Blog Tour: The First Rule of Punk by Celia C. Pérez, Plus Excerpt!

Screen-Shot-2017-08-31-at-9.40.09-AM

Today we're excited to be part of the blog tour for Celia C. Pérez's book The First Rule of Punk. 

Read on for more about Ceclia, her book, and an excerpt!

 

 

Meet Celia C. Pérez! 

Celia C. Pérez has been making zines inspired by punk and her love of writing for longer than some of you have been alive. Her favorite zine supplies are a long-arm stapler, glue sticks, and watercolor pencils. She still listens to punk music, and she’ll never stop picking cilantro out of her food at restaurants. Originally from Miami, Florida, Celia lives in Chicago with her family and works as a community college librarian. She owns two sets of worry dolls because you can never have too many. The First Rule of Punk is her first book for young readers.

 
 
 
Meet The First Rule of Punk!
 
 
From debut author and longtime zine-maker Celia C. Pérez, The First Rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching. 

There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school—you can’t fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors. On Day One, twelve-year-old Malú (María Luisa, if you want to annoy her) inadvertently upsets Posada Middle School’s queen bee, violates the school’s dress code with her punk rock look, and disappoints her college-professor mom in the process. Her dad, who now lives a thousand miles away, says things will get better as long as she remembers the first rule of punk: be yourself.

The real Malú loves rock music, skateboarding, zines, and Soyrizo (hold the cilantro, please). And when she assembles a group of like-minded misfits at school and starts a band, Malú finally begins to feel at home. She'll do anything to preserve this, which includes standing up to an anti-punk school administration to fight for her right to express herself! 

Black and white illustrations and collage art throughout make The First Rule of Punk a perfect pick for fans of books like Roller Girl and online magazines like Rookie.

 

 

Excerpt:

Chapter 1

Dad says punk rock only comes in one volume: loud. So when I slipped my headphones over my ears, I turned the music up until bass strings thumped, cymbals hissed, and guitar strings squealed like they were having a conversation with each other. Mom says my music is a racket, but to me it’s like the theme music to my life. And it’s always helped me concentrate.

I ripped a page out of a magazine, then squeezed my fingers inside the blue plastic holes of an old pair of school scissors. It was a little too close for comfort, but my real scissors, the ones made of steel with a black handle, were packed away, and I had to get this done. It was now or never.

I maneuvered the blades carefully around the page. I liked the feeling of the scissors slicing through the glossy paper. Especially when I got to the very last snip and freed the exact piece I wanted. The word I cut out stuck to my sweaty fingertips, and I carefully placed it on the floor, where my zine supplies were spread out around me.

There were sheets of unlined paper and old magazines Dad had given me, an uncapped purple glue stick, and a folder so fat with clip art that papers spilled out of the opening. The yellow Whitman’s Sampler box that held my colored pencils, stickers, and scraps of paper still smelled of chocolate but no longer contained a delicious assortment of candy.

While hunched over the magazine, looking for more letters to cut out, a pair of leather-sandaled feet suddenly appeared. I looked up at Mom, who stood over me in her HECHO EN MEXICO T-shirt and a knee-length gauzy skirt. Her lips moved, but her words were no match for my music. Finally she pointed to her ears.

“SuperMexican strikes again,” I said, pulling the headphones down around my neck.

SuperMexican is my nickname for Mom. She’s always trying to school me on stuff about Mexico and Mexican American people. I think her main goal in life is to make me into her ideal Mexican American señorita. Plus, she likes to wear these embroidered dresses and skirts, and wraps called rebozos. I call this her SuperMexican uniform. Mom acts like it annoys her, but I think she secretly likes the nickname.

“Funny,” Mom said. “You all done packing?”
“I guess.” I glanced over at the pile of boxes and bags next to the door.
Mom told me to bring everything I needed but not to overpack, which didn’t make 
any sense. My room wasn’t my room without my things. There were only a few belongings I decided to leave behind, and they became the only signs that I’d ever lived here. I felt like someone had taken a giant Pink Pearl eraser and rubbed me out of the picture.

“Great,” Mom said. “Your dad will be here in an hour, so get ready.”
“I
am ready.” I looked down at my T-shirt and shorts.
Mom’s eyes moved over my clothes with their super-scanning powers, looking for 
holes, stains, and other un-señorita-like offenses to point out. But before she could comment on anything, she noticed the magazine I was cutting.

“Malú, that’s not my new magazine that just came in the mail, is it?”
I gave Mom an unapologetic smirk to let her know that it was.
“I’ll take that, thank you very much,” she said, holding out her hand. “If you need 
magazines, check the recycling bin.”

“Yes, ma’am,” I said, and saluted before I handed her the copy of Bon Appétit. I put my headphones back on and grabbed a blank sheet of paper. I had to get this zine done before Dad came to pick me up.

I started making zines earlier this year when I discovered Dad’s collection of

punk music zines from his high school days. Zines are self-published booklets, like homemade magazines, and they can be about anything—not just punk. There are zines about all kinds of topics, like video games and candy and skateboarding. A zine can be a tribute to someone or something you love and nerd out about or a place to share ideas and opinions. Dad said they’re also a good way to write about what you’re thinking or feeling, kind of like a diary that you share with people. Mine are mostly about stuff I find interesting or want to know more about. But ever since Mom told me we were moving, a lot of my zines had become about that.

Mom made it seem like this move was no big deal because we’d be back when her new job contract expired. But two years might as well be forever. Two years meant all of middle school. And I couldn’t even imagine what two years away from Dad would feel like. It was a very big deal. So for the next hour I wrote and cut and pasted a final plea to Mom. I glued the last letter onto a page just as the doorbell rang to signal that my time was up. 

 
Blog Tour Schedule
Week One:
August 21 – Books 4 Your Kids – Review
August 22 – Here’s to Happy Endings – The First Rule of Punk Style Board
August 23 – Boricuan Bookworms – Review & Mini Zine
August 24 – Teachers Who Read – Review
August 25 – Margie’s Must Reads – Author Q&A
Week Two:
August 28 – The Reading Nook Reviews – Review
August 29 – The Novel Hermit – Review
August 30 – Teen Librarian Toolbox – Review
August 31 – YA Book Central – Excerpt
September 1 – The YA Book Traveler – Review
Blog Tour: I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn &...
It's Live!! Cover Reveal: CITY OF BASTARDS by Andr...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."