Bookstagrammer of the Month: Elizabeth from @elizabeth_sagan!

elizabeth_sagan

Welcome to our monthly special feature post, Bookstagrammer Of The Month!

Each month we will be interviewing a different Bookstagrammer  (Book lover/photographer on Instagram) who will share with us a bit of their experience with the #Bookstagram community! Use #YABCfeature for a chance to featured! :)

Introducing Elizabeth of @elizabeth_sagan, YABC's Bookstagrammer of the Month!! 

 
Co-founder of @mybookfeatures. Finished Law School in February and took a few months off to focus on a project.

Twitter | Instagram Goodreads 


How long have you been part of the Bookstagram community?

I started my bookstagram account at the beginning of 2016, so it’s been almost 3 years.


Can you tell us a bit about your feed/style and how it has changed over time?

At first my feed was really simple – I only took pics of the book covers (I actually deleted a good amount of those first pics, aprox. 300 haha). In summer 2017 I started incorporating my face and body in my pics and this was the moment my account really started to grow. It’s funny that sometimes I’m looking back at those first pics and I remember thinking that what I was doing then was difficult.

What is the silliest thing you've ever done for the sake of a photo?

I unknowingly sat on an anthill, wondering why am I feeling so many stings on my thighs.

Another time James and I went into the forest with 2 bags full of books and tried to take pics... however, it was summer and it was FULL of mosquitoes. And when I’m saying FULL, I’m saying that while he was taking the pics, I was fanning with a shirt around me and him to shoo the mosquitos. It got so bad that we had to go back home almost running.


When do you make time for taking photos? Do you usually plan ahead or take photos as you go?

I’m taking my pics in batches. Every month I’m going to James Trevino’s place and for a whole week we’re taking pics. A batch usually translated to 16-20 pics that last for another month. So they are obviously planned – I’m a big fan of journaling and I’m writing my ideas in my notebook – they are usually poorly drawn sketches (they are so bad it’s not even funny). But hey, at least the pics look good!


See on Instagram


What type of camera do you use?

Nikon 1 NIKKOR.


What are some of your favorite props (besides books, of course ;) )?

Pretty dresses and, as of lately, colourful backgrounds. I would like to have more props, for example, I would like to be able to do cosplays of different characters, but that would be pretty expensive. Maybe one day.


(See on Instagram)


What books/series do you tend to photograph the most?

Fantasy books, since there are a lot of them on James’ shelves.


What book color do you wish you had more of in your shelves for photography?

We need more yellow/orange spines! Especially yellow. I actually brought from my house every book that has yellow/orange spine and there are still too few!


(See on Instagram)


Which of your photos is your absolute favorite and why?

This one:


(See on Instagram)

It’s... aaah... because I look sexy and I’m usually a pajama-all-day type of girl. So this look surprised me :))

What is the thing you love most about Bookstagramming?

I love the fact that I’m keeping an eye on the publishing industry – Bookstagram is the place where I find my next read, what books are trendy, which author is popular now and so on, and it’s how I discovered a lot of great books and authors. I really wouldn’t know where to look if Bookstagram would suddenly disappear. I don’t watch Booktube (maybe I should), and Goodreads doesn’t do it for me – I’m only using it to keep track of my reads and to check other people’s reviews of the books that I’m interested in, but it’s not really a place for book recommendations like Bookstagram is.

What are a few of your favorite Bookstagram accounts?

Aside from @james_trevino who doesn’t count haha, @bookishbronte is my numero uno favourite account. @thomreads is also a great inspiration, I wish I knew about him when I started college – he would have motivated me to learn big time.


Do you have any tips for new Bookstagram accounts that you wish you knew when you started?

The tips that I wish I knew when I started bookstagramming wouldn’t work now haha. Things changed a lot, starting with the moment when the feed stopped being chronological. My tips depend on the reason you are on Bookstagram. If you want to keep in touch with the new books and want to share your reads, in other words, if this is a hobby, then keep it as a hobby. The moment you start to get stressed and feel like social media starts getting too much (and it happens more than you might think), take a break.

If you want to grow your account, then: post constantly, at least 4-5 days per week, ask a QOTD at the beginning of the captions, use hashtags, engage, respond to your comments, comment to other people’s pics, focus on good quality content, write meaningful captions, create a style/theme of your own, don’t ever post theme dividers aaand, that’s it :))


Lastly, what are you currently reading and what has been your favorite read this year so far?

I’m currently reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and OH MY GOD! After 2 pretty average books, this series really took off and I’m stealing every moment I can to read a few more pages!

As for my favourite read this year, it actually is the first book that I’ve read in 2018 – The Passage by Justin Cronin. It was a really good start.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by YABC, Elizabeth! We are in love with your account and we cannot wait to see more of your amazing bookish photos on #bookstagram! ♥

Featured Review: Dark Fates by GK DeRosa & J.N. Co...
Author Chat with Michelle Kenney (City of Dust), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."