Bookstagrammer of the Month: Elizabeth from @elizabeth_sagan!

elizabeth_sagan

Welcome to our monthly special feature post, Bookstagrammer Of The Month!

Each month we will be interviewing a different Bookstagrammer  (Book lover/photographer on Instagram) who will share with us a bit of their experience with the #Bookstagram community! Use #YABCfeature for a chance to featured! :)

Introducing Elizabeth of @elizabeth_sagan, YABC's Bookstagrammer of the Month!! 

 
Co-founder of @mybookfeatures. Finished Law School in February and took a few months off to focus on a project.

Twitter | Instagram Goodreads 


How long have you been part of the Bookstagram community?

I started my bookstagram account at the beginning of 2016, so it’s been almost 3 years.


Can you tell us a bit about your feed/style and how it has changed over time?

At first my feed was really simple – I only took pics of the book covers (I actually deleted a good amount of those first pics, aprox. 300 haha). In summer 2017 I started incorporating my face and body in my pics and this was the moment my account really started to grow. It’s funny that sometimes I’m looking back at those first pics and I remember thinking that what I was doing then was difficult.

What is the silliest thing you've ever done for the sake of a photo?

I unknowingly sat on an anthill, wondering why am I feeling so many stings on my thighs.

Another time James and I went into the forest with 2 bags full of books and tried to take pics... however, it was summer and it was FULL of mosquitoes. And when I’m saying FULL, I’m saying that while he was taking the pics, I was fanning with a shirt around me and him to shoo the mosquitos. It got so bad that we had to go back home almost running.


When do you make time for taking photos? Do you usually plan ahead or take photos as you go?

I’m taking my pics in batches. Every month I’m going to James Trevino’s place and for a whole week we’re taking pics. A batch usually translated to 16-20 pics that last for another month. So they are obviously planned – I’m a big fan of journaling and I’m writing my ideas in my notebook – they are usually poorly drawn sketches (they are so bad it’s not even funny). But hey, at least the pics look good!


See on Instagram


What type of camera do you use?

Nikon 1 NIKKOR.


What are some of your favorite props (besides books, of course ;) )?

Pretty dresses and, as of lately, colourful backgrounds. I would like to have more props, for example, I would like to be able to do cosplays of different characters, but that would be pretty expensive. Maybe one day.


(See on Instagram)


What books/series do you tend to photograph the most?

Fantasy books, since there are a lot of them on James’ shelves.


What book color do you wish you had more of in your shelves for photography?

We need more yellow/orange spines! Especially yellow. I actually brought from my house every book that has yellow/orange spine and there are still too few!


(See on Instagram)


Which of your photos is your absolute favorite and why?

This one:


(See on Instagram)

It’s... aaah... because I look sexy and I’m usually a pajama-all-day type of girl. So this look surprised me :))

What is the thing you love most about Bookstagramming?

I love the fact that I’m keeping an eye on the publishing industry – Bookstagram is the place where I find my next read, what books are trendy, which author is popular now and so on, and it’s how I discovered a lot of great books and authors. I really wouldn’t know where to look if Bookstagram would suddenly disappear. I don’t watch Booktube (maybe I should), and Goodreads doesn’t do it for me – I’m only using it to keep track of my reads and to check other people’s reviews of the books that I’m interested in, but it’s not really a place for book recommendations like Bookstagram is.

What are a few of your favorite Bookstagram accounts?

Aside from @james_trevino who doesn’t count haha, @bookishbronte is my numero uno favourite account. @thomreads is also a great inspiration, I wish I knew about him when I started college – he would have motivated me to learn big time.


Do you have any tips for new Bookstagram accounts that you wish you knew when you started?

The tips that I wish I knew when I started bookstagramming wouldn’t work now haha. Things changed a lot, starting with the moment when the feed stopped being chronological. My tips depend on the reason you are on Bookstagram. If you want to keep in touch with the new books and want to share your reads, in other words, if this is a hobby, then keep it as a hobby. The moment you start to get stressed and feel like social media starts getting too much (and it happens more than you might think), take a break.

If you want to grow your account, then: post constantly, at least 4-5 days per week, ask a QOTD at the beginning of the captions, use hashtags, engage, respond to your comments, comment to other people’s pics, focus on good quality content, write meaningful captions, create a style/theme of your own, don’t ever post theme dividers aaand, that’s it :))


Lastly, what are you currently reading and what has been your favorite read this year so far?

I’m currently reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and OH MY GOD! After 2 pretty average books, this series really took off and I’m stealing every moment I can to read a few more pages!

As for my favourite read this year, it actually is the first book that I’ve read in 2018 – The Passage by Justin Cronin. It was a really good start.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by YABC, Elizabeth! We are in love with your account and we cannot wait to see more of your amazing bookish photos on #bookstagram! ♥

Featured Review: Dark Fates by GK DeRosa & J.N. Co...
Author Chat with Michelle Kenney (City of Dust), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In his fiction debut--and the start of a new series--celebrated...
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a boy receives a gift box from his uncle...
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Manners don’t come naturally to everyone! But did you know...
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable spooky twist on "The Teeny Tiny Woman" that's...
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hop into the world of Peter Rabbit and his friends...
Solving for M
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Raymie Nightingale and The Fourteenth Goldfish,...
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times–bestselling and Caldecott Medalist Kevin Henkes follows five...
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When superstitious Sab sees a giant black butterfly, an omen...
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A Caldecott Honor Book An...
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When a family car gets a flat on the way...
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In cut-paper artist Nikki McClure’s latest picture book, a kitten...
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Three BFFs set out to have the BEST SUMMER EVER...
Finding Esme
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Esme’s life changes when she discovers dinosaur bones on...
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join these happy pumpkins in a cheerful rhyming countdown, in...
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Set on the shores of Lake Superior, Wreck follows high...
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Benji and Red couldn't be more different. They aren't friends....

Latest Member Reviews

My Almost Flawless Tokyo Dream Life
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old foster kid Elle Zoellner's life turns topsy turvy when a father, she never knew about, wants her to move..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
My Funny Bunny
 
3.0
"MY FUNNY BUNNY is about dealing with disappointments and not judging others too quickly. It's the main character's sixth birthday,..."
Kindness Rules! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
4.5
"KINDNESS RULES! is a fun new manners book, perfect for preschoolers. Magic Manners, an elephant who knows her stuff, teaches..."
Teeny Tiny Ghost
 
5.0
"Be prepared to fall in love with the tenacious TEENY TINY GHOST in this sweet book, perfect for Halloween. The..."
Solving for M
 
5.0
"SOLVING FOR M is a beautiful and enthralling middle grade novel about finding your way in a new school and..."
A Pumpkin for Peter: A Peter Rabbit Tale
 
5.0
"A PUMPKIN FOR PETER tells the story of when Peter Rabbit went with his mother and sisters to go pick..."
A Parade of Elephants
 
4.5
"Five elephants march along the pages of Kevin Henkes's picture book, A PARADE OF ELEPHANTS. As they make their way..."
My Fate According To The Butterfly
 
5.0
"My Fate According to the Butterfly is probably the first Middle Grade novel I’ve read in a very long time...."
Truly Madly Royally
 
3.0
"I’d be lying if I didn’t say that half of the reason why I read this was because it’s a..."
The Rough Patch
 
5.0
"In THE ROUGH PATCH, Evan's best friend is his dog, and they do everything together. Author and illustrator Brian Lies..."
How to Be a Cat
 
5.0
"HOW TO BE A CAT is an elegant book of verbs. Two cats give actions throughout their day, including scratch,..."
Sunny's Tow Truck Saves the Day!
 
5.0
"SUNNY'S TOW TRUCK SAVES THE DAY! is a delightful picture book about a family on their way to picnic who..."
TBH, IDK What's Next (TBH, #4)
 
4.5
"TBH, IDK WHAT'S NEXT follows four best friends over their summer before seventh grade. They are all determined to have..."
Finding Esme
 
3.3
"Esme feels alone. Her much-loved grandfather died, her dad deserted the family, her mom has mentally checked out, and her..."
House of Salt and Sorrows
 
4.3
"Annaleigh just wanted to be in charge of the lighthouse close to her island home. Rumors circulate on the island..."
Five Little Pumpkins on Halloween Night
 
5.0
"FIVE LITTLE PUMPKINS ON HALLOWEEN NIGHT is a cute board book that celebrates Halloween with a counting of pumpkins! In..."
Wreck: A Novel
 
4.3
"WRECK is a heart-wrenching story about a teenage girl on the brink of college as she discovers her father's life-altering..."
The Madman of Piney Woods
 
4.0
"THE MADMAN OF PINEY WOODS follows two young boys in Canada as their lives are changing and intersecting. Benji Alston..."
Wintercake
 
4.0
"WINTERCAKE is a lovely picture book that celebrates friendship and the holiday spirit. Thomas is about to make a wintercake..."