The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

All the latest reviews from the official YABC Team.

Kids Review: Daniel Visits the Pumpkin Patch: Ready-to-Read Pre-Level 1 (Daniel Tiger's Neighborhood) (Maggie Testa)

81BcIHQRZvL
About This Book: A new generation of children love Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, inspired by the classic series Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood! Daniel visits a pumpkin patch in this Pre-Level 1 Ready-to-Read based on the hit PBS show, Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood! Daniel Tiger is visiting a pumpkin patch with his family and friends....
Continue reading
  94 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Liar's Room (Dan Poblocki)

71SArmg-5L
About This Book: This spooky stand-alone from MG horror expert Dan Poblocki is perfect for fans of Katherine Arden and Victoria Schwab! Simon is a liar. Stella and Alex know this about their new stepbrother, so they aren't bothered by his stories about their new house. Wildwyck, a former schoolhouse for...
Continue reading
  82 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Heartbreak Bakery (A. R. Capetta)

51Aml8dg6aL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: Teenage baker Syd sends ripples of heartbreak through Austin’s queer community when a batch of post-being-dumped brownies turns out to be magical—and makes everyone who eats them break up. “What’s done is done.” Unless, of course, it was done by my brownies. Then it’s getting undone. Syd (no...
Continue reading
  96 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Countdown to Halloween!: With a Story a Day (Peanuts) (Charles M Schulz)

71Ql8cxVKZL
About This Book: Little ones can count down to Halloween with this adorable collection of thirty-one stories featuring the Peanuts gang—one for every day in October! This collection of Peanuts stories has everything Halloween—costumes, parties, trick or treating, and the Great Pumpkin! There’s a story for each day in October to...
Continue reading
  118 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: Riley's Ghost (John David Anderson)

71xk145nDDL
About This Book: Riley Flynn is alone. It feels like she’s been on her own since sixth grade, when her best friend, Emily, ditched her for the cool girls. Girls who don’t like Riley. Girls who decide one day to lock her in the science closet after hours, after everyone else...
Continue reading
  100 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: The Keeper of Night (Kylie Lee)

51Pn1M665wS
About This Book: A girl of two worlds, accepted by none… A half Reaper, half Shinigami soul collector seeks her destiny in this haunting and compulsively readable dark fantasy duology set in 1890s Japan. Death is her destiny. Half British Reaper, half Japanese Shinigami, Ren Scarborough has been collecting souls in...
Continue reading
  102 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Vespertine (Margaret Rogerson)

41jan1VC5bL._SX324_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead. The dead of Loraille do not rest. Artemisia...
Continue reading
  158 Hits
  0 Comment

Middle Grade Review: How to Find What You're Not Looking For (Veera Hiranandani)

91VrbCcBFPS
About This Book: New historical fiction from a Newbery Honor–winning author about how middle schooler Ariel Goldberg's life changes when her big sister elopes following the 1967 Loving v. Virginia decision, and she's forced to grapple with both her family's prejudice and the antisemitism she experiences, as she defines her own...
Continue reading
  126 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: Lala's Words: A Story of Planting Kindness (Gracey Zhang)

61HyePqwBjL
About This Book: From debut author-illustrator Gracey Zhang comes a timeless and timely picture book that celebrates the unassuming power of kind words. Oh, there goes Lala! She carries a pot of water around the corner, down the block, and over the fence, to a patch of dirt and concrete where...
Continue reading
  120 Hits
  0 Comment

Kids Review: The Giant How to Catch Activity Book for Kids: More than 75 Awesome Activities and 12 Magical Creatures to Discover! (With Hidden Pictures, How-to-Draws, Coloring, Dot-to-Dots and More) (Sourcebooks)

91SapFxPhGL
About This Book: From the New York Times and USA Today bestselling How to Catch series comes an epic activity book for kids! Discover the magic. Conquer the challenges. Catch the fun! With over 75 awesome activities, this fun-filled activity book is packed with unicorns, dinosaurs, monsters, and more fantastical creatures...
Continue reading
  202 Hits
  0 Comment