Beth Edwards, Assistant Blog Manager has not set their biography yet

Must Read! 10 Amazing Contemporaries by Black Authors!











***List provided by YABC Staffer Stephanie Augustine***     The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds     https://www.goodreads.com/ book/show/21490991-the-boy-in- the-black-suit     This Side of Home by Renee Watson         https://www.goodreads.com/ book/show/22392935-this-side- of-home     The Voice in My Head by Dana Davis    ...
Continue reading
  430 Hits
  0 Comment

Giveaway: Our Friendship Matters (Kimberley B Jones) ~ (US Only)

Original-Cover-_20200610-191747_1


Our Friendship Matters (US Only) by: Kimberley B Jones Release Date: July 2020 Publisher: Rhetaskew Publishing Company LLC       About the Book: Kimberley B. Jones is a professional early childhood educator. She was born in the small town of Saint George, South Carolina, on September 12, 1982. She graduated...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Victoria Scott
This book is so important right now! I can't wait to read this with my daughter!
Sunday, 14 June 2020 18:25
Andrea Carroll
Such an important book for our current times. Perfect for teens!
Sunday, 21 June 2020 11:18
Danielle Hammelef
I like the cover. This book sounds like a must read for everyone.
Saturday, 04 July 2020 14:02
  1677 Hits
  3 Comments

Author Chat with Michael Buckley (Finn and The Intergalactic Lunchbox), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-_20200610-010637_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Michael Buckley author of Finn and The Intergalactic Lunchbox. Read on for more about Michael and his book, plus an giveaway.       Meet Michael Buckley !        MICHAEL BUCKLEY is the New York Times bestselling author of the Finniverse, Sisters...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
This book looks so fun! My kids will love it!
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 13:09
Victoria Scott
Looks so good! Thanks for sharing!
Sunday, 14 June 2020 18:26
Andrea Carroll
Mr. Buckley never disappoints! My students are going to enjoy reading this book.
Thursday, 18 June 2020 10:25
  633 Hits
  5 Comments

Spotlight on The Court Of Miracles (Kester Grant), Excerpt, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

_20200612-005901_1





Today we're excited to spotlight The Court Of Miracles  by Kester Grant.  Read on for more about Kester and her book, an excerpt, plus an giveaway!        Meet Kester Grant ! Kester (Kit) Grant is a British-Mauritian writer of color who has lived all over the world: Mauritius, Democratic...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book sounds great, look forward to reading it!
Friday, 12 June 2020 10:23
Madeline Tebo
I love Les Miserables and I can't wait to read this!
Sunday, 14 June 2020 19:41
Sam Haurie
I have been dying to read this book. I've heard nothing but good things! Thanks for the chance!
Monday, 15 June 2020 11:08
  486 Hits
  15 Comments

Author Chat with Robyn Schneider (You Don't Live Here), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

0-5



  Today we're excited to chat with Robyn Schneider author of You Don't Live Here. Read on for more about Robyn and her book, plus an giveaway.       Meet Robyn Schneider !        Robyn Schneider  is the bestselling author of  The Beginning of Everything ,  Extraordinary Means...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Madeline Tebo
I loved The Beginning of Everything and can't wait to read this!
Sunday, 14 June 2020 19:38
Abigail Lowry
Such a pretty cover! Can’t wait to read!
Monday, 15 June 2020 18:55
Alivia Hartz
This synopsis sounds incredible! I can’t wait to read this book!
Monday, 29 June 2020 17:05
  699 Hits
  8 Comments

Spotlight on Time Zero (Carolyn Cohagan), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

2677974_20200609-172618_1
Carolyn Cohagan







Today we're excited to spotlight Time Zero  by Carolyn Cohagan.  Read on for more about Carolyn and her book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Carolyn Cohagan !   Carolyn Cohagan began her writing career on the stage. She has performed stand-up and one-woman shows at festivals...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Tuesday, 09 June 2020 16:09
Victoria Scott
Sounds amazing! Thank you for sharing!
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 21:20
Gabby Roberts
I love the sound of destroying the patriarchy, so this book seems to be my style!
Thursday, 11 June 2020 03:30
  743 Hits
  9 Comments

Author Chat with Liara Tamani (All The Things We Never Knew), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

53001418._SX318_SY475_



  Today we're excited to chat with Liara Tamani author of All The Things We Never Knew. Read on for more about Liara and her book, plus an giveaway.       Meet Liara Tamani !        Liara Tamani  lives in Houston, Texas. She holds an MFA in writing from...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Madeline Tebo
This sounds so good, I can't wait to read it!
Tuesday, 09 June 2020 22:32
Keia
I'm really looking forward to reading this one. The cover is so cute!
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 12:29
Victoria Scott
Sounds like an amazing story! Can't wait to read it!
Wednesday, 10 June 2020 21:05
  682 Hits
  12 Comments

Featured Review: Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets: Coloring & Activity Book (Jess Volinski)

personalized-notebook-doodles-adorable-pets-coloring-book-44-1590610465




About This Book: From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll meet your favorite animal companions inside this fun and engaging coloring book for tweens! 32 dazzling Notebook Doodles animal designs waiting to be filled with color 20 fun color palettes to help you get started on your coloring...
Continue reading
  261 Hits
  0 Comment

8 Fantasy or Sci-fi Books By Black Authors That You Won't Want to Miss









YA Fantasy/Sci-Fi       A Song of Wraiths and Ruin – Roseanne A. Brown Author page: https://www.amazon.com/Roseanne-A-Brown/e/B07YLVZNQR/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1 Book link: https://www.amazon.com/Song-Wraiths-Ruin-Roseanne-Brown-ebook/dp/B07X7WW8FY The first in a gripping fantasy duology inspired by West African folklore in which a grieving crown princess and a desperate refugee find themselves on a collision course to murder...
Continue reading
  373 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: Little Creeping Things (Chelsea Ichaso)

50015181
About This Book: A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just can't trust, perfect for fans of Natasha Preston. As a child, Cassidy Pratt accidentally started a fire that killed her neighbor. At least, that's what she's been told. She can't remember anything from that day. She's pretty sure she...
Continue reading
  349 Hits
  0 Comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
"Like most other people, I grew up devouring Hans Christian Andersen’s stories. His fairy tales are the first stories I..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
1789: Twelve Authors Explore a Year of Rebellion, Revolution, & Change
 
4.0
"What worked: Fascination collection of essays that show the impact of the year 1789 in the world.In this anthology, twelve..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
 
5.0
"Loved it!"