Author of the Week plus Giveaway! (International)

This week's Author of the Week is actually a pair of authors who are cowriting one of the hottest contemporary series of the summer! Meet Ann Maree Craven and Michelle MacQueen, check out their latest release, and then be sure to enter to win!

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Addison:

Secrets have a way of getting out. 

And I, Addison Parker, am the queen of secrets. 

Really, I’m the queen of the entire school, but that’s one label I never wanted.

After an injury leaves me benched from cheerleading, it’s a relief. 

I can spend time with my two best friends: yoga pants and books. 

That’s secret number one. 

Secret number two? Well, I’d have to kill you if I told you. 

The only person I want to tell is Bookboy, my anonymous online friend. In my head, he’s perfect, a dashing prince straight out of one of my romance novels. 

Whoever he is, he’s not the one person I can’t even look at. Because Julian Callahan is definitely not a prince. 

But maybe a prince isn’t the answer because my life has never been a fairytale.

 

Julian:

I have a secret. 

Really, I have a few. 

I am not my twin. Okay, that’s more fact than secret. My brother is dead, and I don’t miss him. That juicy enough? I think I’m supposed to wish he were here, but he did something terrible that night. 

I’m writing a romance novel. Love is kind of cool, sue me. But that’s not the secret. That’s about a girl I’ve known for years, and I’ve never been able to stop thinking about her.

I also have this new online friend. LitGirl makes me smile a lot these days. And yet… she’s not the one I want. At least, I don’t think she is. 

How do I choose between the only girl who knows me, the one leaving her hilarious comments in the margins of my book, and the girl I’ve loved my entire life? 

One is anonymous. The other, only a dream. 

But these secrets… they just might hurt us all.

 

Book 3 in the Redefining Me series, The C Word is a full-length, standalone YA romance with all the feels. 

Get your copy HERE!

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS: 

Ann Maree Craven writes Young Adult Contemporary Romance with crossover appeal to audiences of all ages. She believes in stories that make you think and she loves playing with foreshadowing, leaving clues and hints for the careful reader. She draws inspiration from her background in architecture and interior design to help her with the small details in world building and scene settings. (Her degree in fine art also comes in handy.)
 

Michelle MacQueen is a USA Today bestselling author of love. Yes, love. Whether it be YA romance, NA romance, or fantasy romance (Under M. Lynn), she loves to make readers swoon. The great loves of her life to this point are two tiny blond creatures who call her “aunt” and proclaim her books to be “boring books” for their lack of pictures. Yet, somehow, she still manages to love them more than chocolate. When she’s not sharing her inexhaustible wisdom with her niece and nephew, Michelle is usually lounging in her ridiculously large bean bag chair creating worlds and characters that remind her to smile every day - even when a feisty five-year-old is telling her just how much she doesn’t know. 

 

THE INTERVIEW:

1.       What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

In high school, the labels you get slapped with often become unchangeable and make people believe untrue things about you. Our writing duo decided to tackle various labels with the Redefining Me series. The C Word highlights the label of cheerleader. A lot of people don't necessarily consider this one of the bad ones, especially compared to "fat", "disabled", and "nerd" from the first two books. But it carries with it it's own weight. We wanted to show that you don't have to be the person everyone says you are. You get to choose how you treat people, and how you let your friends treat people. 

 

2.       Who is your favorite character in the book?

Addison and Julian are the mains, but as much as we love them, they aren't our favorite. Beckett Anderson rotates around the outside of the group featured in this series. They're heavy books and he provides the light moments we as authors sorely needed and we suspect the readers do too. He's just good and happy in a way few people are. 

 

3.       Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title, definitely. Ann Maree knew she wanted to write a book called the C Word and Michelle jumped on it as soon as she heard the idea behind it. 

 

4.       Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Enjoy it. Celebrate every success and even the failures. As writers, we get to live in worlds of our own making. It's a powerful thing. Many of us are cranking out ten or so books a year and it becomes like a business. We forget that each time we type "the end" we've reached the top of another mountain. It's really easy to finish a book and just move on to the next. 

 

5.       What’s up next for you?

We have a YA M/M series releasing this fall. Dating Nashville will be available September 25th and it tells Beckett Anderson's story. We didn't plan a character like Becks in the N Word and the C Word. He kind of snuck up on us. But now our readers are demanding his story so we're going to give it to them. M/M is a new challenge for us, but we're loving every single minute of it. 

 

6.      Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

We don't have a specific scene, but any scene that is just day to day stuff. The fluff we have to add in. Both of us fly through emotional scenes, feeling every word, but then when it comes to a scene in a classroom or at a lunch table, we stall. 

 

7.      Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Addison. It was difficult because she didn't start out at the most likable character in part because of certain things she went through before the series began. She's having a tough time and is stuck in this role everyone has put her in. It takes some redemption in her own chapters, but also through Julian's eyes. We let him show us why we should love her too.

 

8.      Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. Especially since we co-write. Right now we're working at a pace of two chapters a day - one from each of us. And during the drafting phase, we not only get to put our own vision to paper, but we get to read what each other is doing. Every day we send our chapters and it's like getting a little present. I swear, we rarely even have critiques for each other. We just grin the entire time we read them and then gush over how great it is. 

 

THE GIVEAWAY:

Three lucky readers will each receive an e-book of THE C WORD. The giveaway is open internationally. Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form linked below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

 

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

What's New in YA - 7/31/19
THE RIFT Giveaway! (US/CAN)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."