The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Sisters of Sword and Song (Rebecca Ross)

52038346
About This Book: Rebecca Ross, acclaimed author of The Queen’s Rising duology, delivers a thrilling new fantasy about the lengths two sisters will go for each other. Perfect for fans of Ember in the Ashes, Sky In the Deep, and Court of Fives. After eight years, Evadne will finally be reunited...
Continue reading
  78 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Thank You, Helpers! (Patricia Hegarty) ~ US Only

Giveaway: Thank You, Helpers! (Patricia Hegarty) ~ US Only

Thank You, Helpers! (US Only) by: Patricia Hagerty Release Date: June 30th, 2020 Publisher: Random House BYR   About the Book: A joyous, rhyming celebration of all the essential workers who help us everyday! From healthcare workers, to delivery people, grocery workers, teachers, and more, readers can cheer for these heroes!...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, my twins would love it!
Friday, 03 July 2020 16:04
  73 Hits
  1 Comment

12 Children's Books for 4th of July that Celebrate Diversity

_20200703-160946_1











12 Kids’ Books for Independence Day That Celebrate American Diversity and Perseverance    Independence Day is about more than fireworks and flag-waving. It’s about celebrating what unites us as Americans: a spirit of inclusion and perseverance. In honor of the 4th of July, here are some wonderful, complex, and beautifully-illustrated books...
Continue reading
  87 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Outlawed (Sherwood Outlaws, #1) (Hayley Osborn)

49668915._SX318_SY475_
About This Book: Changing history is easy. It’s what comes after that’s difficult. Travelling through time to twelfth century England was never on Maryanne Warren’s to do list. Not that modern-day life’s going so well, but at least her little brother is in it. He’s the only reason she’s climbed out...
Continue reading
  137 Hits
  0 Comment

Exclusive Trailer Reveal: Golden Dreg Boy (D.K. Dailey), Plus Giveaway!

53041779._SY475_




Today we're excited to share the trailer for Golden Dreg Boy (D.K. Dailey) ! Read on for more about author D.K. Dailey, and her book, plus the trailer & giveaway!     Meet D.K. Dailey !   D.K. Dailey has a problem: kind of like I see dead people but for...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Looks good!
Thursday, 02 July 2020 11:41
  159 Hits
  1 Comment

It's Live! Cover Reveal: Our Friendship Matters by Kimberley B. Jones

OFM-Book-Cover-final-header


Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Our Friendship Matters by Kimberley B. Jones, releasing July 2020 from Rhetaskew Publishing Company, LLC! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: If we understand each culture, there is always room for change. Let's stop repeating the past,...
Continue reading
  209 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Revenge of the Sluts by Natalie Walton

revebge-final-heade_20200701-144634_1


Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Revenge of the Sluts by Natalie Walton, releasing 2/2/2021 from Wattpad Books! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC! I am so, so, so excited to be sharing the cover of my debut novel, REVENGE...
Continue reading
  701 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Path We Take (Young Love #2) (Kylie Key)

53152611._SY475_
About This Book: He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt He’s fighting for his life A knee injury turns my world upside down, putting my gymnastics scholarship in doubt. As I wait for surgery, I’m persuaded into volunteering to help with my college applications. The boy called Spider has no family...
Continue reading
  168 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: The Unleashed (Danielle Vega), Plus Excerpt!

9780451481498

The Unleashed (US Only) by: Danielle Vega Release Date: July 7th, 2020 Publisher: Razorbill   About the Book: In the terrifying sequel to  The Haunted , Hendricks discovers that even though Steele House is gone, the hauntings in Drearfield are far from over -- and it's up to her to stop...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Love the cover, the book looks great!
Wednesday, 01 July 2020 12:26
  195 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Cat Scully (Jennifer Strange), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

JS




  Today we're excited to chat with Cat Scully author of Jennifer Strange. Read on for more about Cat and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Cat Scully !         Cat Scully is the writer and illustrator of YA horror illustrated novel  JENNIFER   STRANGE...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
The book looks so fun, and love all the cool swag!
Tuesday, 30 June 2020 13:02
Jessica
This looks super cool! I love a good "ghost" story!
Tuesday, 30 June 2020 21:04
  411 Hits
  2 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....
Doodleville
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Drew is just a regular artist. But there's nothing ordinary...
Glitch
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the critically acclaimed author of Float comes a new...

Latest Member Reviews

Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March's novel LITTLE WOMEN has done well. Her publisher and readers want a sequel. Only Jo's having a hard..."
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
"BATMAN TALES: ONCE UPON A CRIME reimagines fairytales as Batman stories. There are four main stories in this graphic novel...."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
"Thomas' father perished in a mining accident, so when his mother became ill and died, he ended up with his..."
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
"BO THE BRAVE is a delightful story about courage and not judging others too quickly. Bo lives with her brothers,..."
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
"DOUBLE TROUBLE! features twins, Ellis and Erin, who are looking for trouble. They search all over the house, in the..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
"Kenzie and her best friend Shelley love roller derby, a sport in which they are interested because Kenzie's mother is..."
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
"Nina is nine years old, and struggling with several things. Her father has to spend his week working away from..."
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
"After Nina Soni, Former Best Friend, Nina is back, and this time is concerned that her little sister is a..."
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
"Lucy and Oliver Tinker and their father Charles are getting settled into Watch Hollow after their harrowing introduction to it..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
"King's friend Thor is in big trouble. His owner, Jillian, got a call from the grumpy Mr. Gary that Thor..."
Doodleville
 
4.5
"Drew loves to draw, and has a notebook full of doodles with whom she interacts. When she takes her sketch..."
Glitch
 
4.0
"Regan has been identified as someone who has the ability to "glitch", or travel through time, and is a student..."
Storm Dog
 
4.0
"Ariel has a difficult home life in her Blue Ridge Mountain home in Virginia. It's not because of economics; her..."