Author of the Week plus Giveaway! (International)

This week's Author of the Week is actually a pair of authors who are cowriting one of the hottest contemporary series of the summer! Meet Ann Maree Craven and Michelle MacQueen, check out their latest release, and then be sure to enter to win!

 

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Addison:

Secrets have a way of getting out. 

And I, Addison Parker, am the queen of secrets. 

Really, I’m the queen of the entire school, but that’s one label I never wanted.

After an injury leaves me benched from cheerleading, it’s a relief. 

I can spend time with my two best friends: yoga pants and books. 

That’s secret number one. 

Secret number two? Well, I’d have to kill you if I told you. 

The only person I want to tell is Bookboy, my anonymous online friend. In my head, he’s perfect, a dashing prince straight out of one of my romance novels. 

Whoever he is, he’s not the one person I can’t even look at. Because Julian Callahan is definitely not a prince. 

But maybe a prince isn’t the answer because my life has never been a fairytale.

 

Julian:

I have a secret. 

Really, I have a few. 

I am not my twin. Okay, that’s more fact than secret. My brother is dead, and I don’t miss him. That juicy enough? I think I’m supposed to wish he were here, but he did something terrible that night. 

I’m writing a romance novel. Love is kind of cool, sue me. But that’s not the secret. That’s about a girl I’ve known for years, and I’ve never been able to stop thinking about her.

I also have this new online friend. LitGirl makes me smile a lot these days. And yet… she’s not the one I want. At least, I don’t think she is. 

How do I choose between the only girl who knows me, the one leaving her hilarious comments in the margins of my book, and the girl I’ve loved my entire life? 

One is anonymous. The other, only a dream. 

But these secrets… they just might hurt us all.

 

Book 3 in the Redefining Me series, The C Word is a full-length, standalone YA romance with all the feels. 

Get your copy HERE!

 

ABOUT THE AUTHORS: 

Ann Maree Craven writes Young Adult Contemporary Romance with crossover appeal to audiences of all ages. She believes in stories that make you think and she loves playing with foreshadowing, leaving clues and hints for the careful reader. She draws inspiration from her background in architecture and interior design to help her with the small details in world building and scene settings. (Her degree in fine art also comes in handy.)
 

Michelle MacQueen is a USA Today bestselling author of love. Yes, love. Whether it be YA romance, NA romance, or fantasy romance (Under M. Lynn), she loves to make readers swoon. The great loves of her life to this point are two tiny blond creatures who call her “aunt” and proclaim her books to be “boring books” for their lack of pictures. Yet, somehow, she still manages to love them more than chocolate. When she’s not sharing her inexhaustible wisdom with her niece and nephew, Michelle is usually lounging in her ridiculously large bean bag chair creating worlds and characters that remind her to smile every day - even when a feisty five-year-old is telling her just how much she doesn’t know. 

 

THE INTERVIEW:

1.       What gave you the inspiration to write this book?

In high school, the labels you get slapped with often become unchangeable and make people believe untrue things about you. Our writing duo decided to tackle various labels with the Redefining Me series. The C Word highlights the label of cheerleader. A lot of people don't necessarily consider this one of the bad ones, especially compared to "fat", "disabled", and "nerd" from the first two books. But it carries with it it's own weight. We wanted to show that you don't have to be the person everyone says you are. You get to choose how you treat people, and how you let your friends treat people. 

 

2.       Who is your favorite character in the book?

Addison and Julian are the mains, but as much as we love them, they aren't our favorite. Beckett Anderson rotates around the outside of the group featured in this series. They're heavy books and he provides the light moments we as authors sorely needed and we suspect the readers do too. He's just good and happy in a way few people are. 

 

3.       Which came first, the title or the novel?

The title, definitely. Ann Maree knew she wanted to write a book called the C Word and Michelle jumped on it as soon as she heard the idea behind it. 

 

4.       Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Enjoy it. Celebrate every success and even the failures. As writers, we get to live in worlds of our own making. It's a powerful thing. Many of us are cranking out ten or so books a year and it becomes like a business. We forget that each time we type "the end" we've reached the top of another mountain. It's really easy to finish a book and just move on to the next. 

 

5.       What’s up next for you?

We have a YA M/M series releasing this fall. Dating Nashville will be available September 25th and it tells Beckett Anderson's story. We didn't plan a character like Becks in the N Word and the C Word. He kind of snuck up on us. But now our readers are demanding his story so we're going to give it to them. M/M is a new challenge for us, but we're loving every single minute of it. 

 

6.      Which was the most difficult or emotional scene to narrate? 

We don't have a specific scene, but any scene that is just day to day stuff. The fluff we have to add in. Both of us fly through emotional scenes, feeling every word, but then when it comes to a scene in a classroom or at a lunch table, we stall. 

 

7.      Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Addison. It was difficult because she didn't start out at the most likable character in part because of certain things she went through before the series began. She's having a tough time and is stuck in this role everyone has put her in. It takes some redemption in her own chapters, but also through Julian's eyes. We let him show us why we should love her too.

 

8.      Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting. Especially since we co-write. Right now we're working at a pace of two chapters a day - one from each of us. And during the drafting phase, we not only get to put our own vision to paper, but we get to read what each other is doing. Every day we send our chapters and it's like getting a little present. I swear, we rarely even have critiques for each other. We just grin the entire time we read them and then gush over how great it is. 

 

THE GIVEAWAY:

Three lucky readers will each receive an e-book of THE C WORD. The giveaway is open internationally. Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form linked below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

 

RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY

What's New in YA - 7/31/19
THE RIFT Giveaway! (US/CAN)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...

Latest Member Reviews

Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."