Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing with Rebecca Jaycox

behind-the-scenes-logo

 

Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

At YABC we work closely with a lot of Indie authors. Some are best sellers and some are just starting out, and many more fall in the middle of that spectrum. Today we are excited to introduce you to Rebecca Jaycox, Author of The Other InheritanceShe brings us a peek into her deicision to be a small press published indie author.

 

Welcome Rebecca Jaycox!

        

     

            When I first started my writing journey, I had grand visions of landing an agent and being published with one of the Big Five. And truth be told, five years later that dream does still exist, but it has dimmed. Now, I know that’s not the only way to publish, and the indie market is not what it used to be. The indie market—small presses and self-publishing authors—has upped its game over the years, producing quality work from talented authors.

            After I finished my first book, I did seek an agent. I went to two Pitch Slams in New York City, even meeting some agents interested in reading a partial submission. But nothing ever worked out and I was frustrated. I quickly learned that agents could think you’re a good writer, but that doesn’t mean they want to invest in your work. Think about finding an agent as speed dating. They’re looking to see if you have the potential to be the “one.” And while some agents said I had real talent, I wasn’t the “one” they were looking for.

            Then in 2014, I submitted to my first small press. They loved my story and offered me a contract. After about thirty rejection letters from agents, I was thrilled. I was also naïve. I didn’t know much about small presses. I hadn’t researched them the way I’d researched querying agents and the Big Five. I learned a valuable lesson—not all small presses are created equal. 

            This wasn’t a vanity press; I did know that much. They were legit. They offered me twenty percent royalties and paid for my cover and editing. But to my dismay, I soon discovered the press wasn’t very dedicated to the success of its authors. They didn’t put the time and money to make the business thrive. My book barely received any exposure, and I struggled to finish the second book in my trilogy. I was discouraged, and as I made more indie author friends, I realized all the things my small press was doing wrong. 

            In 2016, the owner of the press decided she’d had enough. She was done and didn’t want to publish anymore. At first, I panicked because I was unprepared to go at it on my own. I was under contract, and I hadn’t thought how to function as a purely indie author. But as it turned out, my press shutting down was a blessing in disguise because I met Jeff Collyer.

            Virtually, of course, because I meet most of my author friends on Facebook—that’s one of the reasons I’m looking forward to attending Penned Con in September. I get to meet all my writing friends! 

But back to the point. In addition to being a writer, I’m a freelance editor. Jeff was creating his own small press called Aelurus Publishing and was searching for an editor-in-chief. After speaking with him, I was impressed with his business model. He had an amazing cover designer, an advertising plan, and he offered authors a small advance. That is like finding a unicorn when it comes to small presses. He hired me as the editor-in-chief, and I asked him to look at my manuscript, assuring him it was completely cool if he hated it. 

He didn’t. He offered me a contract, and more importantly, he offered me a partnership. In Aelurus Publishing and Jeff, I found my perfect publishing match. I got to be part of the entire publishing process, from cover design to choice of editor. And Jeff had a real marketing plan, and with Aelurus Publishing, I’ve sold more books than I ever had before, paying off my advances and actually earning royalties. And I love all the other authors who have signed with the company. We’ve created a warm, supportive community, and we genuinely root for each other’s success. 

 I could’ve gone on and been totally indie, and I have major respect for those who do, but I enjoy the support of a team. And I was very lucky to find Aelurus. But whether you’re with a small or press or you’re a warrior conquering the writing world on your own, be proud to be part of the indie community. 

Meet The Other Inheritance

 

One girl. Two worlds. Hunted in both.

Seventeen-year-old Reggie Lang is used to dealing with her alcoholic mother and fighting school bullies, but fate has thrown her a curve ball. 

A biker dude shows up in her dreams, babbling about magic and a world called the Other. As the incidents keep piling up—like bringing a frog back to life in class—Reggie has to confront the mounting evidence that she’s not the normal girl she craves to be.

Reggie's life is changing, and she has no idea why. Or whether she should believe the man in her dreams, who claims she's in danger and that only he can keep her safe. But if there's one thing Reggie will learn, nowhere is safe.

The Other Inheritance is the exciting first book of the young adult urban fantasy series, The Inheritance. Fast-paced, with great characters and an absorbing plot, this series by Rebecca Jaycox is sure to keep you turning the pages.

Start Reading the Other Inheritance now

 

 

 

 

Author Of The Week: Chat with Claire LeGrand (Sawk...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."