BLOG TOUR: BLACKBIRD by Anna Carey

 

Hello & Welcome, YABC is excited to be a part of the BLACKBIRD blog tour! Check out today's feature below & enter to win a signed copy of BLACKBIRD!

 

About the Book

 

 

Written by: Anna Carey

Published by: Harper Teen

Releasing on: September 16th, 2014

Add it to Goodreads

Get it From: Amazon | B&N

Read a Sample

 

A girl wakes up on the train tracks, a subway car barreling down on her. With only minutes to react, she hunches down and the train speeds over her. She doesn’t remember her name, where she is, or how she got there. She has a tattoo on the inside of her right wrist of a blackbird inside a box, letters and numbers printed just below: FNV02198. There is only one thing she knows for sure: people are trying to kill her. 


On the run for her life, she tries to untangle who she is and what happened to the girl she used to be. Nothing and no one are what they appear to be. But the truth is more disturbing than she ever imagined. 


The Maze Runner series meets Code Name Verity, Blackbird is relentless and action-packed, filled with surprising twists.

 

My Thoughts

Action, suspense, mystery and thrills, BLACKBIRD has it all!

I enjoyed the fast pace, the plot twists and turns and how we learned everything at the same time the MC did. The second person POV took some getting used to, but the story was well-written, intriguing and kept me guessing right up to the very end.

Great start to the series!

 

 

The Places That Inspired BLACKBIRD

Many of the settings in Blackbird were inspired by real places in Los Angeles, where I currently live. Here a few spots you’ll find yourself.


Vermont/Sunset Subway Station

b2ap3_thumbnail_Vermont_Sunset.jpg
Where the opening scene of the book takes place. You wake up on the subway tracks, a backpack between your feet. You can’t move. As the train barrels over you, you can’t even remember your name.
 


Winchell’s Donut House
b2ap3_thumbnail_Winchells.jpg
You’re sitting in a booth in the corner when you notice a man watching you. He knows you—but from where? You stand, go to the door, and he follows you, chasing you out into the street.

 


Griffith Park
b2ap3_thumbnail_Griffith-Park.jpg
Where you meet one of the men who is tracking you. He says he doesn’t know who you are, but you’re not certain you can believe him. Why has he been following you? What does he know about the woman who was trying to kill you?

 


Travelodge
b2ap3_thumbnail_Travelodge.jpg
Where you stay after you are framed for robbery. You’re hiding out from the police, scared they’ll show up at your door at any moment. How long do you have until you’re brought in for a crime you didn’t commit?

 


Union Station
b2ap3_thumbnail_union2.jpg
You need to leave town, to get as far away from Los Angeles as possible. You don’t have a real ID. There’s no way to get a plane ticket. You head downtown to the train station, hoping to head out that night.



 

About the Author

 

 

Anna Carey is the author of The Eve Trilogy (EveOnceRise) and the forthcoming Blackbird series, which hits shelves September 16th, 2014. She studied creative writing at NYU and has an MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She likes miniatures, subway generated wind, flea markets, chalkboard silhouettes, dance-offs, arnold palmers, Chinese finger traps, and top-of-your-lungs car singing. She dislikes pennies, paper receipts, and tunafish. For delayed response times, please contact her through this site. For instant gratification, please find her on twitter. @AnnaCareyBooks


Find Anna: Website | Twitter | Facebook

 

Enter to Win

Thank you to Anna, each stop will be giving away 1 SIGNED copy of BLACKBIRD! Be sure to follow each stop linked above to enter to win!.

 

Giveaway- a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Casting Call: We're looking for the new YABC Inter...
Giveaway: Summerfall by Claire Legrand (Internatio...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Vivien (website) on Friday, 19 September 2014 13:57

I absolutely cannot wait to read this book!! I just loved her first trilogy

0
I absolutely cannot wait to read this book!! I just loved her first trilogy :D
Shannon Mizikoski (website) on Monday, 22 September 2014 22:22

This book sounds SO unique and interesting! I don't know that I have ever read a second person POV before, and the whole synopsis just sounds great!

0
This book sounds SO unique and interesting! I don't know that I have ever read a second person POV before, and the whole synopsis just sounds great!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...

Latest Member Reviews

Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."