Author of the Week plus Giveaway! (International)

This week's Author of the Week is actually a pair of authors who are cowriting one of the hottest contemporary series of the summer! Meet Ann Maree Craven and Michelle MacQueen, check out their latest release, and then be sure to enter to win!

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Addison:

Secrets have a way of getting out. 

And I, Addison Parker, am the queen of secrets. 

Really, I’m the queen of the entire school, but that’s one label I never wanted.

After an injury leaves me benched from cheerleading, it’s a relief. 

I can spend time with my two best friends: yoga pants and books. 

That’s secret number one. 

Secret number two? Well, I’d have to kill you if I told you. 

The only person I want to tell is Bookboy, my anonymous online friend. In my head, he’s perfect, a dashing prince straight out of one of my romance novels. 

Whoever he is, he’s not the one person I can’t even look at. Because Julian Callahan is definitely not a prince. 

But maybe a prince isn’t the answer because my life has never been a fairytale.

 

Julian:

I have a secret. 

Really, I have a few. 

I am not my twin. Okay, that’s more fact than secret. My brother is dead, and I don’t miss him. That juicy enough? I think I’m supposed to wish he were here, but he did something terrible that night. 

I’m writing a romance novel. Love is kind of cool, sue me. But that’s not the secret. That’s about a girl I’ve known for years, and I’ve never been able to stop thinking about her.

I also have this new online friend. LitGirl makes me smile a lot these days. And yet… she’s not the one I want. At least, I don’t think she is. 

How do I choose between the only girl who knows me, the one leaving her hilarious comments in the margins of my book, and the girl I’ve loved my entire life? 

One is anonymous. The other, only a dream. 

But these secrets… they just might hurt us all.

 

Book 3 in the Redefining Me series, The C Word is a full-length, standalone YA romance with all the feels. 

Get your copy HERE!

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS: 

Ann Maree Craven writes Young Adult Contemporary Romance with crossover appeal to audiences of all ages. She believes in stories that make you think and she loves playing with foreshadowing, leaving clues and hints for the careful reader. She draws inspiration from her background in architecture and interior design to help her with the small details in world building and scene settings. (Her degree in fine art also comes in handy.)
 

Michelle MacQueen is a USA Today bestselling author of love. Yes, love. Whether it be YA romance, NA romance, or fantasy romance (Under M. Lynn), she loves to make readers swoon. The great loves of her life to this point are two tiny blond creatures who call her “aunt” and proclaim her books to be “boring books” for their lack of pictures. Yet, somehow, she still manages to love them more than chocolate. When she’s not sharing her inexhaustible wisdom with her niece and nephew, Michelle is usually lounging in her ridiculously large bean bag chair creating worlds and characters that remind her to smile every day - even when a feisty five-year-old is telling her just how much she doesn’t know. 

 

THE INTERVIEW:

1.       What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

In high school, the labels you get slapped with often become unchangeable and make people believe untrue things about you. Our writing duo decided to tackle various labels with the Redefining Me series. The C Word highlights the label of cheerleader. A lot of people don't necessarily consider this one of the bad ones, especially compared to "fat", "disabled", and "nerd" from the first two books. But it carries with it it's own weight. We wanted to show that you don't have to be the person everyone says you are. You get to choose how you treat people, and how you let your friends treat people. 

 

2.       Who is your favorite character in the book?

Addison and Julian are the mains, but as much as we love them, they aren't our favorite. Beckett Anderson rotates around the outside of the group featured in this series. They're heavy books and he provides the light moments we as authors sorely needed and we suspect the readers do too. He's just good and happy in a way few people are. 

 

3.       Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title, definitely. Ann Maree knew she wanted to write a book called the C Word and Michelle jumped on it as soon as she heard the idea behind it. 

 

4.       Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Enjoy it. Celebrate every success and even the failures. As writers, we get to live in worlds of our own making. It's a powerful thing. Many of us are cranking out ten or so books a year and it becomes like a business. We forget that each time we type "the end" we've reached the top of another mountain. It's really easy to finish a book and just move on to the next. 

 

5.       What’s up next for you?

We have a YA M/M series releasing this fall. Dating Nashville will be available September 25th and it tells Beckett Anderson's story. We didn't plan a character like Becks in the N Word and the C Word. He kind of snuck up on us. But now our readers are demanding his story so we're going to give it to them. M/M is a new challenge for us, but we're loving every single minute of it. 

 

6.      Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

We don't have a specific scene, but any scene that is just day to day stuff. The fluff we have to add in. Both of us fly through emotional scenes, feeling every word, but then when it comes to a scene in a classroom or at a lunch table, we stall. 

 

7.      Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Addison. It was difficult because she didn't start out at the most likable character in part because of certain things she went through before the series began. She's having a tough time and is stuck in this role everyone has put her in. It takes some redemption in her own chapters, but also through Julian's eyes. We let him show us why we should love her too.

 

8.      Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. Especially since we co-write. Right now we're working at a pace of two chapters a day - one from each of us. And during the drafting phase, we not only get to put our own vision to paper, but we get to read what each other is doing. Every day we send our chapters and it's like getting a little present. I swear, we rarely even have critiques for each other. We just grin the entire time we read them and then gush over how great it is. 

 

THE GIVEAWAY:

Three lucky readers will each receive an e-book of THE C WORD. The giveaway is open internationally. Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form linked below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

 

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

What's New in YA - 7/31/19
THE RIFT Giveaway! (US/CAN)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."