Casting Call: We're looking for the new YABC Intern!

Casting Call: We're looking for the new YABC Intern!

 

We are currently looking for a motivated, professional, self-starter to claim the title of YABC Intern!

Do you want to work in the publishing industry? Do you need some stellar experience on your resume? Would you like to earn course credit and get free books sent to your door each month?

The YABC Internship might be just the thing for you. YABC is one of the top online book review sites on the Web. Our previous intern earned enough credit through his YABC internship to gradutate college a semester early, and the experience he received was invaluable in the publishing and PR world. We were very sad to see him go, but we're certain the next YABC Intern will be just as professional and amazing. 

 

Here are some of the YABC Intern duties:

- adding new and upcoming releases to our database so site visitors can learn about them and post reviews
 
- featuring new releases and ramping up excitement about these wonderful books and authors
 
- interact with YABC readers through our Twitter and Facebook accounts
 
- assist in orchestrating author and publisher promotion like cover reveals and giveaways (working directly with top publishers and best-selling authors!)
 
- work directly with the head of YABC via text and email, keeping the YABC email inboxes organized so her brain doesn't leak out of her ears (this one is very important) 
 

 

Here are the characteristics we're looking for in a YABC Intern:

 
A passionate YA lover. Someone who devours YA (and kids) books on a regular basis and has a decent knowledge of the current YA market (what's out there right now). 
 
A book pusher. Someone who can't seem to help themselves when it comes to gushing about all things YA books. Someone who never tires of talking books!
 
A social media butterfly. Someone who enjoys interacting via social media. Someone who is GOOD at it. Do you have a lot of followers already? Do you enjoy figuring out how to compose a tweet or status in order to receive the highest interaction? Then this might be the geeky job you've been looking for.
 
A writer. Someone who can write clearly and concisely, free of spelling and grammar errors. Someone who can self-proof their work. Perfectionists welcome! :)
 
A blog wizard. Someone who is already familiar with posting blog articles using both HTML and Compose functions. Someone who understands how to navigate HTML for light coding purposes, and who can edit images by resizing, cropping, and justifying correctly on a page. Someone who has "an eye" for online article design. We want our blog posts to be appealing to our readers. We want them to be PRETTEH. That means each post needs consistency and style. 
 
A respectful and professional communicator. Someone who can represent YABC positively across social media platforms and to our author and publisher partners via email correspondence. Someone who makes YABC look GOOD.
 
A self-starter. Someone who can keep track of time-sensitive promotion and keep a personal work schedule. In the world of online PR, there isn't much hand-holding. A lot of the time you're on your own! We need someone who can be in charge of their own schedule without falling behind or letting YABC events slip through the cracks. The YABC intern must have impeccable scheduling and prioritizing skills. If you live and die by your daily planner, you might be perfect for this job!
 
An email organizer. Someone who can't stand a messy inbox, who knows how to filter and create folders, and reply to new emails in a timely fashion. 
 
A dedicated team member. Someone who can commit to a few hours a month. Someone YABC (and the readers and authors and publishers) can count on. 
 
 

Here's what you get out of it:

In addition to the invaluable experience gained working behind the scenes with a top book blog and review site, the YABC Intern will receive two (2) free books a month chosen from the YABC Prize Shelf. Applicants must have a valid US mailing address.
 
There is a definite opportunity for course credit, but it all depends on your degree and what your college accepts as a valid internship. Credit must be organized by you with your advisor or professor. Although we cannot organize the credit for you, we are happy to provide any paperwork or correspondence you need to make this happen. If you are unsure about credit, talk to your advisor right away to see if the YABC Internship is acceptable. 
 
 
 
If the YABC Internship sound up your alley, let us know. Fill out the form below. We will contact you if you are chosen to be considered for the internship. 
 
 
 
 

 

Giveaway: The Maze Runner (US Only)
BLOG TOUR: BLACKBIRD by Anna Carey
 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."