Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

behind-the-scenes-logo

Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

Contributed by Melissa A. Craven, Indie Manager,

Staff Reviewer and Indie Author

 

Best books for first time authors

 

One of the most frequent questions readers ask me is how did I get started? How did I even know where to begin?

Easy answer to that question. I had no flippin’ idea what I was doing and I wasted a lot of time figuring it out. But eventually I found a process that worked for me and with the release of my fifth book coming up in a few months, I’m still learning new things all the time.

Biggest lesson learned: Don’t try to do this alone. That’s what I did for a very long time and it was, without a doubt, the worst mistake I made along my journey to indie publishing. Seek out authors in your genre and join writing groups to get the support and advice you need when you’re not sure where to turn.

And when in doubt, seek advice from books. These are my top choices for anyone even thinking about writing a book—no matter which path to publishing you choose, you still have to write your book first.

 

 

 

The Elements of Style by William Strunk Jr. and E.B. White.

I discovered this little book when I was struggling with dialogue punctuation and the need for a source to confirm my general grammar and punctuation was on par.

 

 

Author Publisher Entrepreneur APE by Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch

This book helped me make the difficult decision to pursue indie publishing. This is a great introduction to what it takes to self-publish a book and it breaks the process down into manageable parts. The perfect place to start if you are thinking about writing a book and also if you have written a book and you’re not sure if self-publishing is right for you.

 

 

Take Off Your Pants! Outline Your Books for Faster, Better Writing by Libby Hawker

Are you a pantser or a plotter? This book helps you define where you fall in that spectrum. While I don’t agree with everything this book teaches, there’s a lot of great stuff here. If you’re looking for an introduction into outlining and managing your writing time more effectively, this is a good place to begin.

 

 

Story Genius: How to Use Brain Science to Go Beyond Outlining and Write a Riveting Novel (Before You Waste Three Years Writing 327 Pages That Go Nowhere) by Lisa Cron

I wish I’d found this book a decade ago. If you never read another book about crafting a story, read this one. This book will teach you all about building the foundation of your story—the framework your plot sits on. That’s right. “Story” isn’t just about what happens in your book. It’s so much more than that. 

 

 

Wired for Story by Lisa Cron

This is on my TBR for later this summer. I will read anything by Lisa Cron on the subject of writing. This book teaches you how to get into the mindset of your character and how to pull the emotion into your writing. Where Story Genius deals with the big stuff, Wired for Story deals with the details.

 

 

 

Thesaurus

Don’t write without one. Just don’t. Early in my writing career, I worked as a freelance content development editor to help supplement my income (and fund the production budget for my own books). I mainly worked with first time authors and the number one newbie mistake that every first timer makes—and I literally mean every single one—was repetition. We all have a handful of go-to words and phrases that we stick with. Identify those crutches early on and use a thesaurus to help you diversify your descriptions. There are loads of thesauruses (thesauri? Google says either one so imma go with thesauruses because it’s fun to say.) out there that deal with different subjects for fiction writers. Keep those handy.

 

 

The Successful Author Mindset: A Handbook for Surviving the Writer's Journey by Joanna Penn

Joanna Penn is one of the strongest voices in the indie publishing world. Her series “Books for Writers” deals with many different subjects, but this one in particular is excellent. The journey to becoming a successful indie author is a long one and it’s never quite what you think it will be. Joanna helps prepare you for what to expect and reminds you that it’s a roller coaster ride with many ups and downs.

 

 

There is a lot of noise in the indie publishing world about marketing and promoting a book. And it's often difficult to know which opinions to listent to. The bottom line--write a good book. Make sure the story you are crafting is as strong as it can be. If you write a good book, and do your homework, staying on top of what's going on in the indie world, you will get to all those other important things eventually, and it will all fall into place. 

 

Author Of The Week: Chat with Emily R King (The Hu...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ June 26th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."