The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Featured Review: Tears of Frost (Bree Barton)

51SdUdKC8L._SX330_BO1204203200_
About This Book: This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of Thorns trilogy deftly explores the effects of power in a dark magical kingdom—and the fierce courage it takes to claim your body as your own. This feminist teen fantasy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh...
Continue reading
  142 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Across the Green Grass Fields (Seanan McGuire)

51CYm1MyIbL
About This Book: A young girl discovers a portal to a land filled with centaurs and unicorns in Seanan McGuire's Across the Green Grass Fields, a standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series. “Welcome to the Hooflands. We’re happy to have you, even if you being here...
Continue reading
  140 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Ever After (Amanda Hocking)

51WwGTPoAZL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book:  Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The Kanin Chronicles, returns to the magical world of the Trylle Trilogy with The Ever After, the final novel in The Omte Origins arc. Buried memories… Ulla Tulin has lost a month of her life. Her journey to learn...
Continue reading
  173 Hits
  0 Comment

What's Hot in KU

What's Hot in KU
Book Cover for Curvy Girls Can't Date Best Friends
Book Cover for It Had to be Mason
Book Cover for My After-School Tutor
Book Cover for Tomboy Crazy for My Brother's Best Friend
Book Cover for The Lovely One
Book Cover for The Theory of the Boy Next Door
Book Cover for Swimming Upstream
Book Cover for Picturing Different
Book Cover for The Final Chance
  Welcome to YA Books Central's "What's Hot in KU" post. This weekly event will highlight what's hot, new and exciting in the Amazon Kindle Unlimited Library.  Amazon's Kindle Unlimited subscription is a great way to enjoy unlimited reading on a tight budget. With over a million titles and counting, we...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Dianna G.
I just learned about the Curvy Girl series -- checking it out to see if my teen daughter would enjoy it!
Saturday, 16 January 2021 20:04
  216 Hits
  1 Comment

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Last Words We Said by Leah Scheier + Giveaway (US/Canada)

The-Last-Words-We-Said-header

We're so excited to celebrate the cover reveal for  The Last Words We Said by Leah Scheier, releasing 8/31/2021 from Simon & Schuster! Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author: Hi, YABC readers! I'm so excited to share the cover for my upcoming novel, THE LAST...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Thursday, 14 January 2021 13:07
Andrea Cerda
Book looks great and lover the cover
Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:14
Monica
OMG I love this cover so much, its absolutely adorable and stands out since its a drawing and not a graphic. Looking forward to re... Read More
Saturday, 16 January 2021 19:10
  508 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Bethany Mangle (Prepped), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

816CnbNYv_20210112-013158_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Bethany Mangle author of Prepped. Read on for more about Bethany and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Bethany Mangle ! Bethany Mangle writes young adult contemporary fiction because she refuses to ever grow up. She graduated from Hood College and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Thursday, 14 January 2021 13:08
Andrea Cerda
book look great and interesting!
Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:17
Dianna G.
This sounds like a very unusual coming of age story! The cover made me curious.
Thursday, 14 January 2021 18:54
  215 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: The Broken Raven (Joseph Elliott)

51wD7TUHu1L._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In the heart-pounding second book in the Shadow Skye trilogy, unlikely heroes Agatha and Jaime must fight for their clan’s home when a new danger comes to the Isle of Skye. After their escape from Norveg, Agatha and Jaime return with their clan to the Isle of Skye...
Continue reading
  203 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Concrete Rose (Angie Thomas) ~ (US Only)

Concrete-Ros_20210111-221121_1


Concrete Rose (US Only) by: Angie Thomas Release Date: January 12th, 2021 Publisher: Balzer + Bray       About the Book: International phenomenon Angie Thomas revisits Garden Heights seventeen years before the events of The Hate U Give in this searing and poignant exploration of Black boyhood and manhood. If...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 14:52
Kiara T.
This book looks great!
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 18:40
  206 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ January 13, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Samantha’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    Darling Author:  K. Ancrum Expected publication:  June 22, 2021 A teen girl finds herself lost on a dangerous adventure...
Continue reading
  170 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Soul of Cinder (Bree Barton)

51PMB-hisJL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The shattering conclusion to Bree Barton’s Heart of Thorns trilogy challenges why we grieve, whom we love—and how to mend a broken heart. This fiercely feminist YA series is a must-read for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor! Prince Quin has returned to the river kingdom, ready...
Continue reading
  217 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."