Bookstagrammer of the Month: Elizabeth from @elizabeth_sagan!

elizabeth_sagan

Welcome to our monthly special feature post, Bookstagrammer Of The Month!

Each month we will be interviewing a different Bookstagrammer  (Book lover/photographer on Instagram) who will share with us a bit of their experience with the #Bookstagram community! Use #YABCfeature for a chance to featured! :)

Introducing Elizabeth of @elizabeth_sagan, YABC's Bookstagrammer of the Month!! 

 
Co-founder of @mybookfeatures. Finished Law School in February and took a few months off to focus on a project.

Twitter | Instagram Goodreads 


How long have you been part of the Bookstagram community?

I started my bookstagram account at the beginning of 2016, so it’s been almost 3 years.


Can you tell us a bit about your feed/style and how it has changed over time?

At first my feed was really simple – I only took pics of the book covers (I actually deleted a good amount of those first pics, aprox. 300 haha). In summer 2017 I started incorporating my face and body in my pics and this was the moment my account really started to grow. It’s funny that sometimes I’m looking back at those first pics and I remember thinking that what I was doing then was difficult.

What is the silliest thing you've ever done for the sake of a photo?

I unknowingly sat on an anthill, wondering why am I feeling so many stings on my thighs.

Another time James and I went into the forest with 2 bags full of books and tried to take pics... however, it was summer and it was FULL of mosquitoes. And when I’m saying FULL, I’m saying that while he was taking the pics, I was fanning with a shirt around me and him to shoo the mosquitos. It got so bad that we had to go back home almost running.


When do you make time for taking photos? Do you usually plan ahead or take photos as you go?

I’m taking my pics in batches. Every month I’m going to James Trevino’s place and for a whole week we’re taking pics. A batch usually translated to 16-20 pics that last for another month. So they are obviously planned – I’m a big fan of journaling and I’m writing my ideas in my notebook – they are usually poorly drawn sketches (they are so bad it’s not even funny). But hey, at least the pics look good!


See on Instagram


What type of camera do you use?

Nikon 1 NIKKOR.


What are some of your favorite props (besides books, of course ;) )?

Pretty dresses and, as of lately, colourful backgrounds. I would like to have more props, for example, I would like to be able to do cosplays of different characters, but that would be pretty expensive. Maybe one day.


(See on Instagram)


What books/series do you tend to photograph the most?

Fantasy books, since there are a lot of them on James’ shelves.


What book color do you wish you had more of in your shelves for photography?

We need more yellow/orange spines! Especially yellow. I actually brought from my house every book that has yellow/orange spine and there are still too few!


(See on Instagram)


Which of your photos is your absolute favorite and why?

This one:


(See on Instagram)

It’s... aaah... because I look sexy and I’m usually a pajama-all-day type of girl. So this look surprised me :))

What is the thing you love most about Bookstagramming?

I love the fact that I’m keeping an eye on the publishing industry – Bookstagram is the place where I find my next read, what books are trendy, which author is popular now and so on, and it’s how I discovered a lot of great books and authors. I really wouldn’t know where to look if Bookstagram would suddenly disappear. I don’t watch Booktube (maybe I should), and Goodreads doesn’t do it for me – I’m only using it to keep track of my reads and to check other people’s reviews of the books that I’m interested in, but it’s not really a place for book recommendations like Bookstagram is.

What are a few of your favorite Bookstagram accounts?

Aside from @james_trevino who doesn’t count haha, @bookishbronte is my numero uno favourite account. @thomreads is also a great inspiration, I wish I knew about him when I started college – he would have motivated me to learn big time.


Do you have any tips for new Bookstagram accounts that you wish you knew when you started?

The tips that I wish I knew when I started bookstagramming wouldn’t work now haha. Things changed a lot, starting with the moment when the feed stopped being chronological. My tips depend on the reason you are on Bookstagram. If you want to keep in touch with the new books and want to share your reads, in other words, if this is a hobby, then keep it as a hobby. The moment you start to get stressed and feel like social media starts getting too much (and it happens more than you might think), take a break.

If you want to grow your account, then: post constantly, at least 4-5 days per week, ask a QOTD at the beginning of the captions, use hashtags, engage, respond to your comments, comment to other people’s pics, focus on good quality content, write meaningful captions, create a style/theme of your own, don’t ever post theme dividers aaand, that’s it :))


Lastly, what are you currently reading and what has been your favorite read this year so far?

I’m currently reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and OH MY GOD! After 2 pretty average books, this series really took off and I’m stealing every moment I can to read a few more pages!

As for my favourite read this year, it actually is the first book that I’ve read in 2018 – The Passage by Justin Cronin. It was a really good start.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by YABC, Elizabeth! We are in love with your account and we cannot wait to see more of your amazing bookish photos on #bookstagram! ♥

Featured Review: Dark Fates by GK DeRosa & J.N. Co...
Author Chat with Michelle Kenney (City of Dust), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...

Latest Member Reviews

The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."