Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

Behind the Scenes of Indie Publishing

Welcome to YABC's behind the scenes look at the world of indie publishing. Independent publishing and self-publishing have had a bad rap in the past, but exciting things are happening within the industry and we're going to be talking about everything you never knew about indie publishing. In the past self-pubbing was kind of a back-up plan. An option to take when every other avenue to publishing was closed after your exhaustive efforts to "get published." Now, self-publishing is a viable option many authors choose to pursue. Check us out every month for more on what it means to be indie. But first up, what should you know before you begin your adventure as an author? Indie author, Michelle Lynn has some tips for you.

Melissa A. Craven

YABC Indie Manager and Staff Reviewer

 

 

BTS meme

 

 

So, You’ve Decided to Write an Indie Book

By: Michelle Lynn, YABC Staff Reviewer

So, you’ve decided to write an indie book. That’s wonderful! Good for you. You've made the first step in an incredibly long, yet rewarding process. A process that will knock you down and make you question everything you know. If you don’t constantly ask yourself “Why am I doing this?” then you’re one of the lucky ones.

Here’s a secret only known by the authors who figure out the answer to that inevitable question. And no, it isn’t that you just want to see your name in print, or that you feel like people should hear what you have to say, or even that you need the money. The real answer to the “Why” for most fiction authors is that we just can’t imagine doing anything else.

If that’s already your answer, you’re ahead of the game and I’m proud of you. So proud of you, in fact, that I’m going to share five things you need to consider now that you’ve decided writing is a need, rather than just a want.

  1. Temper your expectations – writing an indie book isn’t a get-rich-quick scheme. In fact, most of the time it’s not a get-rich-at-all scheme. Yes, we’ve all heard of the rare few authors like JK Rowling, who is richer than the queen of England. We know Stephen King is rolling in it and James Patterson is one of the most recognizable names in literature. In reality, most authors never quit their day jobs. That’s not a reflection of their writing, just the flooded market and the low price of ebooks. You could write the most brilliant book in the world, and I hope you do, but always remember to keep your expectations realistic. Writing is a long-term slog, not a short-term sprint to fame and fortune.
  2. Choose your genre deliberately – but remember this can always change in the course of your career. I’m on my third genre with my current series and love the challenge that brings. You need to know your genres and what to expect from each. Each genre has its pros and cons but it’s a good idea to know them and their audiences before you set out on your journey to become an author.
  3. Publishing – there are three avenues to publishing, and each have their benefits – traditional publishing, indie publishing, and self-publishing. Not everyone separates indie and self-publishing. We'll be talking about the differences between these options later in this blog series. But it is important to do your homework and learn what your options are. The publishing world is an ever-changing beast and you don’t want to be left behind.
  4. Editing – this is a big one. Educate yourself on the mechanics of writing now, as you begin your journey to becoming a writer. Are you going to meticulously outline your story, or are you going to wing it? Are you going to write in first person? Third person? Past tense? Present? Do you understand how to write and punctuate successful dialogue? Do you understand passive voice? The list is endless and it can be daunting to learn what you're doing wrong when you don't know what you don't know. Any editor worth their salt will catch your mistakes, but the fewer mistakes an editor has to catch, the more likely they will be able to help you finalize your draft into the professional polished manuscript you set out to write. Just because it’s inevitable for first time writers to make mistakes doesn’t mean you shouldn't try to avoid making them.
  5. Just write! – get on with it. No one is going to write the story for you. This is on you. You can believe with every fiber of your being that you have a magnificent book within you, just dying to get out. But if you don’t hop to it, then it’s just wasted talk.

So here it is. If you can’t imagine doing anything else, I’m happy for you. You’re entering an incredible world where you’ll meet amazing people, which is probably the best part! Writing a book is a phenomenon I wish everyone could experience. Once you start writing, everything around you becomes a possible story. The smallest things can be inspiring, and who wouldn’t want to be inspired every day?

 

 

Featured Review: The Women in the Walls by Amy Luk...
Author Of The Week: Chat with Amy Lukavics (The Wo...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."