The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Forward March (Carey Anne Farrell)

41572870._SY475_
About This Book: "FORWARD MARCH made me snort with laughter even as my heart was aching. Meghan's journey from newbie to seasoned band nerd is worthy of a standing ovation." —Lisa Jenn Bigelow (author of DRUM ROLL, PLEASE) Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band locker room. That’s what...
Continue reading
  95 Hits
  0 Comment

What's Hot in KU

KU-Logo-2








Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library.  Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimited reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we thought...
Continue reading
  93 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Sea of Kings by Melissa Hope + Giveaway (US Only)

YABC-cover-reveal


Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  Sea of Kings by Melissa Hope, releasing 12/1/2020 from Jolly Fish Press / North Star Editions! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi, YABC! I’m SO excited to reveal my cover today with you! My name...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kasia
Love the cover, and I can't wait to read the book!
Thursday, 20 February 2020 15:04
Holly Davis
The cover looks so cool! I can't wait to read this and see all my friend's hard work come to fruition. ... Read More
Friday, 21 February 2020 13:38
  423 Hits
  2 Comments

Spotlight on Rover Throws A Party (Kristin L Gray), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

51231848._SX318_SY475_



Today we're excited to spotlight Rover Throws A Party  by Kristin Gray.  Read on for more about Jillian and her book, plus an giveaway!            Meet Kristin Gray ! Kristin L. Gray writes books (funny, not sad) from her home in northwest Arkansas. Her debut novel, Vilonia...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
This book sounds great! Love the art style of the cover and the subject matter! Can't wait to get a copy for my twins who are inte... Read More
Thursday, 20 February 2020 11:43
  167 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: Famous By Default (M.K. Harkins)

30770750._SY475_
About This Book: Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape the limelight, And finally, I do. Being raised as a Jayne, I'm under constant scrutiny. The rock band my brothers formed makes it impossible to stay under the radar. Paparazzi, tabloids, rabid fans--you name it and I've got it....
Continue reading
  124 Hits
  0 Comment

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Bitterwine Oath by Hannah West + Giveaway (US Only)

YABC-cover-reveal-green


Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  The Bitterwine Oath by Hannah West, releasing 12/1/2020 from Holiday House Publishing Inc.! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi YABC readers! Today I’m delighted to share with you the cover I’ve been secretly obsessing over...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Shannon Mizikoski
I loooove the sound of this one and how it combines so many genres! The synopsis has definitely drawn me in, now I want to know wh... Read More
Wednesday, 19 February 2020 20:28
  296 Hits
  1 Comment

Author Chat with Elana K Arnold (Red Hood), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

RedHood-HC



  Today we're excited to chat with Elana K Arnold author of Red Hood. Read on for more about Elana and her book, plus an giveaway.         Meet Elana K Arnold!          Elana K. Arnold is the author of many books for kids and teens,...
Continue reading
  220 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Pet (Akwaeke Emezi)

38612739
About This Book:  The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke Emezi that explores themes of identity and justice. Pet is here to hunt a monster. Are you brave enough to look? There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught. Jam and...
Continue reading
  126 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Helena Ku Rhee (The Paper Kingdom), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

50090434._SX318_SY475_



  Today we're excited to chat with Helena Ku Rhee author of The Paper Kingdom. Read on for more about Helena and her book, plus an giveaway.         Meet Helena Ku Rhee!         Helena Ku Rhee grew up in Los Angeles, but has also lived...
Continue reading
  211 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Seven Deadly Shadows (Courtney Alameda)

31248158._SY475_
About This Book: Kira Fujikawa has always been a girl on the fringe. Bullied by her peers and ignored by her parents, the only place Kira’s ever felt at home is at her grandfather’s Shinto shrine, where she trains to be a priestess. But Kira’s life is shattered on the night...
Continue reading
  195 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."