Bookstagrammer of the Month: Elizabeth from @elizabeth_sagan!

elizabeth_sagan

Welcome to our monthly special feature post, Bookstagrammer Of The Month!

Each month we will be interviewing a different Bookstagrammer  (Book lover/photographer on Instagram) who will share with us a bit of their experience with the #Bookstagram community! Use #YABCfeature for a chance to featured! :)

Introducing Elizabeth of @elizabeth_sagan, YABC's Bookstagrammer of the Month!! 

 
Co-founder of @mybookfeatures. Finished Law School in February and took a few months off to focus on a project.

Twitter | Instagram Goodreads 


How long have you been part of the Bookstagram community?

I started my bookstagram account at the beginning of 2016, so it’s been almost 3 years.


Can you tell us a bit about your feed/style and how it has changed over time?

At first my feed was really simple – I only took pics of the book covers (I actually deleted a good amount of those first pics, aprox. 300 haha). In summer 2017 I started incorporating my face and body in my pics and this was the moment my account really started to grow. It’s funny that sometimes I’m looking back at those first pics and I remember thinking that what I was doing then was difficult.

What is the silliest thing you've ever done for the sake of a photo?

I unknowingly sat on an anthill, wondering why am I feeling so many stings on my thighs.

Another time James and I went into the forest with 2 bags full of books and tried to take pics... however, it was summer and it was FULL of mosquitoes. And when I’m saying FULL, I’m saying that while he was taking the pics, I was fanning with a shirt around me and him to shoo the mosquitos. It got so bad that we had to go back home almost running.


When do you make time for taking photos? Do you usually plan ahead or take photos as you go?

I’m taking my pics in batches. Every month I’m going to James Trevino’s place and for a whole week we’re taking pics. A batch usually translated to 16-20 pics that last for another month. So they are obviously planned – I’m a big fan of journaling and I’m writing my ideas in my notebook – they are usually poorly drawn sketches (they are so bad it’s not even funny). But hey, at least the pics look good!


See on Instagram


What type of camera do you use?

Nikon 1 NIKKOR.


What are some of your favorite props (besides books, of course ;) )?

Pretty dresses and, as of lately, colourful backgrounds. I would like to have more props, for example, I would like to be able to do cosplays of different characters, but that would be pretty expensive. Maybe one day.


(See on Instagram)


What books/series do you tend to photograph the most?

Fantasy books, since there are a lot of them on James’ shelves.


What book color do you wish you had more of in your shelves for photography?

We need more yellow/orange spines! Especially yellow. I actually brought from my house every book that has yellow/orange spine and there are still too few!


(See on Instagram)


Which of your photos is your absolute favorite and why?

This one:


(See on Instagram)

It’s... aaah... because I look sexy and I’m usually a pajama-all-day type of girl. So this look surprised me :))

What is the thing you love most about Bookstagramming?

I love the fact that I’m keeping an eye on the publishing industry – Bookstagram is the place where I find my next read, what books are trendy, which author is popular now and so on, and it’s how I discovered a lot of great books and authors. I really wouldn’t know where to look if Bookstagram would suddenly disappear. I don’t watch Booktube (maybe I should), and Goodreads doesn’t do it for me – I’m only using it to keep track of my reads and to check other people’s reviews of the books that I’m interested in, but it’s not really a place for book recommendations like Bookstagram is.

What are a few of your favorite Bookstagram accounts?

Aside from @james_trevino who doesn’t count haha, @bookishbronte is my numero uno favourite account. @thomreads is also a great inspiration, I wish I knew about him when I started college – he would have motivated me to learn big time.


Do you have any tips for new Bookstagram accounts that you wish you knew when you started?

The tips that I wish I knew when I started bookstagramming wouldn’t work now haha. Things changed a lot, starting with the moment when the feed stopped being chronological. My tips depend on the reason you are on Bookstagram. If you want to keep in touch with the new books and want to share your reads, in other words, if this is a hobby, then keep it as a hobby. The moment you start to get stressed and feel like social media starts getting too much (and it happens more than you might think), take a break.

If you want to grow your account, then: post constantly, at least 4-5 days per week, ask a QOTD at the beginning of the captions, use hashtags, engage, respond to your comments, comment to other people’s pics, focus on good quality content, write meaningful captions, create a style/theme of your own, don’t ever post theme dividers aaand, that’s it :))


Lastly, what are you currently reading and what has been your favorite read this year so far?

I’m currently reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas and OH MY GOD! After 2 pretty average books, this series really took off and I’m stealing every moment I can to read a few more pages!

As for my favourite read this year, it actually is the first book that I’ve read in 2018 – The Passage by Justin Cronin. It was a really good start.

 

Thank you so much for stopping by YABC, Elizabeth! We are in love with your account and we cannot wait to see more of your amazing bookish photos on #bookstagram! ♥

Featured Review: Dark Fates by GK DeRosa & J.N. Co...
Author Chat with Michelle Kenney (City of Dust), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."