Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

Author Top 5 with Django Wexler

 

Today we welcome Django Wexler to YABC! Wexler's newly released sequel to The Forbidden Library, The Mad Apprentice: The Forbidden Library: Volume 2is a fantasy adventure sure to appeal to fans of Harry Potter, Coroline, and Inkheart! Django has given us a list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have. And since we love magic here at YABC, we'd love to hear which magical powers you'd most like to possess in the commets below!

 

But first, meet Django.

 b2ap3_thumbnail_Django-author-pic.jpg

He is a self-proclaimed computer/fantasy/sci fi geek. He graduated from Carnegie Mellon University with degrees in creative writing and computer science, and worked in artificial intelligence research. He left his job at Microsoft and now writes full-time. 

 

 

Now, meet Django's new book. It contains magic, mysteries, and the power of books!

b2ap3_thumbnail_the-mad-apprentice-cover.jpg

 

And now for Django Wexler's list of the top five magical powers he'd most like to have:

In The Forbidden Library, magicians called Readers can enter special books to fight the creatures that live within them. If they win, they can call the powers of those creatures, summon them, or even transform into them.

When I was thinking about powers I wanted to give Alice, the protagonist, I started pondering what I would most like to have. Compared to Alice, my life is pretty boring. I almost never have to head into magical labyrinths to fight monsters. (Almost). So my ideal set of powers is a little bit different...

 

1.) Teleportation

This one always jumps to the top of my list, especially when I've spent a lot of time sitting in traffic. 

Aside from fighting evil robots, teleportation would be an enormous time-saver. As a writer, I don't have to commute, but I'd love to be able to zap over to my favorite restaurants for lunch. Plus, I could finally go to ALL THE CONVENTIONS! Just cons across the country. Every weekend!

**Extra bonus: I'd save on shipping to winners of the book giveaways. I could always just pop over and deliver the books in person!

 

2.) Speak With Animals (Or Just Cats, Really)

I love cats. I have two, Sakaki and The Tomoes, and I've always wanted to be able to know what they're thinking when they just sort of stare into space for hours, or play fight elaborate battles against invisible enemies. 

On the other hand, they can already be kind of annoying in the morning when they think it's time for breakfast. So maybe this is a bad idea. I can't imagine their complaints would be any better in words than in mewing.

 

3.) Super-Fast Reading

This one is pretty obvious. There are way more books that I want to read than time to read them. Short of some kind of time travel gimmick (which seems like cheating) this is the only way I'm ever going to catch up. I already went from one pile into several piles, and then from several piles to a shelf. I'm in constant danger of book-related collapses. 

Speaking of which...

 

4.) Handy Pocket Dimensions

Even my library downstairs, where I keep the books I have read, is starting to fill up. I also have too many board games, too many miniatures and painting supplies, too many swords hanging on my walls, and so on. I suppose I could get rid of some of that stuff, but where's the fun in that? Much more practical, in my opinion, to find a way to build a room that's bigger on the inside than the outside. 

That's actually the way the tibular library works in The Forbidden Library. Maybe the Readers started out as guys like me, filling up their garages.

 

5.) Invulnerability

Unlike, say, Superman, I don't have to fight aliens on a daily basis. Also, unlike Superman, I am extremely clumsy and probably a bigger threat to myself than aliens would ever be. So I may not need invulnerability so I can wade through hails of gunfire, but I also don't want to accidentally stab myself with a pen, or cut my hand open on one of my own bookmarks!

This would also protect me against angry cats! Sakaki can inflict serious damage when she doesn't want to go to the vet.

 

Thank you, Django!

So what do YOU think? Let us know what magical abilities you'd like to possess in the comments below! Don't forget to pick up your copy of The Mad Apprentice today! And for more information about Django and his writing, visit him at his website HERE!

 

 

Chapter Reveal: The Ark by Laura Liddell Nolen + G...
April 2015 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Brea Robinson is a murderer. That’s what everyone tells...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...

Latest Member Reviews

A Dreadful Dream
 
4.0
"13 is a hard age. Josh experiences so much change in his early teens, he's barely making it. I like..."
Escaping to Freedom
 
5.0
"The story keeps you guessing what'll happen next. The main character is an average 16 year-old. Her world is thrown..."
My Love is All Around
 
4.5
"MY LOVE IS ALL AROUND is a sweet book about love between parent and child and the many ways in..."
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
"I'M NOT A MOUSE! is a cute picture book about nicknames. Olivia's mother always calls her mouse, and she doesn't..."
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
"MY PANDA SWEATER is a lovely book about the way that clothes can affect us. A young girl loves her..."
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
"ONE DAY ON OUR BLUE PLANET... IN THE OUTBACK is a picture book that follows a red kangaroo joey through..."
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
"MRS BIBI'S ELEPHANT is a sweet story about the special place we have in our hearts for our pets. Mrs...."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
""Written" by dwarf Nord Diggums with contributions from experts in the field of magical creatures such as Professor Ivana Therey..."
Beauty Mark: A Verse Novel of Marilyn Monroe
 
5.0
"What worked: Haunting, tragic tale of the life of Marilyn Monroe, told in verse which gives a powerful punch to..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
"THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader..."
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
"Short story collections are hard to review, especially when one includes so many fantastic authors! My students will be glad..."
Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."