Author Of The Week: Chat with Tricia Levenseller (The Daughter Of The Siren Queen), Plus Giveaway!!

unnamed-1

Welcome to our weekly special feature post, Author Of The Week!!

Each week we will be interviewing a different YA author and highlighting their upcoming release!

We will also be hosting a giveaway of the book we are highlighting!!

 

 

 

 

Introducing Tricia Levenseller, YABC's Author of the Week!!

Tricia Levenseller is the author of the Daughter of the Pirate King duology and forthcoming standalone, Warrior of the Wild. She likes to describe her books as young adult alternate–world historical fantasies with heavy romantic subplots.

Initially from a small town in Oregon, Tricia now lives next to the Rocky Mountains with her bossy dog, Rosy. She received her degree in English Language and editing, and she is thrilled that she never has to read a textbook again. When she’s not writing or reading, Tricia enjoys putting together jigsaw puzzles, playing volleyball, playing Overwatch with her siblings, and watching shows while eating extra-buttered popcorn.

 

Website * Facebook * Twitter * Instagram

 

 

 

Meet The Daughter Of The Siren Queen!

Alosa's mission is finally complete. Not only has she recovered all three pieces of the map to a legendary hidden treasure, but the pirates who originally took her captive are now prisoners on her ship. Still unfairly attractive and unexpectedly loyal, first mate Riden is a constant distraction, but now he's under her orders. And she takes great comfort in knowing that the villainous Vordan will soon be facing her father's justice.

When Vordan exposes a secret her father has kept for years, Alosa and her crew find themselves in a deadly race with the feared Pirate King. Despite the danger, Alosa knows they will recover the treasure first . . . after all, she is the daughter of the Siren Queen.

 

Amazon * B & N Indiebound

 

 

 

~ Interview ~

 

 

YABC:  Who is your favorite character in the book?

I don’t really have a favorite, but since the book centers around Alosa, I’m going to have to go with her. She goes through so much more emotional conflicts during this book, and it was really fun to see her grow.

 

 


YABC:   Which came first, the title or the novel?

For this one, it was the title. I came up with DAUGHTER OF THE PIRATE KING and DAUGHTER OF THE SIREN QUEEN before I finished writing my first draft of DOTPK. I was so excited when my publisher decided to keep my original titles.

 

 

YABC:  What scene in the book are you most proud of, and why?

I’m going to have to go with the final fight scene in the novel (between two certain characters). These two characters are just masters of the sword, so it was fun to write that choreography. Because it’s part of the climax, there is just so much happening at the same time around them, and I’m really proud of how it all translated onto the page.

 


YABC:  Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

Set realistic goals for yourself and try your hardest not to worry about what you can’t control. There is very little that a writer can control in publishing—even once published. Save your stress for the things that count.

 

 

YABC:  What do you like most about the cover of the book?

Definitely the way the light filters across the cover. I think it’s gorgeous!

 

 


YABC:  What new release book are you looking most forward to in 2018?

That is such a tough question, but I think I’m going to go with the third book in Kiersten White’s The Conqueror’s Saga, BRIGHT WE BURN. I need to read more Lada!

 

 


YABC:  What was your favorite book in 2017?

I read so many good ones! Favorite debut: WINTERSONG by S. Jae Jones. Favorite sequel: A COURT OF MIST AND FURY by Sarah J. Maas (this one came out in 2016, but I didn’t get around to reading it until 2017).

 

 


YABC:  What’s up next for you?

In 2019, I have a brand-new story releasing, titled WARRIOR OF THE WILD. It is a standalone fantasy about a girl who is banished from her village after failing her coming-of-age trial (through no fault of her own). She has to brave the monster-filled wild and kill her village’s oppressive deity if she ever wants to return home.

 

 

 

 

The Daughter Of The Siren Queen

By: Tricia Levenseller

Publisher: Feiwel & Friends

Release Date: February 27th, 2018 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS* 

One winner will each receive a copy of The Daughter Of The Siren Queen (Tricia Levenseller) ~ (US Only)

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ February 26th, 2018
February 2018 Book Haul!

Related Posts

 

Comments 20

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Monday, 26 February 2018 22:29

The cover seems quite stylized! Sounds like quite an adventure!

0
The cover seems quite stylized! Sounds like quite an adventure!
ilia on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 02:06

I love the simplicity of the cover designed with the flash of crimson hair on navy. It captures the eyes and pulls the reader in. Combined with just the right amount of detail in the synopsis, even letting readers get a hint at how tables have turned from prisoner to leader, the book is a definite must read.

0
I love the simplicity of the cover designed with the flash of crimson hair on navy. It captures the eyes and pulls the reader in. Combined with just the right amount of detail in the synopsis, even letting readers get a hint at how tables have turned from prisoner to leader, the book is a definite must read.
Maria Malaveci on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 08:37

I am really looking forward to reading it! I love the cover! Thanks so much for the chance!

0
I am really looking forward to reading it! I love the cover! Thanks so much for the chance!
Carina Olsen on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 15:58

Tricia is such an adorable person I loved this interview.

0
Tricia is such an adorable person :D I loved this interview.
Mindy on Tuesday, 27 February 2018 16:41

I love this cover!!! The synopsis sounds great

0
I love this cover!!! The synopsis sounds great
Precious J Hernandez on Thursday, 01 March 2018 08:47

I love the cover. I've heard so many great things of this series and I can't wait to read it

0
I love the cover. I've heard so many great things of this series and I can't wait to read it
Candice Gigous on Saturday, 03 March 2018 08:22

The cover is very eye-catching and matches the other book in the series. The synopsis makes you want to read more. The series sounds very exciting.

0
The cover is very eye-catching and matches the other book in the series. The synopsis makes you want to read more. The series sounds very exciting.
Kristi Housman on Thursday, 08 March 2018 12:35

I love this cover! Sirens interest me a lot, so I need to read this one (and the first book which I have).

0
I love this cover! Sirens interest me a lot, so I need to read this one (and the first book which I have).
Delia Chavez on Friday, 09 March 2018 05:23

Sounds like an adventure and nice cover

0
Sounds like an adventure and nice cover
Kara S on Tuesday, 13 March 2018 22:14

The cover is AMAZING, and I am eager to read this story based on what I've read about it. Thanks! --Kara S

0
The cover is AMAZING, and I am eager to read this story based on what I've read about it. Thanks! --Kara S

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."
Spring Is Here!
 
5.0
"SPRING IS HERE! is a delightful board book that features several animals in the springtime setting. The book is extra..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."