The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest reviews from the official YABC Team.

Featured Review: Tears of Frost (Bree Barton)

51SdUdKC8L._SX330_BO1204203200_
About This Book: This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of Thorns trilogy deftly explores the effects of power in a dark magical kingdom—and the fierce courage it takes to claim your body as your own. This feminist teen fantasy is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Leigh...
Continue reading
  133 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Across the Green Grass Fields (Seanan McGuire)

51CYm1MyIbL
About This Book: A young girl discovers a portal to a land filled with centaurs and unicorns in Seanan McGuire's Across the Green Grass Fields, a standalone tale in the Hugo and Nebula Award-winning Wayward Children series. “Welcome to the Hooflands. We’re happy to have you, even if you being here...
Continue reading
  135 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Ever After (Amanda Hocking)

51WwGTPoAZL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book:  Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The Kanin Chronicles, returns to the magical world of the Trylle Trilogy with The Ever After, the final novel in The Omte Origins arc. Buried memories… Ulla Tulin has lost a month of her life. Her journey to learn...
Continue reading
  171 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Broken Raven (Joseph Elliott)

51wD7TUHu1L._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: In the heart-pounding second book in the Shadow Skye trilogy, unlikely heroes Agatha and Jaime must fight for their clan’s home when a new danger comes to the Isle of Skye. After their escape from Norveg, Agatha and Jaime return with their clan to the Isle of Skye...
Continue reading
  197 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Soul of Cinder (Bree Barton)

51PMB-hisJL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: The shattering conclusion to Bree Barton’s Heart of Thorns trilogy challenges why we grieve, whom we love—and how to mend a broken heart. This fiercely feminist YA series is a must-read for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Laini Taylor! Prince Quin has returned to the river kingdom, ready...
Continue reading
  214 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: You Have a Match (Emma Lord)

41BoYWRaIiL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma Lord's You Have a Match, a YA novel of family, friendship, romance and sisterhood... When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it's mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 11:50
  204 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: Faith: Taking Flight (Julie Murphy)

41BrUjGfXJL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin’, comes the first in a two-book origin story of Faith, a groundbreaking, plus-sized superhero from the Valiant Entertainment comics. Faith Herbert is a pretty regular teen. When she’s not hanging out with her two best friends, Matt...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:14
  152 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: The Shadow Threat (Claudia Gray)

51XzzQOsFAL._SX331_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Welcome to a brand-new vision of one of comics' most famous tragedies from New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray and illustrator Eric Zawadzki. In this first graphic novel in a trilogy, explore Krypton like never before: through the eyes of two teenagers on opposite sides of the...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:14
  232 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: The Ravens (Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige)

51WX4acl7pL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From New York Times best-selling authors Kass Morgan and Danielle Paige comes a thrilling, dark contemporary fantasy about a prestigious sorority of witches and two girls caught up in its world of sinister magic and betrayals. At first glance, the sisters of ultra-exclusive Kappa Rho Nu—the Ravens—seem like...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:16
  179 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: To Whatever End (Lindsey Frydman)

51adp5FgARL._SY346_
About This Book: Quinn Easterly is cursed. With one touch, she can see the end to someone's life. Everyday deaths, and ones that haunt her in her daydreams. Ones that have always proven impossible to prevent. She has finally learned to go about life as usual until she meets Griffin. With...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Rose Mile
Getting your lover or your ex back has been made more easy by this powerful spell caster called Dr Odion. I am Rose by name and i... Read More
Wednesday, 13 January 2021 15:18
  188 Hits
  1 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
You Say It First
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
One conversation can change everything. Meg has her entire...
My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Tales from the Hinterland
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gorgeously illustrated collection of twelve “lush and deliciously...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson,...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my whole...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
Miracle Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
The Last Hurrah
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."