things as a teen entrepreneur. Some of the top things I've learned are : - it's taught me how to budget money - I've learned how to brainstorm ideas better  - I've learned how...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Looks awesome, hope I win!
Friday, 23 October 2020 12:21
  307 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: Hush (Dylan Farrow)

51qrRLKsu9L._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: They use magic to silence the world. Who will break the hush? Seventeen-year-old Shae has led a seemingly quiet life, joking with her best friend Fiona, and chatting with Mads, the neighborhood boy who always knows how to make her smile. All while secretly keeping her fears at...
Continue reading
  234 Hits
  0 Comment

What's Hot in KU

What's Hot in KU
Book Cover for Natural Witch
Book Cover for Inception
Book Cover for Red Winter
Book Cover for White
Book Cover for Part-Time Monster Hunter
Book Cover for Whispers of the Walkers
Book Cover for Huntress
Book Cover for The Casquette Girls
Book Cover for Spells & Ashes
Book Cover for Dark
  Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library.  Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimited reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we...
Continue reading
  226 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Brooklyn James (Just Shelby) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

55133759._SY475_20201020-233913_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Brooklyn James author of Just Shelby. Read on for more about Brooklyn and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Brooklyn James ! Brooklyn James is an author/singer-songwriter who savors any opportunity to blend books with music. Her first novel,  The Boots...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 22 October 2020 12:39
Andrea Cerda
Looks really interesting will like to read it
Thursday, 22 October 2020 15:07
  332 Hits
  2 Comments

Author Chat with Mara Fitzgerald (Beyond The Ruby Veil) Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

42248889._SY475_20201022-144540_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Mara Fitzgerald author of Beyond The Ruby Veil. Read on for more about Mara and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Mara Fitzgerald ! Mara Fitzgerald  writes YA fantasy about unlikable female characters who ruin everything. She is a biologist by...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading!
Thursday, 22 October 2020 12:39
Andrea Cerda
Looks like my type of read and the cover is gorgeous!
Thursday, 22 October 2020 15:06
Abigail Lowry
This book looks amazing! Can’t wait to read!
Thursday, 22 October 2020 16:29
  346 Hits
  4 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...

Latest Member Reviews

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."
Warriors of Wing and Flame (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #2)
 
4.0
"WARRIORS OF WING AND FLAME is an intriguing conclusion to a YA fantasy duology about sisterhood. This book picks up..."
Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sisters of Shadow and Light, #1)
 
3.7
"SISTERS OF SHADOW AND LIGHT is an intriguing YA fantasy that focuses on the love between sisters. Zuhra has lived..."