The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest news and info regarding YABooksCentral.com

Kids Review: Liz's Pie in the Sky (23) (The Critter Club) (Callie Barkley)

71H94Y0RUpL
About This Book: In this twenty-third book of the Critter Club series, Liz and her friends spend a festive fall weekend at Marigold Lake. They bake pies, go on nature walks, and help a goose keep up with his flock! Liz and her friends are at Marigold Lake for a festive...
Continue reading
  68 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Gilded Cage (Lynette Noni)

51RjrXpk11L._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Kiva trades one cage for another when she leaves behind a deadly prison for a deceptive palace in this dark and dangerous sequel to The Prison Healer, which Sarah J. Maas called "a must-read." Kiva Meridan is a survivor. She survived not only Zalindov prison, but also the...
Continue reading
  88 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Emma Otheguy (Sofia Acosta Makes A Scene), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

9780593372630-_20220123-032350_1



Today we are chatting with Emma Otheguy, author of Sofia Acosta Makes a Scene ! Read on for more about Emma, her book and giveaway!         Meet Emma Otheguy !     Emma Otheguy is the author of the middle-grade novel Silver Meadows Summer (Knopf, 2019) and the bilingual picture...
Continue reading
  87 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Bisa's Carnaval (Joanna Pastro)

918aGnwRjUL
About This Book: Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes of a young girl and her great-grandmother as they share in the excitement of Carnaval! It's time for Carnaval and Clara cannot wait to celebrate her favorite holiday with family, but especially with her great-grandmother. Even if Bisa...
Continue reading
  128 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: The Supervillain's Guide to Being a Fat Kid (Matt Wallace)

81Vvz4V2UNL
About This Book: Matt Wallace, author of Bump, presents a personal, humorous, and body-positive middle grade standalone about a fat kid who wants to stop his bullies . . . and enlists the help of the world’s most infamous supervillain. Perfect for fans of Holly Goldberg Sloan, Julie Murphy, and John...
Continue reading
  120 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Heartwood Crown (Matt Mikalatos)

51wg8L33EyL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: After destroying the Crescent Stone, Madeline returns home, bringing Shula and Yenil with her. As her health continues to deteriorate, Madeline feels the Sunlit Lands calling her back. Meanwhile, Jason, Darius, and the rest of the inhabitants of the Sunlit Lands fight for survival and freedom. The magic...
Continue reading
  92 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: A HUNDRED THOUSAND WELCOMES (Mary Lee Donovan)

81eu5d0YjsS
About This Book: Welcome, come in! You are invited to travel to homes around the world in this beautifully illustrated picture book about hospitality and acceptance, which features the word "welcome" from more than fourteen languages. Fans of Here We Are and The Wonderful Things You Will Be will enjoy this...
Continue reading
  161 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Kindred (Alechia Dow)

41ZBVcdd4ML._SX328_BO1204203200_
About This Book: To save a galactic kingdom from revolution, Kindred mind-pairings were created to ensure each and every person would be seen and heard, no matter how rich or poor… Joy Abara knows her place. A commoner from the lowly planet Hali, she lives a simple life—apart from the notoriety...
Continue reading
  114 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Elana K. Arnold (Just Harriet), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

Just-Harrie_20220123-030058_1



Today we are chatting with Elana K. Arnold, author of Just Harriet ! Read on for more about Elana, her book and giveaway!         Meet Elana K. Arnold !            Elana K. Arnold  is the award-winning author of many books for children and teens,...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Kelly McCreery
This looks like such a wonderfully sweet story and Harriet is adorable! I feel like this generation of kiddos needs their own Ramo... Read More
Friday, 28 January 2022 10:42
Melanie Bracco
Sounds like a good story, and the cover is super cute!
Friday, 28 January 2022 15:51
  218 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ January 26, 2022

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.     *Kim’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer) Only a Monster Author:  Vanessa Len Expected publication:  February 22, 2022 The sweeping romance of Passenger meets the dark fantasy...
Continue reading
  105 Hits
  0 Comment