Bookstagrammer of the Month: Cait of @paperfury!

paperfury

Welcome to our monthly special feature post, Bookstagrammer Of The Month!

Each month we will be interviewing a different Bookstagrammer  (Book lover/photographer on Instagram) who will share with us a bit of their experience with the #Bookstagram community!

Introducing Caitof @paperfury, YABC's Bookstagrammer of the Month!! 

      

Cait lives in Australia with her dog and a colour-coded bookshelf that she's half in love with. When not reading or taking photos, she writes YA novels to make you laugh or cry or both. She believes in cake for breakfast.

Blog | Instagram | Twitter

 

1. How long have you been part of the Bookstagram community?

I started bookstagramming in 2015!

 

2. Can you tell us a bit about your feed/style and how has it changed
over time?

I started off with zero props and not a lot of books on my shelf, so my go-to for shots was either a minimalistic approach on the floorboards or going outside. I had a really nice backyard at the time, so that definitely helped! But eventually I realised I wanted a consistent theme and that I was hopelessly in love with flowers and bright colours. So enter my rainbow catastrophes! I'm definitely the kind of bookstagrammer who'll cram as many things into the frame as possibles. Rainbows galore! I'm so pleased with how my style has grown.

 

3. What is the silliest thing you've ever done for the sake of a photo?

I have climbed my bookshelf! And doing this on a self-timer means I have 10 seconds to climb, get settled, and not fall off, so that's quite the gymnastic effort.

 

4. When do you make time for taking photos? Do you usually plan ahead or take photos as you go (daily)?

I like to take a week's worth of photos on Sundays. The entire morning is my "photography day" and it's so much fun! My room also looks like a rainbow threw up in in afterwards...

 

 

5. What type of camera do you use?

I use a Nikon D3200.

 

6. What are some of your favorite props (besides books, of course ;))?

I absolutely _love_ props, but I don't have much money to spend, so I love to make them (like origami stars and paper cranes) or get super cheap flowers at 2nd hand stores. I also draw all my own backgrounds, so the rainbow zentangles you see behind the books are handmade. I also am totally down to bother my family into making pretty desserts so I can take photos of them. (And maybe snack on the way...shh.)


 

7. What book/series do you tend to photograph the most?

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater! I adore Stiefvater's books and it's become a running thing now to find one of her books in all my photos. So there's a 90% chance there's a Stiefvater book lurking in every photo on my feed!

 

8. Which of your photos is your absolute favourite and why?

Ah! I can't pick favourites! Although I'm always in love with how my #shelfies turn out...my shelf is colour-coded and I'm pretty proud of it.

 

9. What is the thing you love most about Bookstagramming?

It's an amazing place to be (a) creative, (b) feast your eyes on incredible book cover art that makes your heart beat faster, and (c) meet a ton of really cool and supportive bookworms. I might be biased but I do think bookstagrammers can be the kindest people on the internet. ;)

 

10. What are a few of your favorite Bookstagram accounts?

I'm obsessed with so many accounts, but a few of my favourites are: @darkfaeriestales_, @eden.hammond, @thereaderandthechef, @lulumoonowlbooks, @emilyjmead and @lettuce_read!

 

Thank you again for stopping by YABC, Cait! We absolutely love your colorful account and we cannot wait to see more of your beautiful bookish photos, including your upcoming book: A Thousand Perfect Notes, on #bookstagram! 

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Realm of Ruins by Hannah...
Top 5 Things You'll Need For the Butthead Invasion...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."