Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

Author Top 5 with Catherine Linka

 

Today we welcome Catherine Linka to YABC! Zinka's soon to be released sequel to A Girl Called Fearless, A Girl Undone, is sure to appeal to fans of Divergent and An Ember in the Ashes. The next installment in The Girl Called Fearless series will make its debut June 23rd and we can't wait! But for now, Catherine Linka is sharing the top five reasons why she'd like to have her main character, Avie, as her best friend!

 

Meet Catherine.

b2ap3_thumbnail_linka.jpg

Catherine Zinka has been immersed in books her whole life, most recently as a writer and a bookseller. Her debut novel is A Girl Called Fearless, a young adult romantic speculative fiction/political thriller. Catherine lives in Southern California where she watches hummingbirds and hawks when she should be working.

 

 

 

Now meet Catherine's book, A Girl Undone!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_a-girl-undone-book-cover.jpg

 

From Catherine Linka, the sequel and explosive conclusion to A Girl Called Fearless.

 

Having survived a violent confrontation with the US government, Avie is not out of danger. Both she and the young man she loves, Yates, have been declared terrorists, and Yates is hospitalized in critical condition, leaving Avie with the perilous task of carrying information that can bring down the Paternalist party, if she can get it into the right hands.

 

Forced on the run with handsome, enigmatic woodsman Luke, Avie struggles when every turn becomes a choice between keeping the two of them alive or completing their mission. With her face on every news channel and a quarter million dollar reward from the man who still owns her marriage Contract, Avie's worst fears are about to come true. Equal parts thrilling and romantic, A Girl Undone is sure to keep your heart racing right until the very end.

 

**All writers fall in love with their characters, but after A Girl Called Fearless and A Girl Undone, Avie’s become really special to me. So here they are:

 

 

Five Reasons Why I’d Like My Character, Avie Reveare, As My Best Friend: 

 

 

1. She keeps your secrets safe.

Confide your deepest, darkest, most dangerous secret to Avie, and she will do everything she can to protect it. Whether it involves a forbidden romance, escape plan, or spy ring, her lips are sealed. 

 

 

 

 

2. She will never give up on you even when you’re messing up big time. 

If you’re obsessed with doing something incredibly stupid, like taking out revenge on one of the most powerful men in government, Avie won’t stop trying to steer you straight. Avie is with you all the way. 

 

 

 

 

3. She’s got mad survival skills. 

 

Break your leg on a snowy mountaintop? Need to outfox a private force of ex­military on your tail? Avie might be be small, but she’s smart and inventive, and she’ll get you both out of danger. 

 

 

 

 

4. She won’t cut and run. 

When things get deadly hot, you want a friend who won’t leave you to save herself. Avie’s the friend who only takes off if it will keep you safe. 

 

 

 

5. She gets knocked down and gets back up. 

 

Avie’s not perfect and she’s blown it plenty of times, but she owns her mistakes, and keeps on trying. She’s the friend who inspires you to be fearless, because she refuses to give up.

 

See what I mean? Don’t you want those things in a best friend? 

 

Thank you, Catherine!

We agree, Avie sounds like the perfect best friend! Don't forget to pick up a copy of A Girl Undone on sale June 23rd! And for more information about Catherine and her writing, visit her website HERE!

 

Bonus Scene: The Vast and Brutal Sea by Zoraida Có...
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mirror King by Jodi ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isabel has one rule: no dating. It’s easier―...
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Seven hundred years in the future, a powerful alien...
Perfectly Oblivious
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Cameron Bates (Cam) could have almost any girl at...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal...
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into the Crooked Place begins a gritty two-book YA...
The Rift
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
As corporate greed is pitted against supernatural forces, two...
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the last days of the twenty-first century, sea creatures...
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Anna and Elsa never knew each other? ...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling Divergent and Carve the Mark author Veronica Roth delivers...
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The drowsy Dormouse from Lewis Carroll’s Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland...
Vicarious
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Paula Stokes weaves together a series of mysteries and the...
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This spinoff of The Replacement Crush featuring Amy and Toff...
The Unexpected Everything
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Andie must learn to embrace the beauty in chaos in...
What I Like About You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can a love triangle have only two people in it?...
The Kinder Poison
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the magical kingdom of Orkena, Zahru has long dreamed...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
5.0
"SICK KIDS IN LOVE is a beautiful story about love- as well as invisible illness/disability AND NOBODY DIES! (I do..."
Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky (Tristan Strong #1)
 
5.0
"I never wanted to be a superhero as a child, but I wanted to do heroic things. Tristan Strong epitomizes..."
The Light at the Bottom of the World (The Light at the Bottom of the World, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LIGHT AT THE BOTTOM OF THE WORLD is a compelling and atmospheric YA fantasy/science fiction. In the future, the..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
 
4.0
"THE END AND OTHER BEGINNINGS is the latest from DIVERGENT author, Veronica Roth. The novel is comprised of six YA..."
Bernard Pepperlin
 
4.0
"Bernard Pepperlin is the doormouse from Alice in Wonderland. After being forced into a teapot, Bernard climbs out to find..."
The Bookworm Crush
 
5.0
"THE BOOKWORM CRUSH is an absolutely charming romantic comedy with all sorts of booklover homages. Amy McIntyre is @redheadrecs and..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
A Constellation of Roses
 
5.0
"A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES is a beautiful story of familial love and healing. Trix has been trying to make her..."
The Squatchicorns: A Delightful Read
 
4.0
"In this chapter book, The Squatchicorns by Ellen Potter, the third book in a series about a friendship between a..."
The F Word (Redefining Me book 1)
 
5.0
"'Dating My Best Friend' (former title: 'The F Word') by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven delves deeply into themes..."
The Cook and the King
 
4.0
"'The Cook and the King' by Julia Donaldson, illustrated by David Roberts, is a cute story that shows how working..."