The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: The Lost Prince (Cait Marie)

51bh8gn6A9L
About This Book: A mythical healing flower. A fractured kingdom. A curse unbroken. Adalina and Shane will do whatever it takes to protect their people. Even if that means working with the "enemy." They stopped one tragedy, but now they face an even bigger challenge. Their only hope lies in the...
Continue reading
  104 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Prepped (Bethany Mangle)

51SyNIp95wL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: For fans of Jeff Zentner and Katie Henry comes a thrilling and funny debut about a teen raised in a doomsday community who plots her escape with the boy from the bunker next door. Always be ready for the worst day of your life. This is the mantra...
Continue reading
  134 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Anchored (Bridget E. Baker)

41k3AMv6eqL
About This Book: Two worlds, one fate … Alora was born with the ability to Lift, a power no other women on Terra possess. If the wrong people find out, there’s no telling what will happen. But when she almost kills a man in self-defense, her secret is exposed and she’s...
Continue reading
  159 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: The Brighter The Stars (Bryan Prosek) ~ (US Only)

tbt_20210224-163044_1


   The Brighter The Stars (US Only) Author: Bryan Prosek Release Date: November 10th, 2020 Publisher: CamCat Publishing       About The Book Caught between love and revenge, Jake has one chance to live up to the man his uncle was. Earth crashed into interstellar politics as a lightweight, lagging...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:33
  232 Hits
  1 Comment

Waiting on Wednesday ~ February 24, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating. *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Promotions Manager)    This Way Madness Lies: 15 of Shakespeare's Most Notable Works Reimagined Author:  Dahlia Adler Expected publication:  March 16, 2021 In That...
Continue reading
  126 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Muted (Tami Charles)

5145kKyB17L
About This Book: A ripped-from-the-headlines novel of ambition, music, and innocence lost, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo and Jason Reynolds! Be bold. Get seen. Be Heard.For seventeen-year-old Denver, music is everything. Writing, performing, and her ultimate goal: escaping her very small, very white hometown.So Denver is more than ready on...
Continue reading
  141 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Like Home (Louisa Onome), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

978059317259_20210223-171301_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Like Home (Louisa Onome).  Read on for more about Louisa, an excerpt & plus giveaway!         Meet Louisa Onome ! Louisa Onomé holds a BA in professional writing from York University and lives in Toronto. Her debut novel is Like Home ....
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 12:27
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Keia
I love this cover!
Thursday, 25 February 2021 21:32
  241 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: A Dark and Hollow Star (Ashley Shuttleworth)

51T76qMNIL._SX326_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The Cruel Prince meets City of Bones in this thrilling urban fantasy set in the magical underworld of Toronto that follows a queer cast of characters racing to stop a serial killer whose crimes could expose the hidden world of faeries to humans. Choose your player. The “ironborn”...
Continue reading
  188 Hits
  0 Comment

YABC's Buzzworthy Books Of Winter 2021 Plus GIVEAWAY!! (Round One) ~ (US Only)

b2ap3_large_b2ap3_large_BuzzWorthy-Book_20210223-040922_1





















Which ones are we buzzing about? Check out our list and be sure to enter the awesome giveaway that we are hosting!!!       Padawan Reath Silas is being sent from the cosmopolitan galactic capital of Coruscant to the undeveloped frontier—and he couldn’t be less happy about it. He’d rather...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Wow, so many great books, hope I win!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 10:41
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!!
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:07
Abigail Lowry
These are all such great books!
Wednesday, 24 February 2021 12:30
  338 Hits
  4 Comments

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold + Giveaway (US/Canada)

NamesinaJar-final-header


We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Names in a Jar by Jennifer Gold, releasing 9/14/2021 from Second Story Press! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:   When you change your name, do you change who you are? A World War Two story...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it.
Monday, 22 February 2021 15:07
Andrea Cerda
This is awesome! Thanks for the opportunity!!!!! plus the book looks awesome! love the cover
Tuesday, 23 February 2021 16:08
Dianna G.
The cover is chilling with that skull! I am afraid the story will be so emotional that I can't handle the sadness.
Thursday, 25 February 2021 20:11
  183 Hits
  3 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."