Behind the Scenes in Indie Publishing - The Editing Games

Behind the Scenes in Indie Publishing - The Editing Games

The Editing Games

 How can indie authors get it right?

 

 

The best part of being an indie author can also be the worst part.

Indie authors get to maintain absolute control over every aspect of the products we produce. With total creative freedom, we get to make all of the decisions about the books we write. But, we also have the responsibility to source the right editors and that can be an exhaustive exercise in futility, as well as a drain on the shoestring indie budget.

So how does an indie author source good editing? The only real answer to that question is experience. As with any profession, the more experience you gain, the better you get at your craft. Any author worth their salt will improve with every book they write. The same can be said about an indie author’s ability to find and source the right contracted editors and designers with each book they produce.

For the first time indie, the editing game can be a huge learning experience and it takes a great deal of homework to even know where to begin. But finding the right editors will be the most important thing you ever do as a self-published author. For many first time indies, when you’re just starting out, you don’t know what you don’t know and it takes time and experience to learn that lesson.

 

With my first book, I was hesitant about hiring a random stranger to tear my baby apart.

How would I know if they even knew what they were doing?

How would I know my precious intellectual property would be safe in their hands?

How could I trust a freelancer to give me the same level of editing any traditionally published book would receive from a team of experienced editors?

 

There were no good answers to those concerns, but I had to start somewhere. So I explored my personal network and discovered a previous co-worker was working as a freelance editor. We discussed my project and I was comfortable with this editor’s experience, and the fact that I knew them personally made me even more comfortable. It was a good place to start. It was EXPENSIVE! (Never work with a freelance editor who charges by the hour. Go with an experienced editor who charges by word count.)

I shudder to think of how much I spent editing that first book. The editor did good job and I learned a lot. I have since learned that this person wasn’t nearly experienced enough for the amount I paid. (I could have edited four books for the price of that first one). With my developmental editing budget blown out of the park, I still needed to source a line editor for the final draft. Again, I found someone in my personal network who did a good job for a decent price. In the end, I was able to publish a book I was extremely proud of, but in hindsight, knowing what I know now—with the network of professionals I now have—I would do things differently. Still, I was lucky. Other first time indies have experienced some truly awful horror stories on their journeys to finding the right editor.

I now have a team of editors, beta readers and proofreaders who do an excellent job for a price that doesn’t break my budget. The best advice I can give any new indie on the hunt for the right editor is to plan early and begin every potential editor on a trail basis before you hire them to tackle your whole book.

As a reader, it can be extremely frustrating to purchase a poorly edited book. But as the self-publishing industry moves forward, the bar is continually raising with each passing year, making it increasingly difficult for indie authors to become successful if they do not pursue proper editing first. 

 

 Melissa A. Craven — Indie Manager and Staff Reviewer

 

Featured Review: North Of Happy (Adi Alsaid)
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ April 24th, 2017

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."