Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

 

Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have. And since we love magic here at YABC, we'd love to hear which magical powers you'd most like to possess in the commets below!

 

But first, meet Django.

 b2ap3_thumbnail_Django-author-pic.jpg

He is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci fi geek. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked in artificial intelligence research. He left his job at Microsoft and now writes full-time. 

 

 

Now, meet Django's new book. It contains magic, mysteries, and the power of books!

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-mad-apprentice-cover.jpg

 

And now for Django Wexler's list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have:

In The Forbidden Library, magicians called Readers can enter special books to fight the creatures that live within them. If they win, they can call the powers of those creatures, summon them, or even transform into them.

When I was thinking about powers I wanted to give Alice, the protagonist, I started pondering what I would most like to have. Compared to Alice, my life is pretty boring. I almost never have to head into magical labyrinths to fight monsters. (Almost). So my ideal set of powers is a little bit different...

 

1.) Teleportation

This one always jumps to the top of my list, especially when I've spent a lot of time sitting in traffic. 

Aside from fighting evil robots, teleportation would be an enormous time-saver. As a writer, I don't have to commute, but I'd love to be able to zap over to my favorite restaurants for lunch. Plus, I could finally go to ALL THE CONVENTIONS! Just cons across the country. Every weekend!

**Extra bonus: I'd save on shipping to winners of the book giveaways. I could always just pop over and deliver the books in person!

 

2.) Speak With Animals (Or Just Cats, Really)

I love cats. I have two, Sakaki and The Tomoes, and I've always wanted to be able to know what they're thinking when they just sort of stare into space for hours, or play fight elaborate battles against invisible enemies. 

On the other hand, they can already be kind of annoying in the morning when they think it's time for breakfast. So maybe this is a bad idea. I can't imagine their complaints would be any better in words than in mewing.

 

3.) Super-Fast Reading

This one is pretty obvious. There are way more books that I want to read than time to read them. Short of some kind of time travel gimmick (which seems like cheating) this is the only way I'm ever going to catch up. I already went from one pile into several piles, and then from several piles to a shelf. I'm in constant danger of book-related collapses. 

Speaking of which...

 

4.) Handy Pocket Dimensions

Even my library downstairs, where I keep the books I have read, is starting to fill up. I also have too many board games, too many miniatures and painting supplies, too many swords hanging on my walls, and so on. I suppose I could get rid of some of that stuff, but where's the fun in that? Much more practical, in my opinion, to find a way to build a room that's bigger on the inside than the outside. 

That's actually the way the tibular library works in The Forbidden Library. Maybe the Readers started out as guys like me, filling up their garages.

 

5.) Invulnerability

Unlike, say, Superman, I don't have to fight aliens on a daily basis. Also, unlike Superman, I am extremely clumsy and probably a bigger threat to myself than aliens would ever be. So I may not need invulnerability so I can wade through hails of gunfire, but I also don't want to accidentally stab myself with a pen, or cut my hand open on one of my own bookmarks!

This would also protect me against angry cats! Sakaki can inflict serious damage when she doesn't want to go to the vet.

 

Thank you, Django!

So what do YOU think? Let us know what magical abilities you'd like to possess in the comments below! Don't forget to pick up your copy of The Mad Apprentice today! And for more information about Django and his writing, visit him at his website HERE!

 

 

Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + G...
April 2015 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Shatter City
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When the world sees Frey, they think they see her...
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A healing story of loss and love, this beautiful picture...
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Roses were very dangerous for Sleeping Beauty―that everybody knows. But...
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the author of the “Pearls Before Swine” comic strip...
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which...
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
There are not only dwarves in the underground. This hidden...
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This luminous picture book tells the fascinating true story of...
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the sights and sounds of Brazil through the eyes...
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The highly anticipated sequel to Raybearer, the instant New York...
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen girl disappears from her small town deep in...
Imposters
 
4.0
 
5.0 (1)
Frey and Rafi are inseparable . . . but very...
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
 
5.0 (1)
Liz Buxbaum has always known that Wes Bennett was not...
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Meet the ten remarkable kings, queens, inventors, scholars, and visionaries...
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
 
5.0 (1)
Cuddle up with your little one and get ready to...
The Mystery of the Meanest Teacher: A Johnny Constantine Graphic Novel
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
THE MYSTERY OF THE MEANEST TEACHER: A JOHNNY CONSTANTINE GRAPHIC...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A shocking thriller about a group of friends who go...

Latest Member Reviews

The Woodlander: The Arrival of Fate
 
4.0
"Leo is set to become the new Woodlander and when she learns that magical creatures exist, her entire world changes..."
Shatter City
 
4.0
"SHATTER CITY by Scott Westerfeld is the second book in the IMPOSTERS series. It begins with Frey stuck inside Shreve..."
If You Miss Me
 
5.0
"IF YOU MISS ME is a beautiful picture book about loss, love, and grief. Charlie loves to dance, and she..."
Learning about the Garden with Sleeping Beauty (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
4.7
"LEARNING ABOUT THE GARDEN WITH SLEEPING BEAUTY is an intriguing combination of fairy tale and nonfiction facts about gardens. On..."
Squirrel Do Bad (Trubble Town, #4)
 
3.0
"SQUIRREL DO BAD is an entertaining graphic novel about the consequences of small actions. The book begins with Wendy the..."
Cold-Blooded Myrtle (Myrtle Hardcastle #3)
 
4.0
"Myrtle's small English village is like many who seem to suffer from far too many murders, especially for the late..."
Playing the Cards You'reDealt
 
5.0
"Anthony "Ant" Joplin is in his last year of elementary school (where his aunt is principal-- not at all awkward!),..."
Discovering the Underground with Snow White (Fairytale Encyclopedia)
 
3.7
"DISCOVERING THE UNDERGROUND WITH SNOW WHITE contains the fairy tale of Snow White along with fold open pages that detail..."
Rock by Rock: The Fantastical Garden of Nek Chand
 
4.0
"After the separation of Pakistan from India, Nek Chand moved from Pakistan to India. Even though he left, he missed..."
Bisa's Carnaval
 
5.0
"BISA'S CARNAVAL is a colorful and delightful celebration of Carnaval and family. Bisa loves Carnaval and is happy to show..."
Redemptor (Raybearer, #2)
 
5.0
"REDEMPTOR is a stunning conclusion to an atmospheric and imaginative YA fantasy duology. Picking up where the first book left..."
Dark and Shallow Lies
 
5.0
"What I Loved: Dark and Shallow Waters is raw and utterly compelling as Grey returns to her second home in..."
Imposters
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Our Way Back to Always
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Count to LOVE! (A Bright Brown Baby Board Book)
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
African Icons: Ten People Who Shaped History
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Better Than the Movies
 
5.0
S Santana
"i am giving this testimony cos l am happy My name is Mrs. Santana Valdez from Houston,taxes.i never believed in..."
Imposters
 
4.0
"IMPOSTERS by Scott Westerfeld is a YA dystopian novel, set in the future after many different and unique time periods..."
Breeder
 
4.0
"BREEDER by Honni van Rijswijk is a YA Dystopian, Post-Apocalyptic novel in which natural disasters and war have killed off..."
Better Than the Movies
 
4.7
"BETTER THAN THE MOVIES by Lynn Painter is just about the cutest YA Rom-Com to ever exist. The story follows..."