Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing with Rebecca Jaycox

behind-the-scenes-logo

 

Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

At YABC we work closely with a lot of Indie authors. Some are best sellers and some are just starting out, and many more fall in the middle of that spectrum. Today we are excited to introduce you to Rebecca Jaycox, Author of The Other InheritanceShe brings us a peek into her deicision to be a small press published indie author.

 

Welcome Rebecca Jaycox!

        

     

            When I first started my writing journey, I had grand visions of landing an agent and being published with one of the Big Five. And truth be told, five years later that dream does still exist, but it has dimmed. Now, I know that’s not the only way to publish, and the indie market is not what it used to be. The indie market—small presses and self-publishing authors—has upped its game over the years, producing quality work from talented authors.

            After I finished my first book, I did seek an agent. I went to two Pitch Slams in New York City, even meeting some agents interested in reading a partial submission. But nothing ever worked out and I was frustrated. I quickly learned that agents could think you’re a good writer, but that doesn’t mean they want to invest in your work. Think about finding an agent as speed dating. They’re looking to see if you have the potential to be the “one.” And while some agents said I had real talent, I wasn’t the “one” they were looking for.

            Then in 2014, I submitted to my first small press. They loved my story and offered me a contract. After about thirty rejection letters from agents, I was thrilled. I was also naïve. I didn’t know much about small presses. I hadn’t researched them the way I’d researched querying agents and the Big Five. I learned a valuable lesson—not all small presses are created equal. 

            This wasn’t a vanity press; I did know that much. They were legit. They offered me twenty percent royalties and paid for my cover and editing. But to my dismay, I soon discovered the press wasn’t very dedicated to the success of its authors. They didn’t put the time and money to make the business thrive. My book barely received any exposure, and I struggled to finish the second book in my trilogy. I was discouraged, and as I made more indie author friends, I realized all the things my small press was doing wrong. 

            In 2016, the owner of the press decided she’d had enough. She was done and didn’t want to publish anymore. At first, I panicked because I was unprepared to go at it on my own. I was under contract, and I hadn’t thought how to function as a purely indie author. But as it turned out, my press shutting down was a blessing in disguise because I met Jeff Collyer.

            Virtually, of course, because I meet most of my author friends on Facebook—that’s one of the reasons I’m looking forward to attending Penned Con in September. I get to meet all my writing friends! 

But back to the point. In addition to being a writer, I’m a freelance editor. Jeff was creating his own small press called Aelurus Publishing and was searching for an editor-in-chief. After speaking with him, I was impressed with his business model. He had an amazing cover designer, an advertising plan, and he offered authors a small advance. That is like finding a unicorn when it comes to small presses. He hired me as the editor-in-chief, and I asked him to look at my manuscript, assuring him it was completely cool if he hated it. 

He didn’t. He offered me a contract, and more importantly, he offered me a partnership. In Aelurus Publishing and Jeff, I found my perfect publishing match. I got to be part of the entire publishing process, from cover design to choice of editor. And Jeff had a real marketing plan, and with Aelurus Publishing, I’ve sold more books than I ever had before, paying off my advances and actually earning royalties. And I love all the other authors who have signed with the company. We’ve created a warm, supportive community, and we genuinely root for each other’s success. 

 I could’ve gone on and been totally indie, and I have major respect for those who do, but I enjoy the support of a team. And I was very lucky to find Aelurus. But whether you’re with a small or press or you’re a warrior conquering the writing world on your own, be proud to be part of the indie community. 

Meet The Other Inheritance

 

One girl. Two worlds. Hunted in both.

Seventeen-year-old Reggie Lang is used to dealing with her alcoholic mother and fighting school bullies, but fate has thrown her a curve ball. 

A biker dude shows up in her dreams, babbling about magic and a world called the Other. As the incidents keep piling up—like bringing a frog back to life in class—Reggie has to confront the mounting evidence that she’s not the normal girl she craves to be.

Reggie's life is changing, and she has no idea why. Or whether she should believe the man in her dreams, who claims she's in danger and that only he can keep her safe. But if there's one thing Reggie will learn, nowhere is safe.

The Other Inheritance is the exciting first book of the young adult urban fantasy series, The Inheritance. Fast-paced, with great characters and an absorbing plot, this series by Rebecca Jaycox is sure to keep you turning the pages.

Start Reading the Other Inheritance now

 

 

 

 

Author Of The Week: Chat with Claire LeGrand (Sawk...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ September 24th, 2018

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."